We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect. So glad I found it.”
Review of Tavira House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tavira House
Ranked #3 of 28 Tavira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect. So glad I found it.”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Arrived in Tavira, not knowing where I was going to stay. When I asked a woman on her bike for directions to another hotel I had heard about, she said "Or, you could try the boutique hotel around the corner." So glad I did. Beautiful place, both the room and the common areas. Tranquil roof terrace. Delicious simple breakfast, included. The hosts, Serge and Fred, spoke perfect English and were very gracious and helpful. Hope to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank everywhere517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    30
    12
    0
    4
See reviews for
14
113
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2012

My fiance and I had a really lovely stay at Tavira House. It was a beautifully renovated mansion and very modern. The hosts Fred and Serge were amazing. They were so wonderful to interact with and they were always willing to go above and beyond to help with suggestions. We really enjoyed them! The rooms were gorgeous and modern and it was very quiet when we were there, so we both slept well. They also have two beautiful terraces. There's one on the mezzanine where they often serve a really nice breakfast if it's nice, and there's one on the rooftop. We were surprised that we were the only ones to take advantage of that amazing space. It was sunny with lovely lounge chairs and tables. We brought up a mini picnic of cheese with port and sat in the late afternoon sun and lounged. Serge didn't see that we had brought cheese of our own, so he brought some up for us. Fred and Serge are top notch in their hospitality! We couldn't have been happier. We wanted to extend our stay there, but we already had plans to go to Lisbon. At least we know where we will stay when we come back. Thank you Serge and Fred for your wonderful hospitality!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pace515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012 via mobile

This hotel was perfect for us. Right in the town and only few minutes away from the square and roman bridge. Room was stunning and hotel felt like our own as only a few other guests. Although only 9 bedrooms so sure it never feels full.
The service from Serge and Fred was excellent, so helpful with local info and where to eat, where to avoid etc. nothing too much trouble. Gave us a cool bag and parasol when we mentioned we were visiting the beach. Small thoughtful touches like lavender on the bedside and lovely fresh flowers and fruit! Spent couple of evenings up on roof terrace watching the stars. Gorgeous!
Loved everthing about this hotel. They were extremely helpful with a special request i had and just excellent. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrsmunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2012

A party of 9 of us recently visited the hotel and we all had a fantastic time there.
We had the most wonderful, relaxing breakfast sat on the terrace being looked after by
Serge and Freddie.
All the rooms are to the highest standard, the location could not be better, very near the centre but very secluded.
We look forward to our next visit.

David K

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 112DAVID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I found this lovely hidden gym on the Internet, and as it looked lovely..we booked this hotel. Upon arrival, we were so pleasantly surprised to find a staff that went beyond helpful to get us settled in to our charming suite. The accommodations were clean, comfortable and inviting. The renovations of this very old building into a fabulous bed and breakfast are amazing. I loved the eclectic furnishings and designs throughout The Tavira house.
The location is wonderful, Tavira House is nestled into the centre of what is now one of my favorite towns ever! The staff helped us with walks to all of our daily adventures, catching boats and trains to nearby towns. But, I was always happy to return home to Tavira House where I was treated like family. Serge and Fred were the absolute best host. Breakfast was beautiful and fresh, as were the daily flowers placed throughout the House. Wonderful evenings, beginning with Serge's signature drink and ending with star gazing on the rooftop deck as the night slipped past. I cannot give this locating a better rating...than " beyond". I will certainly return.

Room Tip: We took the top suite, they were all unique and charming...but I loved the private entrance to the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank d w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faro District, Portugal
Level Contributor
118 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

A casual boutique hotel, hidden in a small street and only 5 minutes from Tavira center and the river. Staff goes beyond the extra mile and everything is done to create a relax atmosphere. Rooms are stylishly decorated and many of the old elements of the house remain. Limited but complete breakfast (buffet) with outdoors seating.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belgtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martin4751, Owner at Tavira House, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Hi Belgtravel! Many thanks for taking the time to post comments to TA and for your kind words. We hope to see you again one day soon! Regards Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

By far and away the best Hotel / B&B I have stayed in, in the Med area. Nothing is too much trouble for either Serg or Freddie. The decoration is first class and all the rooms were done to a standard I could only dream of doing at home. It has such a homely feel, which makes you feel like you are at home rather than in a hotel. Cannot recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martin4751, Owner at Tavira House, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Hi Gavin, many thanks for your kind comments and taking the time to post to TA. We really do strive to be the best and in doing so, make the hotel feel like a home from home. Thanks again and we hope to see you again one day soon. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavira hotels
0.1 mi away
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
2.0 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#3 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#6 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#2 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#11 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
5.6 mi away
Herdade da Corte
Herdade da Corte
#7 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tavira House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavira House

Property: Tavira House
Address: Rua Doutor Miguel Bombarda 47 51, Tavira 8800-419, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tavira House is a lovingly restored, 160 year old, boutique town house hotel. Situated in the heart of the Eastern Algarve’s most picturesque town, Tavira, this charming and unique bed and breakfast brings together a traditional Moorish flavour with a contemporary interior design.The house features 9 individually styled bedrooms, a ballroom lounge, dining room, residents bar, plunge pool and roof garden, all reflecting the hotel’s sophisticated chic design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tavira House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tavira House Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing