We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Residencial Lagoas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residencial Lagoas
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Tavira
Tralee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed here for a week in late April and am already planning my return. For €20 a night I got a small room, wonderfully comfortable bed, a view over one of the two great roof terraces and a splendid view of the oldest part of town. I loved the distant hourly bong of the church clock and the view of the river from the terrace. Tavira is the most beautiful little town, I hired a bicycle and explored the Ria Formosa National Park at my leisure. My host at Lagoas was very helpful, I came and went as I pleased and I greatly enjoyed eating at Restaurante Bica downstairs, all their dishes are a delight, and very reasonably priced. I saw Phoenician and Templar ruins, visited Museums, swam and had the most relaxing holiday of my life. I recommend a trip to Ilha Deserta from Faro. Residencial Lagoas is now my home from home in Portugal

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruinTralee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    12
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
17
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Povoa de Varzim, Portugal
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

I got all that I expected and more from this lovely place in Tavira.
Best location in the center of the city.
Lovely staff. Always helpfull.
The terras is huge, you can put a lot of people toghether there. You can even get a tan if you wish, there's also an interesting bed there.. see my photos.
I stayed 5 days and I slept better than in my own bed.
I let my door unlocked most of the time and there was no problem in doing that.
Tavira is a crowded place during peak summer months, so there will always be a bit of noise, but that's normal during hollidays. It would be weird for me to go to a place where everybody goes to sleep at 10 PM. I guess this depends on ones habits. So no problem for me there.. at night I guess it was quiet enough to rest well.
Also, the restaurant near the hotel has some of the best prices in Tavira... just saying, to save you the trouble of searching for something cheap and good.

Room Tip: Only been there once, can't really say which room is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OviT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

Very good residence, beautiful terraces.
Very nice people
Rooms very clean and good service.
I highly recommend this hotel.You've got the opportunity to save some money. Hostel has two massive terraces - will definitely come back

Room Tip: Choose the residence Lagoas
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

Admittedly the place is a steal for a double bed room at €35 per night but you get what you pay for. Small cramped rooms with beds that could only have been designed by the Inquisition! Wifi access was poor and even with my iPad was only able to ever get a good signal if I went down one flight of steps to the tiny, cramped lobby. Well, that is if you do not mind sharing that tiny space with a member of the owner's family watching TV (loudly)! Broken shower that was reported immediately was still not fixed after a five day stay despite repeated requests to do so. Towels were not changed too often and those that were put back (ostensibly washed and cleaned) still looked a little grubby! This establishment is definitely more backpacker's terrain! Definitely going back to Tavira but NOT to this hotel!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Titus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

We stayed here for two nights, and both nights we did not get the sleep we needed. The bed felt like it was made from stone. Besides that, the small alley our roomwindow was on, contained a terras of the restaurant below and was noisy untill 2 o clock.

Pro's: Nice location
Good price
Very Nice roof terras
Frendly owners
WiFi in the room, free

Cons: The bed!!
The noise from the restaurant
Small room
Small shower

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dbroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Lovely hostel; very clean with cool and quirky furniture. spent here just a couple of days but it was well worth the price. it's right in the heart of little Tavira - highly recommend a bar on the corner in the 'main' square called Tavila - locals hanging out here who will show you where to go out in Tavira :) the hostel has two massive terraces - will definitely come back

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank izulejka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2009

I really liked this residencial. The residencial is located in an area that has many quaint cafes and bars. Not just tourist places either. Maria, who runs the place is very nice and helpful. It had a communal refrigerator, place to do your laundry, and a small table on the roof to enjoy a pizza. If your looking for a hotel that isn't a replica of a Holiday Inn, this will fit the bill. Don't let the cheap price deter you, they have very nice rooms. The outside doesn't do the place justice. Restaurant Bica next door to the hotel was very good too, lots of locals enjoying their meals. I highly recommend this hotel. You've got the opportunity to save some money and still stay in a nice family run hotel, in the center of town. We only stayed one night in Tavira, but I wished we would have stayed at least one more. Tavira has a different feel than many of the other Algarve towns. The town just doesn't cater to tourists. Luvmesometravel's review is right on. We had a car and were able to park for free on the street about a block away. Many parking spots available, should have no trouble at all.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank JerryMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavira hotels
0.6 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#11 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
0.4 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#5 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#2 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#4 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residencial Mares
Residencial Mares
#10 of 15 in Tavira
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Lagoas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Lagoas

Property: Residencial Lagoas
Address: Rua Almirante Candido dos Reis, 24, Tavira 8800-318, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Tavira, Lagoas guest house offers simply decorated rooms and free WiFi access. It is less than 5 minutes' walking from the Roman bridge over Sequa River. All rooms have access to a terrace, and some feature a private bathroom. They are all heated and include bedside tables and lamps. The surrounding area is filled with restaurants and dining options. Guests wishing to explore further the area can walk 15 minutes to the Gran Plaza shopping centre and enjoy the variety of shops and food court. Lagoas is a 10-minute walk from Tavira Train Station, and the ferry to Tavira Island is 2 km away. The historic centre offers quaint cobbled streets and hidden fish restaurants serving fresh fish dishes. Faro city is 33 km through the EN125, and Olhao is 24 km away from Lagoas guest house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Residencial Lagoas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Lagoas Hotel Tavira
Residencial Lagoas Tavira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing