We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely country retreat”
Review of Herdade da Corte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Herdade da Corte
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Tavira
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely country retreat”
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We stayed at Herdade October 19 through 22nd, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We stayed in the main building in Room 2. The room is fairly plain, but spacious, comfortable, and clean. There is a common "living room" for guest to relax in and enjoy the fully stocked honour bar. Breakfast was more than adequate, and the fresh squeezed orange juice was delicious. We had dinner at their restaurant every night, as we found it a bit too far to head into town. The steaks were indeed the "best in town". We also ordered 2 meals in advance to make sure we could have more of a variety. The wines selection was good, especially considering it is a small place. The prices were reasonable. Our hostess Adrianna was very happy to suggest day time outings, and her English is excellent. The pool is lovely. It was cool due to the time of year, but one of us did brave it. Earlier in the year, I'm sure it was perfect.
A couple of negatives - wifi was only available in the bar area, and it is out of the way if you are looking for any kind of night life. You definitely need to follow their instructions very carefully to find the place.

Room Tip: We had rooms 1 and 2 in the main building. Both were very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SisuToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    56
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
38
154
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
181 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

A wonderful location off the beaten track while still being 10 minutes from Tavira and 15 minutes from beautiful beaches.
Peace and quiet in the hills with a lovely swimming pool and hosts who go out of their way to help you.
The excellent restaurant means that you don't need to go into town and a nice meal on the terrace is a wonderful way of relaxing and enjoying yourself.
In addition it's excellent value for money. An address to remember.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Food was not good. We ate there the six nights we were staying at the hotel which was a shame really, it was too far to drive at night down to Tavira so we were stuck with a rather rustic barren area with poor seating and inattentive, slow service. "The best steak in the world" was anything but, Jorge's secret recipe is one he would never need to share...

Breakfast was ok, freshly squeezed orange juice being the highlight. There were ants running about the food tables on two mornings and although Adrianne and Jorge did act very quickly to get rid of them, it didn't inspire confidence.


We stayed in one of the suites up the hill and that was a big mistake. It was very quiet but felt remote and unwelcoming, the room was dark and basic, although the bathroom and shower were first class..

The swimming pool was amazing - that was the best thing about the place, very clean and usually empty, a very peaceful setting with views over the country side..

OH liked it more than I did, he quite liked the rustic rural feel of it all, but I prefer fresh decor, good food and a touch of luxury.

All in all, it was an experiment if you like, trying somewhere like that, but not one I'd repeat.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank susannahm843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
141 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Yes, its a nice "away from it all" location. The staff is very nice. Breakfast is good. But...
4 of the rooms are 1km from the main building, in a location with notjing else other than rooms and a parking lot. Its 1km on a windy narrow road without side walks. This means driving back and forth for breakfast, to use the pool, to have dinner. Cleaningness of rooms also not so good: linnens and bathroom ok, but room floors dirty, a lot of spider webs were there when we arrived and continued after we left...

Room Tip: Make sure you get rroms in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JML01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Deutschland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Firstly the location is fantastic. A few km off the beaten track in lovely rolling hills. The hotel serves dinner in the evening on a veranda with a direct view to the hill opposite, which is really nice.

We had a room in the annexe 700m up the hill (see other reviews), but we were aware of this so it was no problem. Indeed quite a trek on foot since it is pretty steep, but 2 mins by car so no problem.

When we got in our room we realised that the satellite receiver was broken, so no TV, and the phone line was also dead. Later in the evening we realised that the aircon was also broken, which was a pain since it had been 38C during the day and these rustic one-story buildings do get pretty hot. Adriana, the proprietor, did come up straight away to try and fix the problem, but was not able to. Even worse was that the room had loads of midges; we killed a lot but didn't get them all. Our seven year old son had the record the next morning with 22 new bites. All in all an absolutely miserable night.

The next day we were able to change to a new apartment, which was bigger than the previous one we had. No midges at all, so it had not been a location specific issue. We also learnt that the problem with TV, phone and airco had been an electrical storm two weeks previously. It was frustratng to say the least that we were left to discover on our own that none of the electrical equipment was working. And so we came to the conclusion that the friendly welcome on day 1 was not a lot of use, since in our view someone with a real interest in customer satisfaction would have checked (and fixed) all the electrical equipment after realising that there had been a lightning strike.

Few more infos: rooms were well-cleaned and not at all musty (not easy in the Algarve climate), breakfast was nice with good choice and freshly squeezed orange juice as mentioned in other reviews. Pool is also nice. Grounds / gardens are pretty and very well kept.

We had dinner twice in the hotel; food was good and it is really convenient. Service was patchy; pretty slow and not really children friendly - our kids are restaurant-trained (!) and pretty well-behaved, but when they asked politely for a piece of paper and a pen to draw something, they were told "you'll have to wait, I'm working" by the waiter. The paper + pen never came. Not our understanding of customer focus.

So despite a number of good points, after all the ecstatic reviews it was a bit of a disappointment in the end, to be honest........

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TravellingSince75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

The main building is exactly as described - idyllic. The hospitality is excellent and the food lovely. However the annex is, as another correspondent has reviewed, quite a distance away and, as such, sure to disappoint when compared to the main building which is where you first set foot. You must be certain of your booking as we did not (our fault) check enough. We thought that we were treated fairly when we only stayed one night of the eight booked, agreeing to forfeit 50% of what we would have had to have paid. However I stress that while this was really our fault it could have been avoided had the descriptions been clearer viz-a-viz the route between the buildings. Adrienne a great host and steak superb.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building - all rooms great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthurlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

When we arrived, we found the main hotel with facilities located some distance (it seemed further than 700 m in the car but i did not measure it) from the building containing superior accommodation. Yes, this is mentioned in the description but they are separated by an unlit, steep. twisting road, without pavement which we didn't fancy negotiating in the dark. We asked to move to a poolside room but there were none available. We just felt very disappointed with the set-up after all the extremely positive reviews and could not envisage walking up and down every time we wanted to access our room (one member of our party cannot walk far for health reasons). We explained our concerns to the owner who said if we weren't happy, she would just keep the deposit. We decided to write it off and head for the town but were eventually charged the full amount as a "no show", which is fair enough because we cancelled at the last minute but not what we had agreed. This one we put down to experience.

Room Tip: Book a room by the pool/restaurant.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank mb2urs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavira hotels
6.7 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#2 of 15 in Tavira
333 reviews
7.0 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#4 of 15 in Tavira
812 reviews
6.1 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#11 of 15 in Tavira
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#8 of 15 in Tavira
1,008 reviews
5.6 mi away
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
7.6 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#5 of 15 in Tavira
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herdade da Corte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herdade da Corte

Property: Herdade da Corte
Address: Sitio da Corte | Santa Catarina Da Fonte Do Bispo, Tavira 8800-166, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tavira
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tavira
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Herdade da Corte 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
escription: ENHerdade da Corte – Country housewelcome home from home...Towards the south to the warmth of another Algarve, the Herdade da Corte is a Rural Tourist accommodation created from a commitment of the past, the present and the well being.Located preferentially for those who like to be near the sea but comfortably away from the traditionally touristic Algarve, the Herdade da Corte offers ideal conditions, being the perfect base to begin exploring the contrasts of the Algarve. Because you’ve left the city behind, and the ocean waits patiently in the distance, the 7 double bedrooms and 5 junior suites have a simple, pleasant and rustic decoration. Divided in 2 country houses, separated by a 600m trail of nature and silence, you can chose between, tranquillity, relax and contemplation at Monte Beleza, and making new friends at the swimming pool, tennis court, terrace, honesty bar and tapas, wine & Jazz lounge of Monte Lavrador. All this in a 120ha of space and nature, where de common spaces merges with the countryside in a real delight to your senses,In a perfect scenery between the mountain ranges and the sea, the Algarve sun, the tranquillity of the Algarve Barrocal, in a space just for you, with no timetables, with no stress!Let yourself be carried away... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Herdade da Corte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herdade Da Corte Tavira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing