We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem tucked away north of Tavira” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Herdade da Corte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Herdade da Corte
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Tavira
Certificate of Excellence
Blockley, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A gem tucked away north of Tavira”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

A short drive north west of Tavira lies this gem. Originally a Portuguese farmstead or Quinta it lies in a fold of the hills which are covered with olive, carob and other native tree species. At this time of the year the fruit laden lemon and orange trees provide colour against the green landscape. It is a real retreat with comfortable rooms, bar and terrace and genuine Portuguese cooking with a good wine list.There is also a swimming pool and tennis court and access to countryside walks. It is a quite different experience from the seaside and a great base to explore the Algarve..Francisco and his team go to every effort to make their guests comfortable and we look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: The doubles in the block facing the pool are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    56
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
38
147
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

A highlight of our recent trip to Portugal had to be staying at this gem in the Algarve. Surrounded by rolling hills and blissful isolation, the property is meant to be enjoyed by those who want a break from tours and tourists. With friendly hosts, a fantastic pool, a well-stocked bar, the best breakfast in the country, and spacious, rustic rooms, it is no wonder we extended our stay a day later than planned (I wish we could have stayed a week).

Be sure to catch a sunset from the pool or surrounding deck.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PortlandCle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We only stayed for one night at the Herdade da Corte at the end of our 8 night break in the Algarve, and as soon as we arrived, I knew I would regret not staying for longer. It's extremely remote, about 15/20 minutes from the town on Tavira (which is nice for a wander around and some lunch) and definitely in a rural location. It's pretty easy to find, as the signs are super clear (ignore the sat nav!) and once you step out of the car, it's almost silent.

The pool area is gorgeous, set in a real suntrap which gets the sun late into the evening, and furnished with really comfortable loungers, tables and softer areas to chill out.

Relaxation is definitely the name of the game, and because of this, it felt like a lovely end to our holiday, and we were able to go back to the airport the next day feeling fully refreshed- it's about 40 minutes from Faro.

If you want to have an evening meal at the hotel, just ask, and they will provide an extremely reasonable, home-cooked 3 course meal on the terrace, which just feels so much more luxurious than the price.

Basically, if you want a classy hotel, in a relaxing, beatiful part of the Algarve then this is the place fo you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebeccallama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

As others have said, this is a quite different Algarve experience. The situation is great. The accommodation is "rustic" but very pleasant. The hosts are great (even towards the end of a long season).

We only stayed a night but enjoyed ourselves and had a lovely simple meal, beautifully cooked in the evening.

All in all a good place to stay for a few days if you want peace, good facilities and a relaxed atmosphere. The rooms are fine but the beds are very firm - suits some more than others. Air. con. worked well.

Room Tip: In the main house is probably best unless you want isolation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

This converted hunting lodge offers luxury in the middle of nature. Away from it all but at a short car journey from all amenities in Tavira. Simple but spacious rooms, with rather hard beds. Very nice pool and veranda to relax at any point of the day.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frans V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miranda do Corvo, Portugal
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

This hotel takes some getting to and, once there, just a little bit getting used to. This isn't a luxury hotel. It's simple, understated, friendly, quiet, in an uncluttered country location, Don't look for frills, there aren't any! Don't look for the welcome pack of instructions - there aren't any. - And I'm not complaining. Life was once oh so simple and this hotel is one place that will put your head back in shape!! Simple arrangements - breakfast at 9 on the veranda if its not too windy. An evening meal prepared by Francisco and his wife if you request it at breakfast time. Served on the veranda, some local Alentejo wine, fresh local cheeses and fresh fish - fantastico!!!
The hotel is undergoing some changes - new management just over a year ago are moving this towards the eco-tourism niche market - and all the best to them for making the changes.

Room Tip: If you choose a junior suite its in a separate block nearly a mile away from the the main hotel and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norifolk2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
278 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Very friendly hosts, the hotel is in a lovely quiet rural location. Rooms well furnished and plenty of space.Good swimming pool. We had a very enjoyable evening meal with Portuguese wines to match. Break fast was good with freshly squeezed orange juice. Veranda would be lovely to sit out in (too cold when we were there). This is a place to chill out -it is a hike to get anywhere and can be tricky to find in dark although they will supply comprehensive directions. (Directions include 'look for yellow house' - not easy in the dark!). Hotel was empty when we were there so it was a lovely break - not sure what it would be like full and how noisy swimming pool would get. It is very family friendly. However it is quite spacious so hopefully would not be a problem.All in a ll a pleasant stop and not far from Faro airport.

Room Tip: Possibly rooms overlooking pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ninebanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavira hotels
5.6 mi away
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
6.7 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#2 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
7.6 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#4 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#11 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
5.9 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#6 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
7.0 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#3 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herdade da Corte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herdade da Corte

Property: Herdade da Corte
Address: Sitio da Corte | Santa Catarina Da Fonte Do Bispo, Tavira 8800-166, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tavira
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Herdade da Corte 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
escription: ENHerdade da Corte – Country housewelcome home from home...Towards the south to the warmth of another Algarve, the Herdade da Corte is a Rural Tourist accommodation created from a commitment of the past, the present and the well being.Located preferentially for those who like to be near the sea but comfortably away from the traditionally touristic Algarve, the Herdade da Corte offers ideal conditions, being the perfect base to begin exploring the contrasts of the Algarve. Because you’ve left the city behind, and the ocean waits patiently in the distance, the 7 double bedrooms and 5 junior suites have a simple, pleasant and rustic decoration. Divided in 2 country houses, separated by a 600m trail of nature and silence, you can chose between, tranquillity, relax and contemplation at Monte Beleza, and making new friends at the swimming pool, tennis court, terrace, honesty bar and tapas, wine & Jazz lounge of Monte Lavrador. All this in a 120ha of space and nature, where de common spaces merges with the countryside in a real delight to your senses,In a perfect scenery between the mountain ranges and the sea, the Algarve sun, the tranquillity of the Algarve Barrocal, in a space just for you, with no timetables, with no stress!Let yourself be carried away... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays and Booking.com so you can book your Herdade da Corte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herdade Da Corte Tavira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing