We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay in unseasonably adverse weather”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tavira Vacations Apartments
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely stay in unseasonably adverse weather”
Reviewed 18 May 2010

I note the comments by a previous reviewer about their stay during the unrelenting rain and bad weather earlier this year. We too stayed for about a week during this period and had quite a different experience. The owners were falling over themselves to assist us notwithstanding the fact they were busy stopping the rising water flooding their basement (don't worry the rain was crazy this was not a typical occurence).
We arrived in the middle of the night and were welcomed in the warmest fashion and this hospitality did not falter once. They assited us with every aspect of our stay from where to eat, visit to the best location for medical attention when our child was ill.
Tavira is a lovely spot and was made all the more enjoyable by the wonderful hosts at this great spot. I will not hesitate to stay again (hopefully when the sun is shining!)

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richcawte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
72
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
las vegas, nv, USA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

Our visit was during the horrible rains of the last few months, so the owners were dealing w/ pumping water off of their property and the overall bad weather. Nonetheless, it was the only hotel of our 3 week trip where we would not return. Prior to booking, I had inquired on laundry services available. Our stay here was mid-trip, and I planned our packing around being able to wash everything over our 3 night stay. They do have a washer, it's not free, and there is no dryer. The owners assured me even in the damp weather everything would dry. Glad I didn't take their advise, on the 3rd day even our underclothes were damp when I had to pack them up. The apt was not too clean, nor stocked too well. We rented one of their largest apts. because we wanted one with a tub for soaking. We never got water hot enough to soak. I know utilities are very expensive but the just-warm water and the radiators coming on for only a few hours at night were a drag, it was quite cold. It's a good 35 minute walk to downtown. We had some inquiries that required a phone call to local businesses, but since neither owner speaks Portugeuse, we knew they would not be able to assist us. The value was fantastic. I imagine the pool and BBQs are great in the summer. Onsite, safe parking is very convenient. Best part was the bed was really comfortable, and being the only guests onsight it was quiet and we slept very well.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acribari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2009

I spent a glorious month at Tavira Apartments for the purpose of practising my Portuguese. I was not disappointed - the locals were friendly & took the time to talk to me. Travel to nearby towns was easy & a lot of fun. The resident owners were most helpful for planning & advice.

Tavira Apartments is a gorgeous place a short walk from the centre of town, with breathtaking sunrises & sunsets from the property. Families would do well to stay here as would honeymooners, and it is ideal for reunions & destination weddings/anniversaries.

If you are visiting Eastern Algarve or hopping off to Spain closeby, be sure to stay at Tavira Apartments! It will definitely be a wonderfully memorable stay!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unguja046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2009

This place is great. Lovely appartment really well appointed, great view and lovely surroundings. Very welcoming owners who were there when we wanted something but never in the way. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unclejoe2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whakatane New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2009

What a find - from our late arrival where we were greeted with a welcome basket containing food and wine so we could make our children a late dinner, to the farewell with coffee and cake ...this was one fantastic place to stay. If you want a holiday away from the hustle and bustle of the more touristy places of the Algarve Tavira is the place to go and the Tavira Apartments is the place to stay! Navinder and Andrea were perfect hosts and the Apartment was spacious, clean and had everything that we needed. The pool was fantastic - well used by the children (when we weren't enjoying the awesome local beach or travelling the Algarve spots as recommended by our hosts). We have recommended this place to our friends and relations and recommend to anyone thinking of travelling to this beautiful area of Portugal.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamoliNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2009

Our stay at Tavira Vacation Apartments was peaceful, comfortable, and excellent value. All five units, finished with gorgeous marble floors, were rented for our family celebration. This was the perfect spot for activities for both young children and adults. Each self-contained unit is spacious with modern high-level amenities. Nestled between gentle hills and the Atlantic, the location is convenient for easy walking or driving to Tavira. We look forward to returning for another wonderful experience. We highly recommend this superb accommodation for couples or groups.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamish43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2009

Spacious, well equipped, modern, clean, private and secure location yet close to beach, shops and town. Enjoyed our time, everything our family could have wanted was provided.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twopointzerokids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavira hotels
1.3 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#6 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#2 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
2.3 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#3 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
1.8 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#11 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#4 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tavira Vacations Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavira Vacations Apartments

Property: Tavira Vacations Apartments
Address: Sitio da Almiranta-Patarinho | CXP 1798-C, Tavira 8800-602, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Patarinho offer 5 newly refurbished, spacious self-catering holiday apartments with air-conditioning, heating, well equipped kitchenettes, satellite TV/DVDs and private terraces. Amenities include wireless internet access, swimming pool (6X12m), toddler pool, barbecue area, private parking, enclosed grounds and a personalized service from the owners. Located in tranquil countryside 2 km from Tavira and 35 kilometers from Faro Airport. Golden beaches, renowned Golf Courses and Bird Watching sites are within 10 minutes drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Tavira Vacations Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tavira Vacations Apartments Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing