We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful well located apartment”
other travellers have booked this property
Exterior of the building
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior of the building
Roof Terrace Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Exterior of the building
Roof Terrace
Living room
Private terrace to double bedroom
Double bedroom with ensuite bathroom and sun terrace
Twin ensuite bedroom with spare bed
Double bedroom with ensuite bathroom
Twin bedroom
Kicthen and dining area
Riverside walkway
Riverside bar
Tavira Island beach
Tavira Island beach
Tavira's waterways
On the ferry to the island
Beira Mar
Misericordia
Pego Inferno waterfall
Quatro Aguas
Riverside gardens
Fishing port
View from the main bridge
Tavira water taxi
Tavira Island beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Tavira, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The apartment was so well fitted out and comfortable and the location was excellent
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
skivina
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Location can't make up for a very poor experience.”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
6
people found this review helpful

The property is centrally based and ideal for exploring Tavira. However there are issues that need to be borne in mind. There are 2 pubs very close to the property. While the one next to the property was closed for the duration of our stay we were informed that it plays loud music until 2am. The other attracts local teenagers, is particularly noisy and again closes at 2am. The property is not child friendly and is not suitable for anyone who has mobility problems. The roof terrace is reached by a staircase that would challenge any health and safety officer to pass it in the UK particularly as both the staircase and the roof terrace were unlit. The condition of the property on arrival left a lot to be desired in terms of cleanliness.
To add insult to injury we were challenged by the owner about the sheets being dirty at the end of the let. There was nothing in the letting arrangements about washing the sheets on departure (not the norm!) and in any event what is expected after sleeping in the same ones for 10 days!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2014
To set this review into context, I had cause to write to the reviewer due to the unsatisfactory state in which this apartment was left by him and his family - a bedroom left smelling of cigarette smoke; stairs left in a filthy condition; blood and other stains found on the bed linen, amongst other issues. I am keen to maintain this apartment to a high standard and naturally take issue when it is treated with such a lack of respect – thankfully this has rarely been necessary. The reviewer was not happy to hear from me about this and in his reply indicated that he would be posting a poisonous review.
I had in fact called in on this family whilst they were staying in the apartment and asked them if everything was OK and other than a temporary problem with the roof terrace lighting, nothing else was mentioned. No other guest has ever complained about the cleanliness of the apartment or raised issues about child friendliness. It is always presented to a high standard and receives nothing but high praise. A prominent local property agent has told me that it is the best apartment in town.
Being a duplex apartment on the first floor, it is obviously not ideal for anyone with mobility problems and where this is the case, guests are accommodated in the ground floor apartment below which has easy access from the street. This has always proved popular (see Property No. 177993).
As regards the bar next door, whilst the reviewer was there this had no impact on his experience in the apartment. The operator’s licence had been suspended, following swift action with the town hall who have since curtailed the future operating hours of the bar. The other bar referred to is located well away from the building.
It would appear that this review has been submitted out of spite and not out of an objective assessment of the property. This apartment is regularly highly rated by guests in tier feedback. Its quality is borne out by others who have left Trip Advisor reviews.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs K
Ea, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Luxurious but not for light sleepers”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
4
people found this review helpful

The booking of the apartment was straight forward. There were some minor communication issues on our arrival, but we had arrived early. We were met at the apartment and shown around the property which we found very spacious for 5 adults. It was extremely well presented and equipped. We appreciated the barbecue on the roof terrace, WiFi and beach towels. In addition to the local Pingo supermarket referred to in the other reviews, we twice used the indoor market on the other side of the river to buy local fish. This is at the end of the bridge nearest to the beach. The town had holy week processions on Palm Sunday and Good Friday with lavender strewn on the bridges. The Friday evening procession was particularly dramatic when the street lights were switched off. We had a hire car and were able to park free of charge in the road adjacent to the supermarket. In April the only ferry to the beach runs from Quatro Aguas which is just outside the town. We drove to a beautiful beach further along the coast at Barilla which was accessed by a pontoon bridge and a small train. Tavira is a very attractive small town. the only negative point in our stay was that there is a bar next door that, during our stay, played music to 2am each morning except Sunday. The younger members in our group slept through it. Our deposit was returned promptly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very convenient and beautifully presented
Liked least: The bar next door
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenis E
lancs
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 17 December 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Stayed in this in beautiful apartment for a week (sept 2013) we travelled as a party of six adults and the accommodation was perfect, lots of room,
Large lounge,bathroom for each bedroom, air con or ceiling fans in all bedrooms, well equipped kitchen utility room and the bonus of a roof terrace.
It would have been good to have English channels on the tv but we did have free wi-fi which was a bonus
There is a large supermarket at the bottom of the street which makes it really handy for shopping ,
This property as been renovated to a very high standard
It is perfectly situated in a traditional Portuguese street in Tavira town minutes from the river, Roman bridge, and lots of eating places
Tavira itself is a lovely laid back town with a beautiful beach reached by a short ferry ride from town (a few minutes walk away)
The British owner Martin is very easy to correspond with and i have no hesitation recommending this property
As the previous review states If you're looking for a relaxing holiday in a quaint Portugese town I would definitely recommend this property.
We had a really lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fuchsia F
Cork Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect luxury for 2 families”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in both the apartment and Tavira.

Tavira Antiqua Doma easily accommodated 4 adults, 4 smaller children and a teenager! The 'house' is charming, well equipped and has a luxurious feel to it. There are also an abundance of bathrooms ..

The house is in a fantastic location, 2 minutes from the centre of Tavira and surrounded by excellent reasonable places to eat.

You can take the ferry which is about 8 minutes walk from the house and you're at the amazing island beach in a 10 minute boat ride.

We would highly recommend staying here and as a plus the owner was easy to deal with and deposit returned promptly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accomodation and lcoaction
Liked least: might be time to replace the parasol on the roof terece?
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morag C
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely apartment with excellent amenities, right in heart of Tavira”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We booked this apartment, and the two bedroom apartment below, for a family holiday in the last week of August.
Booking was easy and efficient with no problems and the apartment was just as described - well furnished, spacious, bright and clean, with all amenities.
There was a bathroom for every bedroom which made life really easy - especially returning from the beach and getting ready to go out.
It is a lovely apartment - traditional outside and beautifully renovated inside to high standards.
The situation of the apartment couldn't be better - right in the centre of town, just minutes from the river, the ferry to the beach island and a great selection of restaurants.
The roof terrace was a decent size and felt very private with no other buildings overlooking it.
We booked as a family group and my father has mobility problems.
Being a renovation of an original house there are a lot of stairs in this apartment which wouldn't have suited him. However we also occupied the downstairs apartment and it was of equally good standard - although slightly darker indoors - so everyone was catered for.

If you're looking for a relaxing holiday in a quiet Portugese town I would definitely recommend this rental. We had a really lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being in the centre of town. The modern, comfortable accomodation. Air conditioning
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$118
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing