We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of PrimaSol Golden Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tavira
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
PrimaSol Golden Club
Ranked #38 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Tavira
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Spent 7 nights here commencing 7th Feb. 2012

Check in was by Isobel a lovely, happy lady before actual check in time with absolutely no problem. Generally the reception staff are all nice and helpful.

Room okay - some bits a tad suspect but hey. Note the Air Con is also the heater so get remote from Reception that is offered on arrival. No hairdryer ladies! Our studio apartment overlooked the well kept gardens and had nice balcony.

Meals perfectly adequate and some were Portuguese. Always a good choice. Salads very fresh and the spuds are lovely!

Indoor pool - again some parts dated but enjoyed a swim and jacuzzi every day. Water lovely and warm and the sun streams in onto the pool. Most days I had this facility to myself. If you forget to take a swimming hat that you definitely have to wear you can buy one at the Pool reception.

Nice walks and Cabanas is really lovely with local people who are really friendly.
The walk along the broadway on the front is enjoyable and at the end keep going by the coast into country and you will end up in an Almond grove (blossoming when we were there) At the eastern end there is a shady area, and just beyond.... green fields and trees and a 17th century fort! It's surprising what you find when you explore! The fort, São João da Barra , was originally built in 1656 by Conde Val de Reis. It has since been restored and is now privately owned.

The boat ride (complimentary) to the beach is a must. Wait till you see the beach! The Atlantic wasn't that cold for a paddle either.

The water taxi round the lagoon is a good trip too especially if you like nature. The Spoonbills are really fascinating.

You cannot go wrong with the all inclusive and do have a glass of Port - lush. The bar people who double up in the restaurant are real characters and we met some super guests whilst having a drink or two. We did go to the first bar along the front (think it was called the Marina) and on that Saturday evening there was an Irish lad (Gary) singing from around 5.30 pm. It was obviously popular with the locals and had a great atmosphere but you soon realised why you chose A.I.

There would be enough to do if you have younger kids that like the pool/beach but probably not enough for teenagers.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay and because we were only there for 7 nights we are thinking of going back in the Autumn to see some more of the area.

Definitely value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Buzzyvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    13
    6
    2
    7
See reviews for
12
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We booked to Golden Clube in Cabanas last January, based on the photos on the hotel's website, which matched those on our tour operator's, and were looking forward to our 10-day holiday in August 2011.
However, when we got to the hotel, the room we were allocated was a far cry from the lovely modern photographs on the websites that had helped us choose this particular hotel. We were given a room in one of the older blocks, beside the roundabout as you enter the complex. The hotel had been built about 40 years ago, and this block looked as if it had never been updated since then. Our room, on the ground floor of Block C, was not fit for habitation, and we complained at the hotel's reception desk.
The reception staff informed us that there are two levels of accommodation at the hotel. The photographs on the hotel website show "Sunset" or superior rooms, and are in the newer part of the hotel built about 10 years ago, furthest away from the roundabout. The rest of the hotel has "Standard" rooms, but even those vary greatly in standard of accommodation. We were lucky, and were eventually moved to a different room in the main block, which was a huge improvement as it was clean and fresh-smelling, even though it was still a "Standard" room. Other people in our block who also complained during our stay were not as lucky as we were.
The hotel generally was adequate (if a little average and tired) for a busy 3-star hotel, although some of the public toilet facilities were out of order during our stay. The food was fine if somewhat monotonous, and the evening entertainment was what we had expected. Gordon, the events manager, was very helpful organising a special boat-trip for us and the hotel staff and entertainment staff in general were pleasant. The beach was nice, and was only a boat-ride and a short walk away from the hotel.
However, if you do decide to book the Golden Clube in Cabanas, be very careful that you know in advance what you are booking. Don't be misled (as we were) by the glamorous photographs on the hotel's website, unless you are positive you are booking the "Sunset" level of accommodation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main block of the hotel if you aren't in a superior "Sunset" roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cailin_alainn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tavira hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

We stayed in a private apartment in the Golden Club for 2 weeks from July - August 2011, the apartment was in the newer part, very modern, well equipped and perfect location. The facilities in the Golden Club were ideal for families with young children, the entertainment staff were exceptionally good with my kids. We went with the intention of eating out at night and sampling the local cuisine and were not disappointed, it wasn't too expensive to eat out and although we visited a few different places, Marina Snack Bar was our favourite, my son of 6 yrs old loved the swordfish on the kids menu (beats chicken nuggets anyday!!), we also made a point of going there when Gary, the Irish singer was there, he was fantastic and brought a great atmosphere to Marina. We also made a point of seeing the shows laid on by the Golden Club entertainment some of the nights, which the kids loved, at the end of the show they had a mini disco and got all the kids up to dance. We will certainly go back in 2012.

Room Tip: Book a private apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

i have just returned from a week all inclusive holiday at the golden clube it was a lovely calm relaxing holiday the food was nice with a wide variety of fresh salads boiled potatoes chips and two choices of fish or meat , even if you are a fussy eater there is something you can eat. the drinks are good served from 10 am till 11pm each day , there are 3 pools 2 outside and 1 indoor with sauna steam rooms and jacquzzii you have to wear a swimming cap in the indoor pool at a cost of 2.80 euros so if you can get one cheaper buy it before you go !! hotel room was lovely and clean maid service was excellent with clean towels and beds made most days. hotel staff were friendly and helpful i would definitely return to this hotel, after reading some reviews i was dreading going there but it is lovely dont forget its 3 star not 5 .

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 134kimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

be very carefull how you book this hotel as i thought i was booking it all inclusive for xmass and new year 2011 only to find out it wasnt the case we actually booked one of the appartments at the golden club self catering then they wanted a further 700 euros to upgrade us to all in however from talking to other guest who had booked it we got away lightly as the food was apperantly bad.Also please note that the hotel is located in cabanas and there is nothing there in winter and is also miles away from anywere Tavira is the biggest place near there and was also very dead pubs empty restarunts closed no excursions we left and returned home after 3 days so just like to thank michelle who told us it was all inclusive for a reall bad xmass and new year

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve_steve362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

Hi to all

We went to the hotel cabanas on 05/12/2011.

the food was self service , not lots of choice for main course , and breakfast was beans scrabbled egg and tined sausage, and cereal. very basic .but acceptable.

we did not expect Munch happening as it was December, but there was no entertainment at all in the evening, just sat and played cards.

all the shops on the sea front had closed except supermarkets and a few cafes

in the hotel nearly all the information was in German ,but saying that the reception staff are very helpful but did not speak very good English

we were there for a week, there were other groups which came for 3 to 4 days brake, as it was all inclusive , they basically were drunk from the time they came til the time the left.

if you can hold your drink that's fine, but unfortunately it caused a fight in the bar and a lot of swearing, at one time we all at two go into another room until the fitting calmed down.

its a shame the staff are very nice and help full.

on the good side , the salad was fresh and the room was clean, and the beds was relay comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank neil r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Had a lovely stay at this large but low key complex. Really friendly helpful staff, nice atmosphere, excellent facilities (2 outdoor pools, 1 indoor pool - swimming cap obligatory so take one or pay a one off 2.50 to buy one there, entertainment finished now as end of season, exercise classes, gym, sauna, tennis courts, volleyball, table tennis, small kids climbing wall, kids club now closed as end of season, free boat transfer over to nearby island for beautiful deserted beach, 2 bars - one now closed as end of season). The food was great. Huge array of good quality help yourself style food, only one or 2 things we didn't like which is to be expected and is a matter of personal taste. Rooms were very comfortable and well furnished and equipped. Needs a little updating here and there but really excellent value for money. Would recommend all inclusive as making good money sense. You don't need to eat all your meals there if you don't want to but we saved tons of money by not being forced out onto the streets every time you want a meal and not having to shell out for every drink and cup of coffee. Train (station 2km away), bus (outside hotel - infrequent at weekends), or Taxi (18 euros), or water taxi (around 20 euros) into Tavira. Or hire bicycles from the hotel and ride the back road in. Hotel 7km away from Tavira in a town called Cabanas. Nice enough little town, not tons to do there. Would recommend hiring a car to explore the area - hotel can arrange for you. Hotel also organise various excursions. Nice mix of families, older people, couples. Not rowdy or trashy. Expect a nice relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: No sea views due to the orientation of the landscape. Pool view nice, partial sea views available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ellywild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavira
0.0 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#11 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atismar
Hotel Atismar
#42 of 49 in Quarteira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#3 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Luna Clube Brisamar
Luna Clube Brisamar
#20 of 26 in Alvor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.0 mi away
Monica Isabel Beach Club
Monica Isabel Beach Club
#130 of 162 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,614 reviews
0.0 mi away
Varandas de Albufeira
Varandas de Albufeira
#144 of 162 in Albufeira
3.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PrimaSol Golden Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PrimaSol Golden Club

Property: PrimaSol Golden Club
Address: Tavira 8800-591, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 241
Also Known As:
Primasol Golden Club Hotel Tavira
PrimaSol Golden Club Tavira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing