We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic rooms rude staff booked for 8 nights left after one.......”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Herdade da Corte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Herdade da Corte
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Tavira
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
“Basic rooms rude staff booked for 8 nights left after one.......”
Reviewed 16 September 2010

We booked through Booking .com for eight nights after reading reports on here . We sent e mail to ask if room could possibly be ready a little sooner than the advertised 2 pm , no reply to mail and when arrived room was not available. The room was very dark and dingy lock broken on window .......Only salads available for lunch no hot food {we left at 5.30 am ] Went for dinner 7 ish waited 30 mins for a drink ....... then it started going downhill..... I ordered 3 courses soup, fish and the {allegedly] best steak . Soup and fish arrived together which seemed very strange, pointed this out to waiter who seemed to think this was amusing .......Steak was ordered well done arrived "bloody" and very tough . Complained again this time waiter started an arguement . This was a very poor experience and next morning asked to cancel rest of stay which was done but we had to agree to pay for previous evenings meal. We were packed and departed shortly after 9am {no breakfast !!! } a very poor stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank grahamggm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    56
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
38
147
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

A magic place. Just sit down on the veranda and have a porto while chatting with Jorge or Adriana, the hotel managers. The hills in front of view have something particular. They are not spectacular, but give you a peculiar sense of calm and beauty. The pool is just what you need when the sun is beating. The house is charming. Rooms are well furnished and clean. Breakfast is more than ok. The house managers are friendly and make you feel welcome. Go for it, it's a good place for families, like couples. The sea side and the nice town of Tavira are just a few minutes away.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicsiBruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yangshuo County, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

The owners are extremely friendly and accommodating, they speak English, but they're main language is Spanish.

Room was clean and pleasant, very good air con.

Taxi from Faro airport will cost ~40 EUR (we paid 55 EUR from the airport). The hoteliers have a taxi they recommend who will give you the best rates, worth asking them to arrange for him to pick you up from the airport if you aren't renting a car as we paid slightly over the odds on the way there. Same taxi cost 12 EUR each way to get to Tavira.

There is a very nice pool and plenty of room to sunbathe. They have a tennis court which is free to use (they also provide racquets and balls free of chage). I believe they have bikes too, although we didn't use them.

Every morning a buffet breakfast is provided, which includes cereals, fresh fruit, meat, bread etc. The restaurant is open during the day for sandwiches and snacks and in the evenings for hot meals (the food is very good quality!).

Overall I would definitely recommend this and will go back again. I'd recommend renting a car if possible as there isn't much to see around the hotel as it is pretty isolated, but ideal if you want to get away from it all.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iforwms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

For those wishing to get away from the rat race this is ideal. Beautiful location set in the countryside. Owners of ultra low sports cars may find some of the approach roads a bit rough and ready. Our Focus handled it well though.

We stayed in an apartment away from the main complex. Aircon had just been fitted and was most appreciated. (We stayed 8th to 10th July). We were advised that should we need to get to the main building all we had to do was ring and they would pick us up and drop us off later that evening.

Sitting on the elevated terrace overlooking the trees whilst sipping our reasonably priced drinks was amazing. Our meal later that evening was top notch and also fairly reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank e386lay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2010

If you want relaxation and a location almost off the GPS grid, this is the place for you. Just to clarify, the hotel is not in Tavira. It may have a Tavira mailing address but it is 20 minutes from Downtown Tavira. Although we were very disappointed with Tavira (limited/marginal sites), we recommend you stay a night at this hotel. The owners are great and deserve 5 stars for service and the quality of the restaurant food and wine. They are from Argentina and the Argentinean beef and Pork “Secrets” were great for dinner. The wine and prices were very reasonable. The inclusive breakfast was also very nice. The room price at 55 Euros \per night is a good value and the room was clean and spacious. We did really like the family and Adriana in particular is a very special hostess. We also enjoyed the Great Dane Puppy named Bond.

Overall, considering the location, I give it a rating of four stars. Again, if you want relaxation and to hang out the pool, this is the place for you. Also, if you are looking for a break from the action-packed sight seeing of Seville or Lisbon, you will love this place for a relaxing time and a special meal.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rojuko99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
160 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

Following good reports from TA reviews, my wife and I booked 8 nights at Herdade da Corte. We were not disappointed. We could not praise this hotel enough, to do it justice. The hotel is run by Jorge and his wife, Adriana (who has very good English). They were the perfect hosts, right from the moment that we checked in, to the moment that we checked out. We felt that we were being invited into their family - we were not ‘just customers’ - we were made to feel special - every day.
I often read reviews, that complain about hotel staff that do not smile or are not particularly friendly - well, that will not be a cause of complaint here - Jorge and Adriana are so friendly and happy, and will do everything to make your stay an enjoyable one.
The location, for us, was perfect - out of town (about 15 minutes drive from Tavira), up in the hills, at one with nature, peace and quite. If you require a nightlife, this is unlikely to be the place for you, as this hotel is geared towards relaxation, and the only other people you will encounter in the evenings are the other guests - I think it has only 12 rooms in total. But that is what we loved about it - meeting the other guests each evening when we came down to dinner, discussing what we had done that day, exchanging ideas for trips, sights to see, etc. It felt like one big happy family, ever changing as some departed, and as new guests arrived. Of course, if you only wanted your own company, that was respected also.
Our bedroom was lovely - basic and simple, but with a bit of character to it, unlike most hotels, where every room has basically the same bland look and design to it. And to wake up to the birds signing each morning, was just beautiful.
Breakfast selection was good - hot and cold foods, and a jug of freshly squeezed orange juice which is delivered to your table as soon as you sit down.
We had our dinner there every evening. We thought the food was delicious - Jorge does most of the cooking. The main courses are very reasonably priced. The fish was fantastic and there is a dish called ‘Secrets’, which is a pork dish - you’ve got to try it. We opted to eat there every evening, because it allowed us to enjoy a bottle of wine (a good selection) , which one of us could not do, if we were to drive into Tavira for a meal. Also, we were able to sit at our table for as long as we wanted, enjoy conversation with the other guests and Adriana, or sit out on the veranda enjoying the end of our wine or a coffee. Heaven!
Some reviewers have commented that the menu choice is a bit small, which to an extent, it is, but personally I welcome that, as it often indicates that the chef concentrates on what he/she is good at cooking - rather than putting a 100 things on the menu, just to cater for all tastes, and then they are not much good at cooking any of them. We thoroughly enjoyed all 8 dinners we had there.
We cannot say enough about Adriana and Jorge and their lovely family. Nothing was too much trouble for them. They were so helpful and friendly, always willing to assist or give advice, if you required help with anything. And it was lovely to see their children playing with some of the guests children. As I indicated above, we felt we were being treated as friends of the family, rather than as customers of a hotel. Would we stay there again? MOST DEFINITELY, and look forward to it.
If you intend staying here, please note - you will require your own transport. Faro airport is 35/40 mins drive on the A22 motorway (toll free). The motorway (exit 16) is less than 10 mins from the hotel (when you book, Adriana will send you perfect directions to get to the hotel). The hotel is a very suitable base, if you would like to do a bit of touring - Seville in Spain, is a one and a half hour drive, and a similar drive time to the western tip (Cabo de S. Vicente) of the Algarve.
Also, it should be noted that the accommodation is divided into two houses. One of them, where the larger units are, including the two bedroom apartment, is a short distance away,(about 800 meters), from the main building. I imagine that most likely, you would want to use your car to travel up and down between the two locations - even for your breakfast - although it is a pleasant walk.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fenlaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2010

Traveling with my husband and parents. This is a little off the path and not in Tavira proper, but easily accessed. Well worth it. The owners are delightful. There is a restaurant on site and the chef husband does a wonderful job. SO nice to have a great meal and walk across the way to your room. Lovely breakfast is included. The price is unbeatable. Rooms clean and comfy.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank retiree2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavira hotels
6.7 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#2 of 15 in Tavira
314 reviews
5.6 mi away
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
7.6 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#4 of 15 in Tavira
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#3 of 15 in Tavira
768 reviews
6.1 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#11 of 15 in Tavira
109 reviews
6.0 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#6 of 15 in Tavira
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herdade da Corte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herdade da Corte

Property: Herdade da Corte
Address: Sitio da Corte | Santa Catarina Da Fonte Do Bispo, Tavira 8800-166, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tavira
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tavira
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Herdade da Corte 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
escription: ENHerdade da Corte – Country housewelcome home from home...Towards the south to the warmth of another Algarve, the Herdade da Corte is a Rural Tourist accommodation created from a commitment of the past, the present and the well being.Located preferentially for those who like to be near the sea but comfortably away from the traditionally touristic Algarve, the Herdade da Corte offers ideal conditions, being the perfect base to begin exploring the contrasts of the Algarve. Because you’ve left the city behind, and the ocean waits patiently in the distance, the 7 double bedrooms and 5 junior suites have a simple, pleasant and rustic decoration. Divided in 2 country houses, separated by a 600m trail of nature and silence, you can chose between, tranquillity, relax and contemplation at Monte Beleza, and making new friends at the swimming pool, tennis court, terrace, honesty bar and tapas, wine & Jazz lounge of Monte Lavrador. All this in a 120ha of space and nature, where de common spaces merges with the countryside in a real delight to your senses,In a perfect scenery between the mountain ranges and the sea, the Algarve sun, the tranquillity of the Algarve Barrocal, in a space just for you, with no timetables, with no stress!Let yourself be carried away... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Herdade da Corte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herdade Da Corte Tavira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing