We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Tavira House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tavira House
Ranked #3 of 29 Tavira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed in TH for the last week in June. It is a lovely boutique hotel with fantastic staff, Jo, Isobel, Mark and Hugo were all professional, polite and helpful. I cannot understand anyone finding fault with this place. Location is great and the drawing room is beautiful. Breakfast are super and nothing is too much trouble. Thank you all.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahJG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2013

Having read the positive reviews on Tripadvisor we decided to choose Tavira House for our 2 night stay in Tavira.
From the outside you wouldn't know there is a hotel - very low-key exterior, but open the front door and there is a feeling of calmness and luxury. We were given a complimentary glass of bubbly on arrival and shown to our lovely room with its cool modern interior and large king sized bed - simply, but tastefully decorated.
Breakfast was fab with a great choice of fruit, yoghurt, cereal, breads, pastry, cheeses and cold meats and freshly squeezed orange juice.
We used the sun beds on the roof terrace one afternoon, but found it too hot for enjoyable sun soaking and decided to go to the beach instead. If the hotel lacks anything it's a swimming pool- the plunge pool is small and down a flight of stairs from the sun terrace.
We loved our time staying here and would definitely recommend this hotel as a luxury base from which to explore Tavira.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor. All the rooms have beautiful modern decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woolif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in June 2013. It is beautifully decorated throughout and the owners have done a superb job of converting the house into a small hotel. We stayed in the Buganvilia room which is a superior room. It was a very large, light and airy room with a big bathroom with double shower. There were lots of little touches throughout the hotel, such as a welcome glass of champagne on arrival and fresh water and fruit placed in our room every day and evening. We also loved the roof terrace which was a great place to relax.

The staff, especially Jo, were very helpful and gave us lots of tips on things to do. Without Jo's suggestions, we wouldn't have known to take a trip over to Spain, via Vila Real de Santo Antonio, which turned out to be a great day. Jo even printed off train times for us. Another highlight of our stay was the free wine tasting evening with Serge on Friday night. This was fun, informative and a great way to mix with other guests over some local wines.

A couple of improvements could make the hotel even better - e.g. there wasn't much space to hang towels in the bathroom and the light on the air conditioning unit in the room was too bright so had to turn it off at night. These are relatively minor points though.

Overall a smashing little place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalesTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

This is a beautifully renovated house-hotel, retaining a lot of original character but with modern features.
We had a bright, airy room on the first floor with a french balcony decorated with flowering pots. The room was well appointed with a large, comfortable bed, plenty of wardrobe space, a small flat screen tv and a safe. Fresh fruit and water were provided daily. The large shower was rainforest style, hot and powerful, although the toiletries supplied were basic, which was the only cutback in an otherwise 5 star experience.
Breakfast was excellent, plenty of fresh fruit and pastries, with good tea and coffee.
The roof terrace had plenty of space and different seating options, with couches, loungers and armchairs. There were planters and flowerpots to create separate areas and shade available.
It's only a pleasant 5 minute walk to the riverbank/town centre, so it's conveniently located for restaurants and has a lovely lounge area for a drink in the evening.
The staff were accommodating and friendly, which added to the overall experience.
I enjoyed staying at Tavira House and would definitely return.
My only caution would be that given the nature of the property, there are a lot of stairs, so not very accessible for people with mobility issues.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank roscco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinNieri, Owner at Tavira House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Thank you so much for your very kind review, we very much appreciate it and we hope to see you again one day soon. PS: I agree the toiletries are not quite good enough and we will be getting a better quality product in very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Actually I shouldn't write this review for this small boutique hotel is a true hidden gem less then 5 minutes away from the city center, located in a quite and narrow street. You could easily miss this renovated building but once you enter it you'll be engulfed by warm hospitality and a tasteful interior design.
Staff is superb, very friendly and helpful. They made you feel welcome and at home. We even got a small tour of the entire hotel. It includes a roof terrace, a small pool to cool down, a middle terrace where you can have breakfast (which is varied and of good quality: bread, fruit, yogurt, fresh orange juice, pastry etc.). The room was super: clean, spacious with a comfortable bed. Wifi worked perfectly.
In short: this hotel was the perfect spot for our romantic trip and we will certainly visit again.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, just visit their website and choose one you like. But remember, they only have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smaragd01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinNieri, Owner at Tavira House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review and we are just really pleased that you did decide to tell a few people on Tripadvisor rather than keep it to yourself! We really hope to see you again at Tavira House one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I like Rick Steve's a lot, but his hotel Rec's are a bit on the scimpy/cheap side for my wife. We found the perfect solution through Trip Advisor in Tavira, Portugal. Tavira House is a great location and better than the options Rick offers for Tavira, Portugal. It is at most a 3 minute walk to the river and main square...just far enough away to keep all the rift raff away from your hotel. The hotel/B&B is chic chic nice....very elegant but not old fashioned. The breakfast is superb, and Joe is the nicest hostess possible. I rate Tavira House a 5 and I don't give away 5's gratuitously; Tavira House really is special! Jon Lowrey

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank JKL0802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martin4751, Owner at Tavira House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Many thanks for your review, Jo will be really pleased with your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Wished we could have stayed longer! Loved the little town of Tavira and our room at the Tavira House. Staff was very helpful, directing us to free parking, where to catch boat to the beach on the island, and suggesting places to eat. Had we known how wonderful Tavira was, we would have stayed a week instead of two nights. Great little downtown with many choices for outdoor dining.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pfefmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
martin4751, Owner at Tavira House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Many thanks for your positive review. We are really pleased that we were able to help you make the most of your short stay in Tavira and it was just a shame you couldn't stay longer. Perhaps next time...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavira hotels
0.1 mi away
Pousada Convento Tavira
0.5 mi away
Maria Nova Lounge Hotel
1.4 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#3 of 15 in Tavira
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residencial Mares
Residencial Mares
#10 of 15 in Tavira
208 reviews
2 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#5 of 15 in Tavira
400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#6 of 15 in Tavira
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tavira House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavira House

Address: Rua Doutor Miguel Bombarda 47 51, Tavira 8800-419, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Tavira
Price Range: £26 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tavira House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tavira House is a lovingly restored, 160 year old, boutique town house hotel. Situated in the heart of the Eastern Algarve’s most picturesque town, Tavira, this charming and unique bed and breakfast brings together a traditional Moorish flavour with a contemporary interior design.The house features 9 individually styled bedrooms, a ballroom lounge, dining room, residents bar, plunge pool and roof garden, all reflecting the hotel’s sophisticated chic design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tavira House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tavira House Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing