We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Old House in a great Location - not to be missed”
Review of Tavira House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tavira House
Ranked #3 of 28 Tavira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely Old House in a great Location - not to be missed”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We had not been to Portugal for 30 years so this was a new experiance for us. We arrived in late September and stayed for 2 weeks. We were very impressed with the interior of this hotel and while in the town it was very quite.While the interior is very palatial the staf are warm & friendly. Jo & Isabella a very helpful and accomadating While Mark who served us breakfats everyday made our holiday complete. He gave us an insight to the resturants in Tavira and pointed us in the right direction to some more traditional portugeuse resturants.He was certainly an asset to the restuarant.
The wine tasting is very low key and not very pretentious Serge kept us in stiches while passing on his vast knowlegment.
One disappointment was the pool. It is under the terrace so does not get any sun hense it is very cold. It is also more of a plung pool than a swimming pool.
But this did not spoil our trip we would certainly stay again and recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: Go for an upstair superior room they are a bit more expensive but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BedrockUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    30
    12
    0
    4
See reviews for
14
120
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Experienced a great week in a very comfortable hotel which is very convenient to the town and restaurant's. The interior is wonderful with the rooms although not overly large very tastefully decorated. The staff, Jo and Isabelle could not be more helpful with a delightful manner and not forgetting the wine tasting evenings which are not to be missed with a very knowledgeable Serge doing the honours.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New London, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is a lovely, old home which has been completely renovated with a lot of style! There are lots of stairs to negotiate so it is for mobile people. Breakfast was very good...staff was great! Very quiet in this neighborhood of Tavira....only a short 5 minute walk to the center of town...highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmlgorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Very cute and quaint. Beautiful, old building. But due to age, subject to things not working (WiFi) and odd room structure. Our window opened out onto the street with no screen, inviting intruders if we wanted to leave it open. Staff is friendly, but not great with directions. Cocktails are good and breakfast is fresh and delicious. Wish they allowed one-night stays as I'm not sure it's the perfect place for an extended stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in October 2013. We were in a ground level room near the front door. While the room was small, we enjoyed the bathroom, which had a tile shower, with two shower heads. The breakfast served in the room was quite nice, and especially generous compared to the usual breakfasts provided in Spain and Portugal.

While there we had dinner at Castelo Cafe a Restaurante, which was less than two blocks from the hotel. (Go if you can, and make a reservation, you usually can't get a table without a reservation).

The staff in the hotel were exceptionally special. I would definitely recomment this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Therapist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

A beautiful conversion (rebuild, really) of old buildings in the delightful centre of Tavira.

Not especially cheap, but everything is good quality and done with care.

Like many other "designer" places, insufficient attention has been given to practicalities. There is not enough storage: there are drawers, but they are too shallow. There is a big shower with plenty of water pressure, but there is no flexible shower-head to allow you to have a quick wash without getting your hair wet - or to wash the more inaccessible bits of your anatomy.

Room Tip: We had a room near the front desk. Fine except when somebody rang the doorbell very early one mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Location is within 5 minutes of the main square with all the restaurants or boats to the beach. Rooms are fairly small but great modern design. personally, find it entertaining that bathrooms are the size of the bedroom. Staff are very friendly and helpful [yes, they do speak excellent English]. Great rooftop for the sundowners.
Wonderful selection of local wines. An absolute must-stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sotola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavira hotels
0.4 mi away
Maria Nova Lounge Hotel
2.0 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#3 of 15 in Tavira
350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#8 of 15 in Tavira
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pousada Convento Tavira
1.4 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#4 of 15 in Tavira
829 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#11 of 15 in Tavira
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tavira House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavira House

Property: Tavira House
Address: Rua Doutor Miguel Bombarda 47 51, Tavira 8800-419, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tavira House is a lovingly restored, 160 year old, boutique town house hotel. Situated in the heart of the Eastern Algarve’s most picturesque town, Tavira, this charming and unique bed and breakfast brings together a traditional Moorish flavour with a contemporary interior design.The house features 9 individually styled bedrooms, a ballroom lounge, dining room, residents bar, plunge pool and roof garden, all reflecting the hotel’s sophisticated chic design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Tavira House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tavira House Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing