We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly oasis in Tavira”
Review of Quinta do Caracol

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quinta do Caracol
Ranked #6 of 28 Tavira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Friendly oasis in Tavira”
Reviewed 21 May 2009

This converted farmhouse has lots of character, beautiful gardens with fountains, and great rooms, most with kitchens or kitchenettes. It's well-managed by two sisters. This place is a particularly good choice if you have a few days and are getting tired of eating in restaurants all the time.

The kitchens are modern and well stocked with dishes and cooking utensils. You can walk in 5 minutes to a grocery store, as well as to a wonderful takeout barbque place.

Cooking our own meals and eating outside on the private picnic table with a class of wine was great.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    26
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
33
62
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mapua, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2009

We cannot speak highly enough of Quinta do Caracol. It is in a beautiful setting. The 2 sisters who run it are very friendly and helpful. Our room was lovely, spacious and comfortable with the added bonus of a kitchenette. The hotel is well placed for exploring Tavira on foot. We would love to return here.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2009

I had read about this property online before leaving on our trip. We weren't sure whether we'd be visiting Tavira. When we ended up going there I looked it up on my Blackberry & just showed up hoping for a room - luckily they had a couple available.
This very old property has been very lovingly & tastefully restored by 2 sisters who inherited it from their father. In Portugal they call it Montes, but if you've traveled in Latin America you might think of these as Casitas. They are sort of like suites, with a bedroom & a sort of living/dining/kitchen combination. The courtyard is full of fruit trees & flowers.
They include a very nice breakfast, the highlight of which was tangerine juice freshly squeezed from home picked fruit!
Tavira's a nice little village & this is an easy walk from the center.

  • Liked — Fresh tangerine juice, warm atmosphere
  • Disliked — Rock hard mattress
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2008

Our room was cosy and the gardens were beautiful. All in all this was exactly the holiday we were expecting. The owners organised our transfers which were hassle free and when we arrived gave us a map and talked us through which restaurants to avoid, how to walk into town, nearest supermarkets and how to get to the two nearest beaches. Anything we asked for was no trouble. The location was great for walking into town night or day. By day we either got a bus from the bus station and then on a mini train to the beach at Barras or we walked down a quite long road and got the ferry to beach at Tavira...we also got a taxi a few times when we were feeling lazy - the first time we got a taxi the owners called it for us and then the driver gave us his card so we could just phone him whenever we needed. Both beaches were beautiful with a good choice of places to eat or drink and adequate toilet/shower facilities. Fortunately we were there when it's a bit quieter. I suspect the queues for either the train or ferry are very busy during peak season, as well as the restaurants on the beaches. At night we crossed the pedestrian bridge to the old side of town and found plenty of lovely restaurants down cobbled streets with good service and great food and wine. I would recommend this accomodation to anyone who wants somewhere with character and a laid back atmosphere. Tavira was a fantastic location with the best of both worlds - great beaches not too far away for the summer holiday feel but also a town within it's own right that retains it's character and has not an Irish Bar or Steakhouse in sight!

  • Liked — Character, gardens, location
  • Disliked — Some apartments only have shared outdoor seating but all areas quaint and beautiful
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2008

Incredible Oasi in the border of Tavira, it seems to stay in a Caribbean Resort.

Flowers, little swiming pool, frogs, tennis court, friendly staff.
Perfect for families with children and to have peaceful holidays.....

  • Liked — the place, and hosts
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2008

Stayed here with my girlfriend for 3 nights in April. Would definitely go back for a longer stay next time. We had a great appartment/room with a small kitchenette which was really handy when we arrived on a rainy evening (supermarket is 2 minutes away).

Very easy to find with plenty of parking and only a ten minute walk from the centre of Tavira. Plenty of restaurants to choose from - we particularly liked A Ver Tavira.

If you are heading to this part of the Algarve and don't need to be walking distance from a beach then I would really recommend Quinta do Caracol.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belgium
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2008

Our family of 4 stayed here for a few nights during a visit to the Algarve. We had no trouble finding the place or checking in. The accomodation itself is set on a former farm however it is NOW in the middle of the town of Tavira. Still it felt secluded enough and had beautiful grounds, ponds, fountains. We were shown to a family room with 3 sleeping areas and 2 bathrooms. It was delightfully decorated and was a lovely cottage. Our family spent a warm sunny morning goofing around on the tennis courts and swinging on the swings. Breakfast was served in a lovely room with a warm fireplace. It was very quaint and cozy. We had a car with us and Tavira made a great base for exploring the Algarve at that time of the year. We were able to walk into Tavira when we needed dinner. I highly recommend this special place.

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavira hotels
1.7 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#4 of 15 in Tavira
826 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#8 of 15 in Tavira
1,034 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#3 of 15 in Tavira
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pousada Convento Tavira
0.7 mi away
Maria Nova Lounge Hotel
2.7 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#6 of 15 in Tavira
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Quinta do Caracol

Property: Quinta do Caracol
Address: Rua Sao Pedro, Tavira 8800-405, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Quinta do Caracol 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quinta do Caracol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Do Caracol Tavira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing