We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service with a smile” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tavira House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tavira House
Ranked #3 of 30 Tavira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service with a smile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Stayed 6th-9th Oct 2011. Recently opened hotel. Everything new and extremely high spec. Absolutely wonderfully restored. Lounge an absolute gem, so is dining room. Rooftop terrace wonderful. Got free welcome drink. I brought a bottle of Champagne for my birthday and they cooled and corked it for free and added nibbles despite of the fact they wee selling it, too and I had requested for them to charge me. Breakfast is continental, but very select and high quality with ample choices. Right in the historic old town centre and close to everything. We will definitely go again. P.s.: If you want to go not a posh nursing home, choose the Pousada instead.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaThKi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    28
    12
    0
    4
See reviews for
14
109
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
WILMSLOW
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Superb breakfast would put some 5* properties to shame!
Good attention to detail

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ufgboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Our two nights at Tavira House were a delight. We chose the hotel as we love to stay in independent places and it looked pretty smart in the photo's. I have to say that it totally exceeded our expectations, very smart, stylish and spotless.
We were in the Buganvilia room at the front of the hotel, it's a really big room and I loved being able to open up the balcony at the start and end of day. The road is really quiet so it's very peaceful. I was a big fan of the walk in shower and the breakfast was pretty good too. All in all a cracking find!
Tavira itself is a really nice little town, not too touristy so you leave feeling that you've absorbed the local culture and vibe. A leisurely morning coffee by the river is a must and if your up for a drive for dinner Mesa Do Cume was a great find with stunning views.
We had a lovely couple of days, we'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

My first review but could not let our time at this beautifully restored and designed boutique styled hotel go by without a word or two. Tavira House is set centrally within Tavira town and has been lovingly restored to a very high standard. The staff were friendly and helpful giving us lots of information and the beautiful breakfast on the sun terrace was a great way to start the day. The bedroom was just stunning (stayed in the Geranium suite) with separate living area there was even a private sitting area on the roof terrace plus a mezzanine bedroom. We stayed there in 3rd week of August and hope very much to return again next year.


DD

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DottyDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

This was great. A beautiful old house restored very stylishly and comfortably. Our room was quiet and spacious and if we felt like it we could jump out of bed into the claw foot bath a few feet away. Bathroom was also very well equipped. There is a plunge pool and roof terrace for evening drinks. We breakfasted on fresh figs and pastries before strolling into the town to catch the boat to the beach. You might want to be aware there is no air conditioning in the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulab011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martin4751, Owner at Tavira House, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Hi Paula - many thanks for all of your feedback. We're really pleased that, as one of our very first guests, you had a great stay. Just by way of an update, we've managed to persuade the local Camara (council) to allow us to put aircon into all of the bedrooms - which is great. Previously they had refused due to the listed status of the building but customer power has shifted their stance! Thanks again. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavira hotels
0.1 mi away
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
0.4 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#5 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#4 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#2 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#11 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
5.6 mi away
Herdade da Corte
Herdade da Corte
#6 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tavira House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavira House

Property: Tavira House
Address: Rua Doutor Miguel Bombarda 47 51, Tavira 8800-419, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tavira House is a lovingly restored, 160 year old, boutique town house hotel. Situated in the heart of the Eastern Algarve’s most picturesque town, Tavira, this charming and unique bed and breakfast brings together a traditional Moorish flavour with a contemporary interior design.The house features 9 individually styled bedrooms, a ballroom lounge, dining room, residents bar, plunge pool and roof garden, all reflecting the hotel’s sophisticated chic design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tavira House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tavira House Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing