We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice, but often closed”

Church of Christ in Chains (Christos Elkomenos)
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Monemvasia
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Charleroi, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nice, but often closed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

It seems to be very beautiful, but we could just look inside while they were preparing a wedding; as the may church in the "Kastro", it is a pity that they do not propose a Sunday service; it would be an opportunity to discover the orthodox culture

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JLD6210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    40
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
218 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“andor says: "you can't miss this beauty"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We could see this gorgeous church from our hotel . It is all part of the charm walking around this beautiful town of Monemvasia. Don't miss it!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank andorsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Holy beauty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Please do go inside the bright cool interior of this ancient church. The icons are not particularly old, and they feel more Roman or Russian than Byzantine, but the overall impact is of grace and peace. The pulpit with icons of Cgrist and the evangelists is lovely. The courtyard is shaded and spacious, a lovely spot to rest on a hot day.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rebel1861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A jewel in the crown of Monemvasia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We visited the Castro and every church in the old town. Elkomenos Christos, with it's thrones, the old icons the secret well was magnificent. It is a church that comes alive during the holy week, at Greek Easter. We loved following the service during this week. We have decided to go back in 2015 and celebrate Easter in the Greek way.
Kate

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kay r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level Contributor
234 reviews
168 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“A town jewel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

The church and the central square are landmarks in this jewel of a town,
We loved very much to walk around the small but animated old lower town, with its quaint antique shops and cozy restaurant and bars.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fane_Babanul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Church of Christ in Chains (Christos Elkomenos) also viewed

Monemvasia, Monemvasia Municipality
Monemvasia, Monemvasia Municipality
 
Monemvasia, Monemvasia Municipality
Monemvasia, Monemvasia Municipality
 

Been to Church of Christ in Chains (Christos Elkomenos)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing