We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tavira
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Monte da Eira - Casa de Campo
Ranked #24 of 29 Tavira B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We really love this place, it is a calm relaxing oasis away from all stressful things. Jose and Christina are fabulous hosts and treat us more like friends than guests. We would recommend hiring a car to make the most of your stay, but Jose will always offer a pick up service from the airport , approximately 30mins away. We really would love to keep this wonderful place a secret but feel that Jose and Christina deserve to have their hard work rewarded in this review.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

The hospitality and generosity of jose and christina along with the fantastic facilities and location make monte de eira a truly memorable holiday and a place you want to return to. I can't recommend it more for a peaceful relaxing break. You will however need a vehicle to make the most out of your time here. The breakfast cooked every morning by Christine is beyond compare. Fresh fruit from the garden along with the most amazing freshly squeezed orange juice sets you up for the entire day! Santo estevao village is a small quiet Portuguese village and is very friendly. There is one walkable restaurant. I can't recommend this destination more. If it was a hotel it would be 5*. The pool is by far the cleanest i have ever seen. There is nothing in my opinion Jose and Christina could do better. There are no children facilities apart from the ability to play in beautiful natural surroundings and see the resident wildlife and Jose and Christina's geese who wander openly around. There is no droppings left as Jose has a geese scooper in his back pocket I think as they are picked up that quickly!

Room Tip: All the rooms here are amazing. Clean and spacious. All have haidryers and quality fittings. The roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ghostmktg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

My wife and I stayed here on 13 July for one night with our three children, their husbands and our five grandchildren. After a tiring flight and arriving very late we were given a warm welcome from Jose who runs this small guesthouse with the help of his wife Cristina and their son Raul. After settling the children down for the night all the adults had a nightcap with Jose and then had a very relaxing sleep. The facilities are better than most places we have stayed in in the UK with aircon, crisp clean sheets and monogrammed pillow cases and towels. Each room was spotlessly clean.
The next day we had a swim in the pool and then had a very tasty breakfast with limitless orange juice, coffee and tea. The views from the guesthouse are stunning as you can see for miles around Unfortunately after our breakfast we had to leave to go onto the villa we had rented for our 40th anniversary celebrations. However, we will definitely return. Jose and Cristina made us feel very welcome and are the perfect hosts

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have a fridge, kettle and microwave
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Watson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

This is the most beautiful location for a peaceful, 'away from it all' holiday. Jose and Christina are perfect hosts, welcoming, friendly, helpful, relaxed and up for a late night drink and chat. They have created a little oasis here, with classy high quality accomodation (large rooms with air-con, little kitchenette area) gerat pool area with pleanty of sunbeds, space, and little seating areas and the most beautiful covered breakfast area. Lovely selection of fresh good quality food for a lazy breakfast.Cute little village nearby with adaquate shops though big supermarkets in tavira are cheaper if you have a car. Good restaurant in village and many other good ones in surrounding area and Tavira. The fish restaurant (ask jose for directions) is a must...fantastic. Lovely beaches locally.

Room Tip: All the rooms are tastefully furnished. We had a room away from the pool area which we liked as it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NMoore751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We ended up here by a lucky mistake. It is about 6km from Tavira; near enough to reach easily (if you really must) yet far enough away to be in your own dream. No mosquitos, a lovely breeze, great beds, large rooms, air-con, fresh eggs for breakfast, an accommodating host who will drink with you till dawn if you like!! A local village with a shop and (modest) bar. Jose and Cristina have got everything right for the romantic, middle aged / older couple and or young family except for the name of their business. It can be found at monte-da-eira.com. This is too similar to the (not to be confused) apartments of the same name in town - no comparison. THIS IS A HIDDEN GEM.

Room Tip: All rooms are great - and family suites are spot on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Arthurlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
84
Reviewed 24 August 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavira hotels
3.6 mi away
Pedras da Rainha
Pedras da Rainha
#1 of 2 in Cabanas
266 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pousada Convento Tavira
1 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#6 of 15 in Tavira
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#12 of 15 in Tavira
121 reviews
3.4 mi away
Golden Club Cabanas
Golden Club Cabanas
#1 of 6 in Cabanas
899 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pousada de Juventude de Tavira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte da Eira - Casa de Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte da Eira - Casa de Campo

Address: Rua Santo Estevao, Tavira 8800-386, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Tavira
Also Known As:
Monte Da Eira - Casa De Campo Tavira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing