We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Calcada in Tavira”
Review of Calcada Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Calcada Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 30 Tavira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Calcada in Tavira”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We spent 5 days in Tavira to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and found our stay at The Calcada to be a lovely experience. Its handy for the river and ferry to the beach and a short walk from the train station. The owners, Tasmin and Andy are friendly and helpful. Breakfast on the terrace is worth having. Room was clean and comfortable, All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    15
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
107
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Terrace, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights at the end of May. Tamsin and Andy have created a welcoming refuge for travellers on the Algarve. Our room was clean and comfortable with a modern, spacious bathroom. The breakfasts on the rooftop patio were excellent and our hosts were very helpful with information about the area. The location is great, with easy access to sites and restaurants. We could not have felt more welcome during our stay and we highly recommend this guesthouse in the beautiful town of Tavira.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mongo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dieppe, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Calcada guesthouse this past April and were very pleased with the experience. The owners are very accomodating and hospitable. The rooms are very clean and they have a wonderful terrace on top of the house which we thoroughly enjoyed. It was wonderful having breakfast on the terrace and enjoying a panoramic view of Tavira. You are walking distance of all landmarks and good restaurants in Tavira.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 834Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

A beautifully designed conversion of ancient, crumbling property into a hospitable, comfortable guest house full of individual, well planned features which made our stay a real pleasure. Andy and Tamsin were kind and attentive hosts, and we immediately felt welcome and at ease. The lounge, with its picture window revealing a pretty garden area, was available at all times, and we could choose whether to have a delicious breakfast there or on the roof terrace with fascinating views over the old town. Our bedroom was air conditioned and included a spacious ensuite, well chosen furnishings and a terrace which avoided full sun (which suited us very well). We were given helpful information about local attractions and restaurants, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in a charming, interesting town. The Calcada Guesthouse is really special!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
225 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Up a narrow cobbled street, just five minutes from the main church in the heart of old Tavira, behind a small door, is this perfect oasis of hospitality. When you look at the state of the building next door, you realise what an achievement it was for Andy and Tamsin to convert this one into a charming, well-thought out, home from home. No wonder it took them four years! The design is clean and unfussy, mirroring the white-washed houses in the town outside with their touches of colour.
The beds are comfortable, with duvets of the right weight for the season. We had a big bathroom with a shower area, ie with no screen or curtain, which might not suit everybody but was fine by us. The lounge has floor-to-ceiling glass windows on one side, looking out to the small enclosed garden that provides a touch of greenery. The chairs are comfortable and the selection of reading material extensive (in English). There is a lot of material on the local area and suggestions of day trips. The big German heater warms the area up nicely. The upstairs roof terrace has a splendid view across the river and over the neighbouring Algarve chimney pots and roofs.
Breakfast was fantastic, with local honey, jam, cheese and ham as well as a big bowl of finely chopped fresh fruit, fresh orange juice, plain yogurt, brown toast and warm pastries. My only complaint would be that serving it at 9am is really too late for guests who want to get in some serious sightseeing before everything closes for lunch. Having the kettle and a wide assortment of teas on tap was also a nice little touch.
All in all, a great experience made special by the owners, who are genuinely concerned to share their love of the area and make sure that all their guests have a great stay in the Algarve.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Walking_Scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2013

The Calçada Guest house successfully combines a welcoming, at home, atmosphere with the elegance and style of a boutique hotel.
The rooms are decorated in a fresh and attractive way, each with its own colour scheme; it's clear that a lot of thought has gone into the little details, successfully combining simplicity with charm.
The open and relaxing common space - which had a warming fire going while I was there - inspired me to sit on the sofa and read a book in a way that hotel spaces rarely do. Andy and Tasmin were around and were attentive and helpful with local info, but also discreet: the key balance to make one feel genuinely at home. The help-yourself selection of coffee, tea, books and games nicely added to that.

Room Tip: We had a patio room and I liked having the large window: I can imagine that the downstairs patio-acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed for a week at Calcada. Andy and Tamsin excellent hosts. Breakfast of fresh fruit, coffee/tea, croissants, toast, yoghurt on the sunny rooftop terrace a delight. Spotlessly clean. By the time we left it felt a home from home.

Room Tip: All rooms have either balcony ot patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavira hotels
0.1 mi away
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
1.4 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#3 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#6 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#2 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#4 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tavira House
Tavira House
#3 of 30 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calcada Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calcada Guesthouse

Property: Calcada Guesthouse
Address: Calcada Dona Ana 12, Tavira 8800-308, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Calcada guesthouse is a beautiful and unique accommodation located amongst the oldest streets in the town centre of Tavira. It is hidden away in a small residential square behind the main praca within the heart of the historical centre of Tavira, one of the most architecturally attractive towns in the Algarve. The guesthouse comprises of 6 individually decorated bedrooms (five king size doubles and one twin) all air conditioning for Summer months and heating for the Winter. Each bedroom has it's own balcony or patio doors and private en-suite wet rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Calcada Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calcada Guesthouse Tavira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing