We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond all expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tavira House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tavira House
Ranked #3 of 30 Tavira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beyond all expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

I found this lovely hidden gym on the Internet, and as it looked lovely..we booked this hotel. Upon arrival, we were so pleasantly surprised to find a staff that went beyond helpful to get us settled in to our charming suite. The accommodations were clean, comfortable and inviting. The renovations of this very old building into a fabulous bed and breakfast are amazing. I loved the eclectic furnishings and designs throughout The Tavira house.
The location is wonderful, Tavira House is nestled into the centre of what is now one of my favorite towns ever! The staff helped us with walks to all of our daily adventures, catching boats and trains to nearby towns. But, I was always happy to return home to Tavira House where I was treated like family. Serge and Fred were the absolute best host. Breakfast was beautiful and fresh, as were the daily flowers placed throughout the House. Wonderful evenings, beginning with Serge's signature drink and ending with star gazing on the rooftop deck as the night slipped past. I cannot give this locating a better rating...than " beyond". I will certainly return.

Room Tip: We took the top suite, they were all unique and charming...but I loved the private entrance to the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank d w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    29
    12
    0
    4
See reviews for
14
112
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Faro District, Portugal
Level Contributor
118 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

A casual boutique hotel, hidden in a small street and only 5 minutes from Tavira center and the river. Staff goes beyond the extra mile and everything is done to create a relax atmosphere. Rooms are stylishly decorated and many of the old elements of the house remain. Limited but complete breakfast (buffet) with outdoors seating.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belgtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martin4751, Owner at Tavira House, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Hi Belgtravel! Many thanks for taking the time to post comments to TA and for your kind words. We hope to see you again one day soon! Regards Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

By far and away the best Hotel / B&B I have stayed in, in the Med area. Nothing is too much trouble for either Serg or Freddie. The decoration is first class and all the rooms were done to a standard I could only dream of doing at home. It has such a homely feel, which makes you feel like you are at home rather than in a hotel. Cannot recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martin4751, Owner at Tavira House, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Hi Gavin, many thanks for your kind comments and taking the time to post to TA. We really do strive to be the best and in doing so, make the hotel feel like a home from home. Thanks again and we hope to see you again one day soon. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012 via mobile

I shouldnt write this review because i might not get a room when when my wife and i come back and we will certainly b back,but i promised freddi i would write 1 so here we go. First of all the staff at tavira r a breath of fresh air nothing is any bother 2 either freddi or serg. We were greeted when we arrived by Serge with a very welcoming glass of bubbly after being picked up at the airport organized by the hotel for a very minimum fee.these 2 men r also so knowledgable of the tavira area recomending restaurants and sites to see also gave us train times as we did not have a car. 5 minutes station and 5 minutes 2 centre of town and all the lovely eating places. now the rooms it does not matter what room u get here they r all beautiful and i know as i was shown all the other 8 room and Kerrys i for fine things is spot on,Kerri is the english owner who has painstakingly put this fabulous place together over the past 7 years.if u just want to read a book in the magnificent lounge (the ceiling is a work of art)or just laze about on the comfy sun beds. on the roof terrace u will not b dissapoited this is a fabulous small intimate hotel. breakfast is also included in the rate and this is very welcoming in the morning 2set u up for ur day fresh fruit salad cheeses hams local pastries yogarts breads coffee and of course not forgeting Serges home made pudding wich i couldent resist every morning. though the weather wasnt 2 kind to us we had a lovely stay at tavira house and will definitly be back so. if u are going to tavira use this hotel u will not b dissapointed.so all the best 2 Kerry Freddi amigo Serge and the 2 lovely ladies who always had a smile on there faces sorry i. forgot their names)in the coming months

All the best John and Irene Sim

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bradleyaberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faro, Faro, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Everything at Tavira House was a Gem...
My wife and i got a nice glass of champagne at arrival.
Staff at perfection with a smile and very efficient, Serge and Fred went above and beyond...
Outstanding decor of rooms and public areas.
Tavira House is 5 *****
Shall be back for sure and shall recommend to all my friends and family.

Room Tip: We stayed in Buganvillia, alot of space, beautiful interior and lovely double shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sónia Alexandra... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martin4751, Owner at Tavira House, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Hi Sonia. Thanks so much for your review - its very much appreciated. We'd love it if you could recommend us on to your friends and we hope to see you back one day soon. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

From start to finish this establishment was a class act. Serg greeted us with champagne and set the tone for the rest of the stay. He appeared to be ever present and was extremely helpful with suggestions for restaurants which proved to be real gems, he even prepared a takeaway breakfast for us as we were leaving early! Loved the decor, attention to detail was excellent, comfortable and stylish. This property is lovingly restored with a suberb eye for design and a real treat to stay in. Breakfast was another unexpected treat. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: We were in the Bouganville and loved it. Double shower, Window onto the street and high ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Westendrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martin4751, Owner at Tavira House, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Hi Westendrocker - many thanks for your review. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay at Tavira House. I've passed on your comments to Serge - he'll be really pleased! Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Stayed 6th-9th Oct 2011. Recently opened hotel. Everything new and extremely high spec. Absolutely wonderfully restored. Lounge an absolute gem, so is dining room. Rooftop terrace wonderful. Got free welcome drink. I brought a bottle of Champagne for my birthday and they cooled and corked it for free and added nibbles despite of the fact they wee selling it, too and I had requested for them to charge me. Breakfast is continental, but very select and high quality with ample choices. Right in the historic old town centre and close to everything. We will definitely go again. P.s.: If you want to go not a posh nursing home, choose the Pousada instead.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaThKi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavira hotels
0.1 mi away
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
2.0 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#3 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#6 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#2 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#11 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
5.6 mi away
Herdade da Corte
Herdade da Corte
#7 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tavira House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavira House

Property: Tavira House
Address: Rua Doutor Miguel Bombarda 47 51, Tavira 8800-419, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tavira House is a lovingly restored, 160 year old, boutique town house hotel. Situated in the heart of the Eastern Algarve’s most picturesque town, Tavira, this charming and unique bed and breakfast brings together a traditional Moorish flavour with a contemporary interior design.The house features 9 individually styled bedrooms, a ballroom lounge, dining room, residents bar, plunge pool and roof garden, all reflecting the hotel’s sophisticated chic design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tavira House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tavira House Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing