We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“out of this world”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of New Malvasia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Malvasia Hotel
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Monemvasia
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“out of this world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is a magical place, out of this world. The location is incomparable. Once there, you experience a sense of stillness, as if time stops. The hotel offers all you need, keeping in mind that the rule in such a place must be simplicity.

Room Tip: A room with a sea-view. Avoid proximity to the a/c main unit by all means. It just ruins the magic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    74
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
30
125
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monemvasía, Lakonia, Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

After of two weeks of holidays at hotel Malvasia in the old city of Monemvasia,i have to recommend this accommodation for the service that they offer to their guests.
The hotel is located in the unique in the world traditional castle city of Monemvassia,that making staying there very special experience.Is located at the end of the main path of the castle,so you need to walk five minutes from the main gate until to arrive.Rooms are very spacious with all comforts that somebody need for to be comfortable but with great respect in the traditional architecture.Many of the rooms have great views of the Myrtoan sea,something that for me was very important for my choice,the hotel is also working a cafe bar with big terrace,that you can enjoy your coffee or drink overlooking the sea,great atmosphere and relaxing.The staff also is very helpful,at any momment you need something.For all these reasons my staying there was memorable and i hope to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kourtis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Rooms are tiny and the bathrooms tinier but it doesn't matter because this is a magical place on so many fronts
The castle is amazing -- quiet and full of surprises -- windy streets with many wonderful restaurants and cafes -- lovely shops and lots of great energy
Jimmy's bar at the hotel is outstanding and to have a drink and watch the sunset is perfect
Service is good and the views are second to none -- a very special place

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerryharrismail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed in roim 2 which is not in the reception block but slighty closer to the square. Our room was wonderful, carved out of the rock with a spectacular shower and bagsful of charme. We also had a tiny cooking corner and a private balcony which were fabulous. All in all an excellent hotel with a plentiful breakfast. If I wanted to be strict I would say that the pillows were super uncomfortable, you had to turn the shower on 15 minutes before use to get hot water and there was an emergency exit sign in our room that glared green all night.... but these are details!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurancl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

The location is really good because of the view and it is also really quiet. The only problem is that you have to walk with the luggages until the end of the castle, about 10 minutes. But the place is really quiet because it is at the end of the castle and the view infront of the hotel is also really good! The breakfast is also good, i haven't tried fresh croissant for a long time, and everybody at this hotel is really polite and good! I left the room at 2 o clock not at 12, because i was invited at a wedding last night. Nobody asked me to left my room and nobody asked me to pay more. The whole service is really good!

Room Tip: In places like this, inside the castles, always ask about the access at the hotel with the luggages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anacondas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zoe17
Level Contributor
180 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

The room was clean and comfortable with unique decor, because it's in the fortress. I didn't have a sea view, and frankly didn't miss it. The only drawback to the room would be if one is 6 feet or taller, because of the slope of the ceiling. Breakfast was excellent, and the fresh-squeezed orange juice was delicious. The staff was very friendly.

One watchout if you happen to be traveling by bus, as I did. I planned to head out of Monemvasia on the 7:15 bus, but to do that I would have had to drag my duffel through town and the length of the causeway, because neither taxi nor shuttle services were available at that time. My solution was to change my bus ticket to 2:15, which a person at reception did with a phone call to the Malvasia Travel Agency, which had sold me the ticket.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoe17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

First thing first: when visiting Monemvasia do stay in the fortress. You might have to pay a bit higher rates but it is worth it.

The hotel offers excellent views and has the most calm and relaxing terrace.

The rooms have a wooden ceiling and some of them have sea view. The photos on the hotel's website are pretty accurate.

If I were the management of the hotel I would replace the beds or at least their mattresses to offer a better sleep quality.

Breakfast is OK but the breakfast room is quite small so it gets noisy when it is crowded.

The key advantage of this hotel is that it is at the end of the main pedestrian street of the fortress hence it is quiet and on on top of that there is no other building in front of it so the view is not blocked.

Room Tip: Get a room with sea view and a balcony / terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank athensfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monemvasia hotels
0.0 mi away
Likinia Hotel
Likinia Hotel
#2 of 23 in Monemvasia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.0 mi away
Malvasia Traditional Hotel
Malvasia Traditional Hotel
#1 of 23 in Monemvasia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Byzantino Boutique Hotel
Byzantino Boutique Hotel
#4 of 23 in Monemvasia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Moni Emvasis Luxury Suites
Moni Emvasis Luxury Suites
#5 of 23 in Monemvasia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
1.3 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#8 of 23 in Monemvasia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ardamis Traditional Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Malvasia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Malvasia Hotel

Property: New Malvasia Hotel
Address: Monemvasia Castle, Monemvasia, Monemvasia Municipality 230 70, Greece
Region: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Monemvasia Municipality > Monemvasia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Monemvasia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monemvasia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — New Malvasia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a magnificent setting at the furthest tip of Monemvasia Castle, 300 m from the Castle's gate, you may find New Malvasia Hotel. The view is amazing, breathtaking.Built with stones from the surrounding area and with a great respect to the architectural style and the aesthetics of the Castle, some with balcony with sea view and some with fireplaces for warmth in the winter, the rooms of New Malvasia Hotel offer a special experience of accommodation. Here, the traditional elements combine perfectly with all the modern amenities plus some designer touches.All the rooms are equipped with air conditioning, mini fridge, telephone, flat screen satellite TV, hairdryer. Free wireless Internet access (WiFi) is available in public areas of the hotel.Please note that New Malvasia Hotel features a café with spectacular sea views and a peaceful atmosphere that is worth visiting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and TripOnline SA so you can book your New Malvasia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malvasia Hotel Monemvasia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing