We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place in magical Monemvasia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bastione Malvasia Hotel
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Monemvasia
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful place in magical Monemvasia”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed in roim 2 which is not in the reception block but slighty closer to the square. Our room was wonderful, carved out of the rock with a spectacular shower and bagsful of charme. We also had a tiny cooking corner and a private balcony which were fabulous. All in all an excellent hotel with a plentiful breakfast. If I wanted to be strict I would say that the pillows were super uncomfortable, you had to turn the shower on 15 minutes before use to get hot water and there was an emergency exit sign in our room that glared green all night.... but these are details!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurancl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    77
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
35
131
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

The location is really good because of the view and it is also really quiet. The only problem is that you have to walk with the luggages until the end of the castle, about 10 minutes. But the place is really quiet because it is at the end of the castle and the view infront of the hotel is also really good! The breakfast is also good, i haven't tried fresh croissant for a long time, and everybody at this hotel is really polite and good! I left the room at 2 o clock not at 12, because i was invited at a wedding last night. Nobody asked me to left my room and nobody asked me to pay more. The whole service is really good!

Room Tip: In places like this, inside the castles, always ask about the access at the hotel with the luggages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anacondas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zoe17
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

The room was clean and comfortable with unique decor, because it's in the fortress. I didn't have a sea view, and frankly didn't miss it. The only drawback to the room would be if one is 6 feet or taller, because of the slope of the ceiling. Breakfast was excellent, and the fresh-squeezed orange juice was delicious. The staff was very friendly.

One watchout if you happen to be traveling by bus, as I did. I planned to head out of Monemvasia on the 7:15 bus, but to do that I would have had to drag my duffel through town and the length of the causeway, because neither taxi nor shuttle services were available at that time. My solution was to change my bus ticket to 2:15, which a person at reception did with a phone call to the Malvasia Travel Agency, which had sold me the ticket.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoe17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

First thing first: when visiting Monemvasia do stay in the fortress. You might have to pay a bit higher rates but it is worth it.

The hotel offers excellent views and has the most calm and relaxing terrace.

The rooms have a wooden ceiling and some of them have sea view. The photos on the hotel's website are pretty accurate.

If I were the management of the hotel I would replace the beds or at least their mattresses to offer a better sleep quality.

Breakfast is OK but the breakfast room is quite small so it gets noisy when it is crowded.

The key advantage of this hotel is that it is at the end of the main pedestrian street of the fortress hence it is quiet and on on top of that there is no other building in front of it so the view is not blocked.

Room Tip: Get a room with sea view and a balcony / terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank athensfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

An amazing place to visit and great place to stay and create memories with whoever you decide to visit with. Loved everything about it. The view from our room and balcony made leaving very hard. Can't wait to go back sometime

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lazulite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The hotel is at the very end of the main road, at a quiet location. Well, the rooms are somewhat smaller than they appear to be on their website, but sufficient - ours anyway had a breathtaking view to the sea (plus Artemide lamps). Bathrooms are a bit small, as is the case in most Greek holiday accommodation.
The personnel if very friendly, their breakfast is more than enough and the whole experience was very positive. In any case, if you visit Monemvasia, you have to stay somewhere IN the castle and Malvazia is a good choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yiotadelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

This hotel has the best location and the best views inside the kastro (castle). It is situated at the furthest point from the entrance and it is a bit of a climb to get to the hotel, but it's worth it. It is clean, well looked after and very romantic. The cobble stones one has to walk on to get there, are very slippery and shiny, so one needs comfortable shoes with a good grip, especially if one is planning to climb to the top to see the church of Aghia Sophia. Older people must be careful as it could be dangerous.

Room Tip: Ask to view a variety of rooms before deciding on which one to take. Some are better than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 533Jenny533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monemvasia hotels
0.0 mi away
Likinia Hotel
Likinia Hotel
#1 of 23 in Monemvasia
437 reviews
0.0 mi away
Malvasia Traditional Hotel
Malvasia Traditional Hotel
#2 of 23 in Monemvasia
287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aktaion
Hotel Aktaion
#18 of 23 in Monemvasia
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Byzantino Boutique Hotel
Byzantino Boutique Hotel
#3 of 23 in Monemvasia
235 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Xifoupolis
Hotel Xifoupolis
#6 of 23 in Monemvasia
128 reviews
1.3 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#7 of 23 in Monemvasia
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastione Malvasia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastione Malvasia Hotel

Property: Bastione Malvasia Hotel
Address: Monemvasia Castle, Monemvasia, Monemvasia Municipality 230 70, Greece (Formerly New Malvasia Hotel)
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Monemvasia Municipality > Monemvasia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Monemvasia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monemvasia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastione Malvasia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a magnificent setting at the furthest tip of Monemvasia Castle, 300 m from the Castle's gate, you may find Bastione Malvasia Hotel (ex New Malvasia). The view is amazing, breathtaking. Built with stones from the surrounding area and with a great respect to the architectural style and the aesthetics of the Castle, some with balcony with sea view and some with fireplaces for warmth in the winter, the rooms of Bastione Malvasia Hotel offer a special experience of accommodation. Here, the traditional elements combine perfectly with all the modern amenities plus some designer touches. All the rooms are equipped with air conditioning, mini fridge, telephone, flat screen satellite TV, hairdryer. Free wireless Internet access (WiFi) is available in public areas of the hotel. Please note that Bastione Malvasia Hotel features a café with spectacular sea views and a peaceful atmosphere that is worth visiting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bastione Malvasia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malvasia Hotel Monemvasia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing