We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bastione Malvasia Hotel
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Monemvasia
Certificate of Excellence
Athens
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“It is worth it”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

First thing first: when visiting Monemvasia do stay in the fortress. You might have to pay a bit higher rates but it is worth it.

The hotel offers excellent views and has the most calm and relaxing terrace.

The rooms have a wooden ceiling and some of them have sea view. The photos on the hotel's website are pretty accurate.

If I were the management of the hotel I would replace the beds or at least their mattresses to offer a better sleep quality.

Breakfast is OK but the breakfast room is quite small so it gets noisy when it is crowded.

The key advantage of this hotel is that it is at the end of the main pedestrian street of the fortress hence it is quiet and on on top of that there is no other building in front of it so the view is not blocked.

Room Tip: Get a room with sea view and a balcony / terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank athensfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    75
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
30
127
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

An amazing place to visit and great place to stay and create memories with whoever you decide to visit with. Loved everything about it. The view from our room and balcony made leaving very hard. Can't wait to go back sometime

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lazulite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The hotel is at the very end of the main road, at a quiet location. Well, the rooms are somewhat smaller than they appear to be on their website, but sufficient - ours anyway had a breathtaking view to the sea (plus Artemide lamps). Bathrooms are a bit small, as is the case in most Greek holiday accommodation.
The personnel if very friendly, their breakfast is more than enough and the whole experience was very positive. In any case, if you visit Monemvasia, you have to stay somewhere IN the castle and Malvazia is a good choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yiotadelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

This hotel has the best location and the best views inside the kastro (castle). It is situated at the furthest point from the entrance and it is a bit of a climb to get to the hotel, but it's worth it. It is clean, well looked after and very romantic. The cobble stones one has to walk on to get there, are very slippery and shiny, so one needs comfortable shoes with a good grip, especially if one is planning to climb to the top to see the church of Aghia Sophia. Older people must be careful as it could be dangerous.

Room Tip: Ask to view a variety of rooms before deciding on which one to take. Some are better than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 533Jenny533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

The hotel is located in the castle, we've stayed there for 5 nights and we enjoyed it. The hotel has rooms (actually restored houses) all around the castle. We've stayed in two different rooms and both of them were really nice and totally different. The second room had a very nice balcony with a beautiful view. The staff is really helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elefthlag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012 via mobile

Out of a 2-week self driving tour of main Greece-this was our favorite place! This is a must see rock and plan to stay for two days at least...we like to relax so we could have easily done 3!!!

We were able to get a reservation the day of by calling in the morning-but I don't believe we were there during their high season. Spring for a sea view-it was $10 Euros more. Breakfast is plenty-views from room and bar are the best! It's the perfect hotel for the surroundings! This is one of our top 5 locations ever!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Johan_Whistler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Trust me…If you’re going to Monemvasia you have to stay IN the castle. The castle is just unbelievable! Probable one of the best places I visited in Greece. We stayed at Malvasia Hotel and our stay was very pleasant. The hotel is an old restored stone house where all rooms are different between them. Our room was very clean, well designed and with a stunning see view. Breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veronica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monemvasia hotels
0.0 mi away
Likinia Hotel
Likinia Hotel
#1 of 23 in Monemvasia
415 reviews
0.0 mi away
Malvasia Traditional Hotel
Malvasia Traditional Hotel
#2 of 23 in Monemvasia
267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Byzantino Boutique Hotel
Byzantino Boutique Hotel
#4 of 23 in Monemvasia
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#9 of 23 in Monemvasia
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moni Emvasis Luxury Suites
Moni Emvasis Luxury Suites
#5 of 23 in Monemvasia
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ardamis Traditional Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastione Malvasia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastione Malvasia Hotel

Property: Bastione Malvasia Hotel
Address: Monemvasia Castle, Monemvasia, Monemvasia Municipality 230 70, Greece (Formerly New Malvasia Hotel)
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Monemvasia Municipality > Monemvasia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Monemvasia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monemvasia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastione Malvasia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a magnificent setting at the furthest tip of Monemvasia Castle, 300 m from the Castle's gate, you may find Bastione Malvasia Hotel (ex New Malvasia). The view is amazing, breathtaking. Built with stones from the surrounding area and with a great respect to the architectural style and the aesthetics of the Castle, some with balcony with sea view and some with fireplaces for warmth in the winter, the rooms of Bastione Malvasia Hotel offer a special experience of accommodation. Here, the traditional elements combine perfectly with all the modern amenities plus some designer touches. All the rooms are equipped with air conditioning, mini fridge, telephone, flat screen satellite TV, hairdryer. Free wireless Internet access (WiFi) is available in public areas of the hotel. Please note that Bastione Malvasia Hotel features a café with spectacular sea views and a peaceful atmosphere that is worth visiting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Bastione Malvasia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malvasia Hotel Monemvasia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing