We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Nice Hotel”
Review of Lazareto Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lazareto Hotel
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Monemvasia
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We stayed here one night and we found our room to be very comfortable. Only problem we had was the bathroom plumbing a bit of a problem after having a shower, water from drain flooded the floor. The room was nice but the breakfast was good but could of been better considering the price of the accommodation. Staff not overally friendly but ok.

Monemvassis is gorgeous old town.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Butterflygirl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2012

Friends from the U.S. were visiting us in Greece and had reservations at the Lazareto Hotel. Two days before they, and the couple they were traveling with, were to arrive at the Lazareto, the husband died of a heart attack. The death was extremely sudden and, of course, very traumatic for his wife and all of us.
I wrote to the hotel right away telling them what happened in the hopes that they would not charge for the room, given the circumstances, despite a "no refund" policy. They did not respond. I wrote again. No response then or now, a week later. I told them they could verify the death by checking with the local police here in case they thought this was not true.
Needless to say, given the legendary Greek filoxenia, it's hard to believe they would be so uncaring. I cannot imagine staying here next time we go to Monemvasia.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
4  Thank stoupagr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We have stopped at the hotel Lazareto for 2 nights.
The rooms were clean but not very charming. We were quite close from a parking. Som rooms are better situated with direct view on the sea. Be aware to choose them (and forget the room in the tower).
The access to the sea is difficult and the sea not very clean. Tehre is no swimming pool.
The situation of this hotel is nevertheless appropriate to discover the old city and take beenefit from the numlerous taverns in the the new city.
Not appropriate for a long stay.
Very good breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrenchfromParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed at the Lazareto in the tower room for one evening and it was absolutely magical. This hotel is on the island but under the rock away from the noisy groups of tourists. Our room was amazing as were the views and the gardens. Very serene. Breakfast was excellent with ample selections and friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again and would also recommend it to others touring the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bec291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Of course the hotel has an excellent location, and the views are wonderful. The room was ok, nothing special, as was the breakfast. But the one things that sticks in my mind is that the staff was just unfriendly and unhelpful. As we were leaving, I fell on the property (on the exposed drainaige channel-a definite hazard) and altho they eventually got my husband some ice, they didn't seem to care what had happened

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mndb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

The place is amazing ! It is on the island but also it is isolated from the noisy groups of tourists, it has a quiet place with perfect romantic location under the rock, a beautiful garden with old trees, wonderful place to eat, the suite rooms are great they are cozy and well partitioned, all personal is nice... and they are dog lovers ! We've enjoyed every minute there !!

Room Tip: try the suite rooms !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gyarmath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

The location is great, the room was ok, but the breakfast and the service was not what we expected.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikoleta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monemvasia
0.7 mi away
Likinia Hotel
Likinia Hotel
#1 of 23 in Monemvasia
465 reviews
0.7 mi away
Malvasia Traditional Hotel
Malvasia Traditional Hotel
#2 of 23 in Monemvasia
321 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Flower of Monemvasia
The Flower of Monemvasia
#11 of 23 in Monemvasia
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bastione Malvasia Hotel
Bastione Malvasia Hotel
#8 of 23 in Monemvasia
204 reviews
0.6 mi away
Byzantino Boutique Hotel
Byzantino Boutique Hotel
#3 of 23 in Monemvasia
250 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kinsterna Hotel
Kinsterna Hotel
#1 of 1 in Agios Stefanos
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazareto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazareto Hotel

Address: Monemvasia Castle, Monemvasia, Monemvasia Municipality 230 70, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Monemvasia Municipality > Monemvasia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Monemvasia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Monemvasia
Price Range: £67 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lazareto Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lazareto Hotel combines the perfect location for both historic tours of the castle area as well as simple relaxation in the hotel gardens or terraces overlooking the surrounding sea. Experience first hand the genuine atmosphere of Monemvasia whilst you benefit of convenient access and free parking area. Each of our rooms and elegant suites boasts a rich past and distinct character that invites you to relax whilst, enjoying our fine services and modern facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lazareto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazareto Hotel Monemvasia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing