We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't say enough - just perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ardamis Traditional Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Monemvasia
Certificate of Excellence
Moffat Beach
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Can't say enough - just perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed two nights at the end of April and absolutely loved everything about this place, the position, the double room we enjoyed, the wonderful bed, all the little details and the care from our hosts. Can't recommend it highly enough!

Room Tip: We had the double downstairs and it was beautiful - suspect they all are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yeshekathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    29
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
19
74
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Patras, Greece
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Traditional, family hotel! My very first impression was very good and got better and better through the days we stayed! Very good and delicious breakfast either in our bedroom or in the front balcony of the hotel with the stunning view! Super spacious luxurious rooms, carefully and tastefully decorated with big bathrooms and comfy beds! Conveniently placed under the main road combines tranquility and easy access to the center of the village! Overall i would recommend it 100%!!

P.S. Special thanks to mr. Ardamis, his wife and the kind lady that takes care of the rooms! Great people always happy to help and so so hospitable!

Room Tip: Room number 20 is an excellent choice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed for 2 days at Ardamis hotel, and our experience was perfect. From hospitality and facilities, up to the value for money, everything was excellent. We definately suggest it, especially for couples that wish to spend time together in an atmosphere so unique as that of Monemvasia.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

How lucky we were to find this gem! We visited this amazing place never thinking we would be able to afford to stay here. We tentatively enquired about price and were delighted, that during off season the rates were very affordable, The weather we had was perfect for exploring this hidden treasure. The people were lovely and hospitable. Our only sadness was that we had to leave. The hosts made us Greek coffee and cake and served it on an amazing terrace with views to the lower town and Citadel on one side and the sea on the other. It was so beautiful we did not know which way to look. Dinner at Marianthi's was fabulous, the lovely hostess sat down with us to take our order and explain all the dishes. Highly recommend this place, accommodation and restaurant. The whole place was unforgettable and a highlight of our trip to Greece

Room Tip: We were shown two suites, both were spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fionahappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Mr and Mrs Ardamis were the perfect hosts. We had booked a room, but were given a perfect suite. A beautiful bedroom complete with four poster bed and curtains, as well as a kitchenette, dining area and living room! From the welcome pitcher of freshly squeezed orange juice, to the delicious breakfasts served on their terrace, it was all amazing! Monemvasia is the most romantic place and we had the most perfect accommodation! Would dearly love to go back one day soon and stay at Ardamis once again!

Room Tip: Any room would be amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllieandSherlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed one night in Monemvasia at the Ardamis. Amazing room for the price. There were four of us in a suite that had two bedrooms, kitchen, dining room, aroma sauna, private outdoor garden and opened onto a public garden that sat atop the seawall. Was incredible value for the money. No cars allowed inside the walled town so you had to walk a ways to get to the town. Inside the town it is all cobblestone and steps so not too friendly to wheeled luggage, better off if you can back pack in! Wish we could have stayed for a week! Hostess is very friendly and they serve a very good breakfast out on the terrace.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DougE142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

The Ardamis Hotel may be quite small, but the apartments can be very spacious, as we discovered when we arrived here in October 2013. We were offered Room 16, which consisted of a ground floor comprising bedchamber, storage, shower and WC, then up a flight of stairs you reach a small kichenette amply provided with tea and coffee making equipment, and a fridge stocked with water and juices. Up a few more steps and you get to a sitting-room with a large sofa which I imagine would convert into a double bed. Also a terrace overgrown with shrubbery and with a good view of the sea. The double bed was amazingly comfortable, the shower was equipped with a dozen or so high-pressure water jets, and the quite complicated lighting arrangements made the rooms look a bit like Santa’s Grotto. For this we paid 100 euros including a substantial if not exactly home-cooked breakfast. A lovely place from which to explore this extraordinary town; the owners were friendly and helpful. I only wish we could have stayed longer. Note that if you have luggage, they will arrange for someone to carry it to your room from your car for a few euros.

Room Tip: All rooms are distinctive; there is something to suit all tastes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Makaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monemvasia hotels
0.1 mi away
Likinia Hotel
Likinia Hotel
#2 of 23 in Monemvasia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malvasia Traditional Hotel
Malvasia Traditional Hotel
#1 of 23 in Monemvasia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.0 mi away
Byzantino Boutique Hotel
Byzantino Boutique Hotel
#4 of 23 in Monemvasia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
New Malvasia Hotel
New Malvasia Hotel
#6 of 23 in Monemvasia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moni Emvasis Luxury Suites
Moni Emvasis Luxury Suites
#5 of 23 in Monemvasia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lazareto Hotel
Lazareto Hotel
#15 of 23 in Monemvasia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardamis Traditional Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardamis Traditional Guesthouse

Property: Ardamis Traditional Guesthouse
Address: Castle of Monemvasia, Monemvasia, Monemvasia Municipality 230 70, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Monemvasia Municipality > Monemvasia
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monemvasia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Monemvasia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monemvasia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ardamis Traditional Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Traditional Guesthouse Ardamis is housed in the most significant building of the Monemvasia castle, whose history goes many centuries back. It was the governor's house during the Venetian rule and a residency during the Ottoman rule, while two Byzantine emperors have also been welcomed there. The building was renovated with respect, without absolutely any alteration of the areas, keeping its particular architectural elements intact, thus highlighting its beauty and history, while at the same time offering all modern luxuries. When the renovation started a Byzantine coin was found in the ruins dated back to 711 A.D. which is now exhibited in the Numismatic Museum of Athens and is unique in its kind. Some of the guest house special elements are the unique Castle tower, 14 meters high with seven windows, an 800 years old marble well, a true copy whereof is exhibited in the Museum of Istanbul and a picture whereof is exhibited in the Castle Museum, and of course the guest house 100 m2 balcony right above the sea which many Greek and foreign magazines and visitors have called . Currently the guest house is an amazing complex of rooms, suites and apartments joining the history with the living present of Monemvasia. Ardamis Traditional Guest Houses is the ideal destination for honeymoon. Quality never suffers a crisis; this is our firm belief which we prove everyday to all our clients. We shall continue to offer state-of-art services so that you may enjoy the comfort, the amenities and the ambience of Ardamis guest houses. Thousands of readers of various magazines have classified us as the best guest house in Greece, for three consecutive times; we are awarded for our efforts but also committed to constantly improve the quality of our services, even in difficult periods as this. In our website you will find various press releases, and awards. One of the voting procedures was held by the "Voyager" magazine which conducted a poll among 60,000 readers; with a percentage of 96.68% our guest house won the first prize across Greece!!!! Selecting your accommodation based on the price is unfair to both us and you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Ardamis Traditional Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardamis Hotel Monemvasia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing