We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing hotel”
Review of Vila Gale Albacora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vila Gale Albacora
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Tavira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Have just returned from 3rd visit to Albacora, as in previous visits a wonderful relaxing holiday.The hotel is clean & welcoming, the staff are all helpful, polite, friendly and a credit to the hotel,lovely selection at breakfast & evening meal good.The bus into Tavira is useful and if out later than last bus return taxi only 6 euros.The hotel is in a lovely location especially if you want to relax, plenty of sunbeds round the pool and nice walks on the sands outside the hotel.The friendliness of the staff make a big contribution to the success of the holiday, some even remembered us from a previous visit.No real negatives for us ,only one thing, it would be good if the bus could make a stop at shopping centre outside of town.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weekenderEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Albacora, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for stay with us for the third time! and also for your review and your kind comments. Specially the mention of the friendliness staff, the hotel facilites/ services and the singularity of this place (classified building and Museum - Former Tuna Fishing Village) converted in an Eco-Hotel and the oportunity to relax with nature in Ria Formosa Nature Reserve and Tavira Island Beaches.

Your feedback was important for us to continue trying to exceed the expectations of our guests.

On behalf of Vila Galé Albacora staff, we hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
Hotel Vila Galé Albacora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (906)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

231 - 237 of 906 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2012

Basically think of Ibiza. Think of the opposite vibe. Beautiful beach, beautiful pool, nice people, low prices, no WIFI or broadband internet, no raving, no singles, no electronic music (and I'm a dj), town is very far away and boring, loads of kids, families, just chill. All day chill.

Room Tip: Don't be Polish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rag D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Just back from a great October half term Holiday, Hotel Vila Gale Albacora near Tavira, east Algarve, with my wife and 12 yr old daughter, half hour Taxi from Faro airport, or between half hour and an hour on a shuttle depending on how many drops. I would take shuttle, doesnt hold many so max drops probably 3 or 4. Had an almost perfect holiday and will definately return with low cost Holidays, couldnt find cheaper. Down side, not much, beds were a little hard for us, and regular appartments are fine for 2 but a little cramped for 3. No entertainment which suits me fine, but maybe a little boring if you are 12, Up side, everything else, we found standards very high, room was modern clean tidy, all rooms have aircon, food hall was modern clean tidy, food was excellent, we all had great variety and great service, Staff were very friendly and helpfull, which made a big difference. The hotel and grounds are beautiful and no eye sores anywhere. Bike hire & water sports are available, boat trips etc. Word of warning, all manner of trips can be booked from hotel, much cheaper if you go in to Tavira and look around. We will return, but would go for a studio if there was more than 2 of us. Faro is 3 hrs flight from Scotland, take mozzy stuff, we needed it, free bus takes you in to Tavira most days 45 minute walk to centre of town, might see Flamingoes if you keep a look out, short boat ride from hotel to most amazing beach ever, cost about 2 euros return per adult or over 11 yrs, good fun you can go for an hour or 2 or longer, several boat tim es,umbrellas and beds for hire when you get there, bit pricey but you can sit on sand. Rooms have hairdryer & plenty of sockets. Have fun.

Room Tip: smoking & non smoking rooms , best views are non smoking rooms under 240, if you really dont lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank georwhi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Stayed in september , weather great 29c everyday, food great although expensive , just went b/b breakfast really nice plenty of option, staff helpful , apartment really comfortable and clean,not hot as in reviews as you have your air con, could not fault it, quite resort but teaming with bird life , flamingos flying over most of the time,Tavira town really qaint,we walked it in twenty minutes , but the free shuttle is ideal if you want to go there for a meal, will definitely return.Yes there is a smell at times but its not the drains its the saltpans, but thats what draws all the birds, spoonbills, storks, cattle egret, little egret, hoopoe , and many more birders paradise

Room Tip: we had room 176 which overlooked the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

This is a very interesting hotel, inside a protected natural area. You have beach on one side and the "salinas" on the other.
It is an old fishermen village turned into an hotel, which makes it a beautiful place but has its downsides: the rooms are small and hot. But it's nice outside, and you really feel you're living in a small village.
We didn't enjoy at all the music in the bar and restaurant. Breakfast was nothing special neither the snacks in the bar.
But I would recommend it for it's a different hotel, far from the crowds.
You have to rent bikes, specially at sunset, it's beautiful in the "salinas".

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wellmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We have just returned from a 6night break in this hotel on what was our first visit to Portugal and what a lovely time we have had. The staff were lovely and always did whatever they could to make our stay comfortable. It is so tastefully laid out, peaceful, clean, breakfasts lovely and how can you resist a jug of sangria by the side of the pool! It is the perfect place to relax and unwind. We would have preferred a room with a window that we could have open at night but we had french doors instead and so had to rely on the air-con which drives us mad (wherever we stay) as its either too hot or too cold or too noisy! Im sure we could have moved rooms but we had such a lovely patio area with a gorgeous view of the jetty and estuary that we decided to stay where we were.

There is no mistaking that there is a really horrible smell of stagnant sea water at times but we found it was only there twice a day at most and didnt last very long (couple of hours at most) and it was only ever there early mornings or late eves and so we just went inside - and besides, it really didnt matter as the whole atmosphere of the place is just so relaxing, we barely noticed it after a few minutes.

There are some lovely walks to be had around the area and we even saw some flamingoes wading in the nearby salt marshes, and lots of white herons, and storks, to name but a few. There are also lots of good eateries in Tavira and nothing too pricey.

For us, it was the perfect place to unwind.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brightoncityimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We have spent 2 nights during our 15-days self-drive tour in Portugal with a friend in September 2011.
Out of all the hotels we lived in during that trip (7 in total) that was the only one which left such a bad impression.
The likes:
- a very nice beach on the island nearby,
- nice breakfasts
The dislikes:
- strong smell of drain everywhere around (especially in the areas nearby the fence and the bathroom) - maybe it was the bad time of the year but it was something you could smell all the way driving there from the town (the place is about 5 minutes driving from Tavira) and in the hotel as well.
- construction works noise starting at 8am sharply next to the hotel area. We lived just 2 doors from the hotel area fence and it was a 8am-alarm we really did not need!
- the rooms could be more spacious and need some maintenance (as well as the bathrooms)
- very poor choice of food for the dinners
- reception can barely handle this large number of guests - there are always queues there

I know that this place offers a lot of activities like birdwatching, nature parks walks etc. which we were not able to try due to a limited time and this could possibly make it a bit sweeter. But I could not get rid of a 3-star (maybe 3+) hotel impression during the whole stay at the hotel itself.

P. S. WiFi is available only in reception area and you need to pay for it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tatiana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente geral at Vila Gale Albacora, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2015

Dear Mr. or Mrs.,

We thank you for having taken the time to fill out our questionary with your comments about your stay at the Eco-Hotel Vila Galé Albacora. We welcome all your comments and suggestions, they deserve our best attention.

Our main objective is to continuously improve to better serve our guests, always trying to exceed your expectations. Your comments and suggestions are therefore very valuable for us and help us in correcting eventual deficiencies and in improving our service levels.

We sincerely hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future and look forward to greeting you personally upon your arrival.

With sincere regards,


João Meireles
(General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavira hotels
1 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#7 of 15 in Tavira
1,120 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pousada Convento Tavira
1.5 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#4 of 15 in Tavira
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Maria Nova Lounge Hotel
7 mi away
Herdade da Corte
Herdade da Corte
#8 of 15 in Tavira
249 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#6 of 15 in Tavira
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Albacora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Albacora

Address: Estrada 4 Aguas | Vale do Olival, Tavira 8800-602, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tavira
#3 Spa Hotel in Tavira
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tavira
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tavira
Price Range: £66 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Albacora 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Natural Park of Ria Formosa and approximately 4 km from the centre of Tavira and 3 km away from various restaurants, bars, nightclubs, shops and the public transport network. The nearest beach is just outside the hotel and just 400 m away you will find yourself in one of the best sandy beaches in the Algarve. The hotel was rebuilt in 2000 from an old tuna fish camp and has a total of 162 rooms of which 43 rooms with river view and 5 junior suites suitable for families. The hotel has a 24-hour reception, lovely lobby area, a currency exchange desk, a luggage room, a chapel, a museum and a game room. Among the common areas guests may enjoy the air-conditioned TV room, bar and restaurant where free Wi-Fi internet connection. Children are very welcome to this hotel being that they have their own Club full of activities and entertainment. Guests may park their cars in the parking lot and for an additional costs may use the laundry services and hotel safe. The pleasant rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection and safe (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel Spa, Satsanga, is composed with a gym, an indoor heated pool, Jacuzzi, steam room/Turkish bath, Vichy shower massages and beauty treatments. The seasonal entertainment programme ensures that there is never a dull moment at the hotel. The hotel restaurant has a wide buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner. There is an a la carte menu offered at lunch and a set menu available at dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Vila Gale Albacora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Albacora Tavira, Portugal - Algarve
Vila Gale Albacora Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing