We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for some Autumn sunshine”
Review of Herdade da Corte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Herdade da Corte
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Tavira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Along with a group of friends, my wife & I stayed at the Herdade da Corte for a walking holiday and our experience was the complete opposite of the man from Bolton. Adriana, Jorge and the all the staff were charming, helpful and attentive hosts throughout our stay and we fully endorse all the positive reports about this peaceful country hotel. The food was excellent (the Argentinian steak and the paella were particularly outstanding), the accommodation was quiet and comfortable and with guest facilities like a pool and tennis court, the out of season rate of €55 per night for a double room and breakfast is an absolute bargain.

This was our second visit but definitely won't be our last. Unreservedly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pete64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2010

A delightful place to relax and just enjoy the perfect surroundings,' in the middle of nowhere' that is just what we like, away from the bustle and anything commercial. The family, Adriana Jorge, Nuno, Rosinda and the children give such a lovely homey atmosphere and nothing is too much trouble for them. Bond the 'little' Great Dane particularly gave us much amusement, though very gentle and well behaved. The pool is particularly enjoyable just salty enough with clear water showers for a rinse. I loved sitting in the water on the steps reading, most enjoyable! Everything you may have read on previous reviews we second... bar 1, the man from Bolton must have had a bad hair day!! The food,the service, the peace,delightful rooms, so different from the usual, great showers & the most efficient air conditioning ever experienced. The whole area of The Eastern Algarve, was new to us but there are several places we missed and we will be back, you do need a car, but nowhere is too far away, you don't have to drive many miles. Being such a short distance from the beautiful town of Tavira with it's many inexpensive restaurants,bars (and yes 1 Irish Bar!!.... but a good one) There is often entertainment in the central town square on those wonderful balmy evenings, lovely just sitting watching with a coffee. We have to say The Eastern Algarve and it's people is a place not to be missed....... and Oh that Sunshine!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkmIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

It is quite difficult to describe Herdade da Corte with words but i will have a go...
and i will post a few more pictures when I can.
It was simply the best place I could have wished for to get married, we had about 40 guests consisting of family and friends who have all said what a beautiful place it was. We had the venue and hotel booked for the friday and saturday, the rooms were lovely, very clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. We had great nights sleep as it is so peaceful up there (and the stars are amazing). Breakfast was good, plenty of choice and Adriana and Jorge are very friendly and welcoming.

Back to the wedding day... we decorated the ceremony area (which is usually used as the outdoor terrace/restaurant) on the friday and it just looked stunning. Adriana and Jorge helped us and allowed us to decorate how and where we wanted. The panoramic views are beautiful and it just feels so calm and peaceful. The ceremony was just perfect, better than i had ever imagined it in my head. Following the blessing we had drinks and canopes which were very tasty. We had the wedding breakfast in the main dining room which also looked very pretty all set up. The food was in abundace, we had mixed starter of goats cheese, olives, prawns, bread and salads followed by a main course of chicken, secret pork, seabass (my fave) and ribs with salads, fries and other side dishes which were all excellent. The only thing I would say is that it was very hot in there and some fans or air con units would have made it more comfortable to eat. After the main meal and speeches there was a big dessert table set up with fruit, cakes and little dishes of desserts. We went back out to the terrace for evening drinks and dancing, it was magical!

We had lovely weather during our week stay, we had lots of fun in the pool. I would recommend hiring a car if you are planning to stay here. Taxis to Tavira cost appox 15euros one way so a hire car would probably be a cheaper way to get around.

Adriana and Jorge and their family (including Bond the dog) are wonderful people and always made us feel special and welcome. We plan to come back next september for our first anniversary

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jee21Teesside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

We stayed for a total of 14 nights from the 6th to the 20th September and had a wonderful holiday. Adriana,Jorge, the waiter Nuno and all the staff do everything they can and more to make sure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. The food is excellent at the Hotel especially the breakfasts. The room we had was spacious, spotlessly clean, bedding and towels changed frequently throughout our stay. Air conditioning is provided free of charge.
The intention was to recharge our batteries and have a relaxing holiday and we could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macfactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

We stayed at Herdade da Corte last week, for 5 nights. We choose this place after reading other reviews on trip advisor and it was wonderful. The hotel is located in a rural area, between Santa Catarina and Tavira, very peacefull and quite if you are looking forward to relax. The owners of the place were lovely and made us feel very welcome. The hotel has 12 rooms spreaded in 2 different buildings. There is one building by the pool with double rooms and there is another building at a distance on 700 m with suites (bedroom+living room and one apartment with 2 bedrooms). We stayed one night in a suite and the rest of 4 nights in a double room in the building next to the pool. Both accomodations were wonderful, very spacious and clean, wooden ceiling, big bathroom and an 'honest frigo bar' where the bier was 1.20 eur. The only thing I would have changed was the bed, the rooms have twin beds rather than one double but that is my owm preference, nothing wrong with the bed. The swimming pool is lovely, the water is salty. There is also a terrace where you can enjoy a drink before dinner (again, you can help yourself with a drink from the honest bar). They also have a restaurant where you can serve dinner. The hotel also has a tennis courte. If you choose to stay there, the best is if you have a car. Otherwise, I do not know how you can get around. Tavira is only at 10 min drive and there are plenty of beautiful beaches to see around. There is also a wonderfull waterfall at about 5 min drive, in Pego do Inferno. The water is superb, transparent and you can swimm in there. The owners will give you all the information and directions you need. I forgot to mention the great breakfast with fresh juices, cakes, cheese, ham, cereals, hot chocolate, coffee, tea, yogurt, eggs, banana milk shake, fruits, butter, jam, different breads etc. There is also a reading room where you can leave your book and pick another one, very cozy and charming. If you need internet, there is free internet at the reception.The hotel is very welcoming for childrens as well. We will certainly recommend this place to everybody and we will certainly go back there again!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moleculica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

We had a fantastic stay at Herdade da Corte. If you a looking for a relaxing, peaceful break away from it all then this is the place for you. We stayed for just under a week and Jorge, Adrianna and all the staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful. We didn't have a car but Adrianna booked cabs for us whenever we wanted to go into Tavira (which wasn't very often as we were perfectly happy just relaxing by the pool most days!) Nothing was too much trouble. Our room was clean, spacious and cool (AC was very efficient!). The food was delicious - lots of choice for breakfast, lovely salads and sandwiches for lunch and in the evening we particularly enjoyed the paella and argentinian steak - delicious!! We will return in the future I'm sure. Thank you to Adrianna, Jorge and all the staff for making our stay so wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AEMLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

I cannot agree with the previous reviewer. Herdada de Corte is a fantastic place. It is situated in rural Tavira and is a welcome retreat from the busy resorts.A variety of beautiful beaches are twenty minutes drive away. The managers of the hotel Adrianna and Jorge and their staff are very friendly and could not be more helpful to us during our seven day stay with them. The breakfast is a veritable feast and set us up for the day A jug of freshly squeezed orange juice appeared as if by magic on the table each morning.. We had dinner each evening and enjoyed all our meals especially the argentinian steak which was cooked medium as ordered. The waiter was extremely courteous and friendly at all times. The rooms are simply furnished, spotlessly clean and have air conditioning. The hotel overlooked the hills and my husband enjoyed his walk over the hills each morning. I would recommend a car if you are staying in this hotel because it is off the beaten track.For anybody who wants to get away for a good rest and plenty of quality time treat yourself to a stay in Herdade De Corte. We will definitely be back. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AandI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavira hotels
5.6 mi away
Pousada Convento Tavira
5.5 mi away
Maria Nova Lounge Hotel
6.7 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#5 of 15 in Tavira
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#6 of 15 in Tavira
1,138 reviews
7 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#3 of 15 in Tavira
906 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rural Quinta do Marco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herdade da Corte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herdade da Corte

Address: Sitio da Corte | Santa Catarina Da Fonte Do Bispo, Tavira 8800-166, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tavira
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tavira
Price Range: £45 - £2,275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Herdade da Corte 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
escription: ENHerdade da Corte – Country housewelcome home from home...Towards the south to the warmth of another Algarve, the Herdade da Corte is a Rural Tourist accommodation created from a commitment of the past, the present and the well being.Located preferentially for those who like to be near the sea but comfortably away from the traditionally touristic Algarve, the Herdade da Corte offers ideal conditions, being the perfect base to begin exploring the contrasts of the Algarve. Because you’ve left the city behind, and the ocean waits patiently in the distance, the 7 double bedrooms and 5 junior suites have a simple, pleasant and rustic decoration. Divided in 2 country houses, separated by a 600m trail of nature and silence, you can chose between, tranquillity, relax and contemplation at Monte Beleza, and making new friends at the swimming pool, tennis court, terrace, honesty bar and tapas, wine & Jazz lounge of Monte Lavrador. All this in a 120ha of space and nature, where de common spaces merges with the countryside in a real delight to your senses,In a perfect scenery between the mountain ranges and the sea, the Algarve sun, the tranquillity of the Algarve Barrocal, in a space just for you, with no timetables, with no stress!Let yourself be carried away... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Herdade da Corte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herdade Da Corte Tavira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing