We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, service and hospitality all 5 star.”

Residencial Imperial
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residencial Imperial
Ranked #21 of 28 Tavira B&B and Inns
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Location, service and hospitality all 5 star.”
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I've stayed here once in the 1980s and again twice in recent times, the latest visit my first foreign holiday with my teenage daughters and it only gets better and better.

The place is spotlessly clean and very well maintained thanks to the constant attention of its family owners. Another charming feature is the trapezoidal footprint of nearly all the Imperial's rooms, there's barely a right angle in the entire building!

Great location and very easy to find as it's right opposite the military bridge on the north side of the river. For non-drivers it's a good walk from the station but being right in the centre of old Tavira there are plenty of shops, restaurants and cultural attractions all around, not least the twice weekly (Thurs and Sun) screenings at the almost adjacent Teatro Antonio Pinheiro (http://www.cineclube-tavira.com).

WiFi, TV, aircon all standard, breakfast included. A real jewel in the crown of the Algarve.

Room Tip: There are a couple of rooms overlooking the Jardim. NIce views but possibly a little raucous as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    33
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
13
53
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2012 via mobile

Tavira is lovely, and I thoroughly recommend staying at the Residencial Imperial. It starts with the location, overlooking to river and charming ornamental garden along the bankside with its palm trees. Breakfast is taken in a sweet dining room decorated with traditional local tiles and overlooking the river.

Below the hotel is a string of affordable pavement cafes and restaurants for traditional Portuguese dishes. We are a couple of hundred metres from the jetty so the fish could not be any fresher. Catering for visitors, menus usually come in several languages including English. The nearby jetty is also the departure point for the ferry to the island beach and for boat trips further afield to the Formosa natural park and bird sanctuary.

The guest house itself is excellent, starting with a warm welcome and wonderful service from the charming family that runs the place. Nothing is too much trouble. For a solo traveller like me this is not just accommodation, this is being looked after. They even understand my demands for a vegetarian breakfast.

The accommodation itself is affordable, always clean and tidy and everything works - ensuite shower, TV, air con, and the free wifi available in the public parts of the building. No wifi in the room unfortunately, but its range does extend to the pavement cafe below, which is handy!

Finally a last benefit for both homesick Brits and vegetarians. A short walk across the bridge over the river are an English pub (fry ups, TV footie, English comversation), two excellent Indian restaurants (I marginally prefer the Punjab to the Kohinoor), and a Chinese. Don't mock! For vegetarians that amounts to welcome alternatives to omelettes, pizzas and salads!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

A lovely B&B run by a nice old portuguese couple. The rooms have TV & air-con and en-suite. The room I stayed in was very quiet and peaceful. The cleanliness was second to non and the service amazing. I'd go back in heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilaanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We arrived late in the day and, having looked at a couple of other sterile looking places in Tavira, thought we would see what the Imperial could offer. Because of its location on the main atmospheric square by the fish market and the fact its a lovely old building we assumed it would be really expensive, and were nicely surprised to be offered a choice of rooms at a below advertised price which also had breakfast included. The room we were in was a good size, nicely furnished with traditional furniture and had a good size en suite. The room and all other areas of the place were spotlessly clean. Breakfast was served in a rather old fashioned front room, a bit like the one your gran used to have, but was generous and had (unusually!) rather good coffee and fresh juice. The old lady who runs the place is extremely friendly and helpful and really makes you feel at home (which it clearly is) whilst giving you space so you don't feel like you're intruding on her family as it can sometimes seem like in this type of B&B. The only downside was that the bed was a little hard and the B&B being on the square meant that it was a little noisy you left the window open at night, but not that bad. Having said that the room included air conditioning (not that we needed it in May). So all in all we really enjoyed our stay and will definitely go back. Tavira is without doubt the prettiest and most over looked town on the Algarve- thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SheffieldShuggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Twice every year I travel alone, and I travel light on a budget. I have just returned from 4 nights staying at the Hotel Residential Imperial in Tavira. The hotel was spotlessly clean, the owners were lovely people - pleasant and helpful, and my spacious ensuite bedroom overlooking the river cost me 25 euros per night, with an extra 4 euros for a modest breakfast. Only one minus - my bed had rather a hard matress, but since my sleeping pattern is atrocious normal sleepers can disregard this comment.
Tavira is a charming, historic, and picturesque town - as yet undiscovered by mass tourism, but with river walks, a castle, and a varied selection of hotels and excellent restaurants it is only a matter of time before Tavira becomes a commercial destination. Tavira is also an ideal base for discovering the Algarve.
No need to hire a car - the train station is one mile from Tavira's centre, and a regular train service takes you the full length of the Algarve from Lagos to Santo Antonio on the Spanish border. A word of warning - night life consists of local bars and restaurants which are very very quiet in November. I walked an average of 7/10 miles per day, eat excellent fresh fish in well priced local restaurants (an affordable pleasure), and was back in my hotel and in bed by 10 pm most evenings.
Restaurants I can recommend (especially the latter two for fresh fish) are -
Bica Restaurant Tavira
A Bote Restaurant Olhao
Fim do Mundo Faro
My November weather was warm and Sunny during the day; two showery mornings, but quite chilly on an evening. The best time to visit Tavira is early October. I will certainly go back and stay at Hotel Imperial which I think is superb value for money, and occupies the second best position in Tavira.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank deegeestorywriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavira hotels
0.1 mi away
Residencial Mares
Residencial Mares
#10 of 15 in Tavira
189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maria Nova Lounge Hotel
0.2 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#8 of 15 in Tavira
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pousada Convento Tavira
0.6 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#11 of 15 in Tavira
111 reviews
1.3 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#4 of 15 in Tavira
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Imperial

Property: Residencial Imperial
Address: Rua Jose Pires Padinha 24, Tavira 8800-354, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Tavira, overlooking the River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Residencial Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Imperial Tavira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing