We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such High Quality”
Review of Vila Gale Albacora

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vila Gale Albacora
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Tavira
Certificate of Excellence
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Such High Quality”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I booked this hotel purely on its visual appeal. I like places that are unique and not the standard concrete tower block. I was not disappointed. Everything about this hotel was unique. Each building had been converted into a high quality hotel from a disused fishing village.
The standard of the conversion was immaculate. Each room had satellite TV, fridge, and a bathroom with all the mod cons and hot water that lasted 24 hours a day (unlike some hotels)
The room was serviced daily and fresh towels always left. There was free soaps and shampoo too. The decor was traditional and was very clean. The bed was very comfortable. The grounds were landscaped to a high standard and were an absolute pleasure to be in.
The staff could not do enough to help. Every single minor query was solved instantly. I was particularly impressed that at 0140hrs on the second day my air conditioning failed and was making a loud noise. I was offered a new room straight away and moved straight in.
The breakfast was epic. The selection covering all tastes from cereals, to cooked and more continental was amazing and could cater for all.
Evening meals were a little pricey €22 for an all you can eat arrangement. If you had a healthy appetite then worth while but if your like me then one plate is enough was a bit pricey.
Hotel has free shuttle bus into town at periodical intervals in the day. Taxi is only €5 and major shopping centre is at the end of the hotels entrance road. There is a cinema which shows english films.
I would go back tomorrow and agree with many reviews on here that this hotel is paradise.

My only criticism is that with all the room facilities there is no Tea/coffee making facilities.
If your partial to a hot drink take a travel kettle. I did this and there was no issue.

Great hotel and staff .... Well worth a visit

Room Tip: Any room is great as they all have the same facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Vila Gale Albacora, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and your kind comments, specially about the singularity of this classified building (Former Tuna fishing village) converted in an Eco-Hotel, and also the mention about the facilities, surroundings and food.

Regarding the Tea/coffee making facilities we will analyse this situation for 2013 season.

But the most most important for us was the review about the staff.

This allow us to continue highly motivated and try to exceed the expectations of our guests.

On behalf of Vila Galé Albacora staff, we hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
Hotel Vila Galé Albacora
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    383
    102
    32
    7
See reviews for
329
327
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012 via mobile

This was a different type of holiday for us. Usually we rent a villa and hire a car but this time we decided to go all inclusive and use the shuttle bus. We were not disappointed. From when we first arrived the staff were attentive without being annoying, the room was fine with nice big beds and we thought the food was excellent with plenty of choice every day. We took the boat to the lovely beach a couple of times and ate at one of the restaurants which was very nice. We did use the shuttle bus into Tavira a couple of times, the driver wasn't very friendly but he wasn't rude and got us there in one piece so no complaints. We also used the trains to visit Faro and Albufeira which was interesting and made a nice change. We didn't use the pool at all but it looked lovely and there were plenty of sunbeds available.
My husband didn't really want to go on holiday as he is a bit of a grump, but, after a couple of days he really relaxed and we are looking to return again next year. All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable holiday and I cant recommend it highly enough.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Albacora, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and your kind comments, specially about the staff, cleanliness, the boat and beach. Also the experience outside of hotel is very important, because help us to understand more the atractiveness of our destination.

That´s why it´s very important to read reviews from guests. This allow us to continue workink and try exceed the expectations of our guests.

On behalf of Vila Galé Albacora team, we hope that we will be able to welcome you back .... next year.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
Hotel Vila Galé Albacora
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barreiro, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Great hotel, great location! Excelent for families and with lots activities for kids. Excelent choice!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with GeoStar

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Albacora, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and your kind comments.

This allow us to continue workink and try exceed the expectations of our guests.

For that, we will start with a new Eco-Activity for families, twice per week, dedicated to the Fauna of Ria Formosa Nature Park with a small surprise once per week ...

On behalf of Vila Galé Albacora team, we hope that we will be able to welcome you back again.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
Hotel Vila Galé Albacora
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

This is definitely a little hidden piece of paradise. On approach to the hotel you can be forgiven for thinking you're going the wrong way but once you walk in through what my husband described as a "secret garden" you enter one of the most relaxing destinations you wlll have ever been to. The cottages are delightful, modern and very very clean, with the only downfall being paper thin walls which can be forgiven when you think of the history of them. All the public areas are immaculate and extremely well maintained. We found ourselves sitting on the wonderful terrace downing a bottle or two of the local vino after a long day at the beach just listening to the birds tweeting and children playing. We were on a bed and breakfast basis and found breakfast each day to be fresh and varied and the only downside which one will often find with a buffet style is that it could have been hotter. What you really want to know is whether we'd go to the Vila Gale Albacora hotel again, that is a definite and when we checked out we re booked for September.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Albacora, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Guest,

The reaction of our staff seeing this review was also "Wow"!

It was a "shot" of positive energy to continue doing what we do and try to exceed the expectations of our guests.

On behalf of Vila Galé Albacora team, we hope that we will be able to welcome you in september!

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
Hotel Vila Galé Albacora
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esmoriz, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

a excelent hotel in an old fishermen village in the middle of a natural reservation place. It's a mix of isolation and nearby civilization with very nice acessibilities to the main road that serves Algarve. You can enjoy a beach just outside the resort or take a boat to the nearby Tavira Island for a long beach with good tiny sand and great fish restaurants. The hotel has a nice pool, church (including some english cerimonies) and a "school" for kids to play under guidence of an employee. IMHO the only "problem" is the restaurant which doesn't have a good quality/price relation... although the breakfast is very varied and good quality.

Room Tip: if you like the feeling of nature, choose a river view. if you have loudy kids as i do, ask for a m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Albacora, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and your kind comments, specially about the location in the middlle of RIA FORMOSA NATURE PARK and the history of this "Former Tuna Fishing Village", that was built in 1943 and where about 300 persons lived here dedicated to the Tuna fishing. This classified building is the only of it´s kind in Portugal.

Regarding the "problem" about good quality/price relation of the restaurant, we had recently changed our menus on the buffets and À La Carte and opened our FLOR-DE-SAL Grill & Tapas, with Mediterranean Tapas, fresh fish and grill.

This reviews are very important to continue workink and try exceed the expectations of our guests.

On behalf of Vila Galé Albacora team, we hope that we will be able to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
Hotel Vila Galé Albacora
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavira, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Don't be put off by the drive through the salt pans to this Hotel, located on its own on the edge of the Ria Formosa national park. If you're a birdwatcher, you're in luck - flamingos, avocets, stilts, and so on. The Hotel facilities are excellent. Large, comfortable rooms, your own patio area, effective air-conditioning, and good food. Pleasant, friendly staff, and a beautiful pool - though I could have done without the occasional, noisy 'aquarobics' class, with accompanying ghetto-blaster. That, and the remote location drop this to 4 stars. The Hotel does have a minibus service int Tavira town, otherwise a 10 minute taxi ride will cost you about 7 Euros.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Albacora, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and your kind comments, specially about the Staff and hotel facilities.

It´s also very gratifying for us to see that more and more visitors like the experience to be in contact with birds and nature around us. The surrounding of this hotel, in the middlle of the RIA FORMOSA NATURE PARK, is one of the hotspots identified by SPEA and Algarve Tourism Board.

All comments really allow us to believe in our work and continue to try exceed the expectations of our guests.

On behalf of Vila Galé Albacora team, we hope that we will be able to welcome you back again.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
Hotel Vila Galé Albacora
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This hotel is about two miles from town so a car is essential although the hotel has a free bus that runs into town during the day. Set amongst salt flats and the Ria Formosa national park it is peaceful and beautiful place to stay. A bird watchers paradise. We have stayed here 4 times the last time was on 16th April and we had a room overlooking the river and isle Tavira (room 236). The view is 5 star with a small terrace that is sheltered from the wind by a hedge either side. The food in the hotel is ok, we stayed b&b and had the al a carte dinner one night which was 3 star quality, approx 70 euros for 2 people, 3 courses with a complimentary bottle of wine.There are many great restuarants in Tavira, Abstracto 2 ( great service and excellent food), Simao (had dish of the day, excellent and great value for money), Amor italian,( expensive but 5 star food and service). The hotel operates a boat ferry to the Isle Tavira which is about 2 euros and is a must do, the island has a beautiful long and wide golden beach and rolling surf, there is also a range of fish resaurants and snack bars there. We will always go back to this hotel because of the setting, we have always said that its a big world and to always go somewhere new but we are always drawn back here, it's a great place to unwind and chill and enjoy the natural beauty of Tavira.

Room Tip: Room 185 you need ear plugs, the sparrows wake up really early not much of a view but still love thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Albacora, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and comments about your stay in Vila Galé Albacora.

It is very gratifying for us to read reviews from guests that appreciate the surroundings of the Hotel in the middle of the Ria Formosa Natural Park and Salt Pans, origin of one of the best "Flower-of-Salt" known internationally.

We also add this year the possibility of our guests from 1st of June untill 30th of september, go to two different beaches directly form the Hotel. TAVIRA ISLAND, that you had mentioned and TERRA ESTREITA, our small paradise during summer (you can find in facebook).

Regarding the food, we recently had made some changes on our menus. We have daily Buffet Dinner with option A La Carte and our recently open FLOR-DE-SAL - Grill & Tapas, where we offer a long variety of Mediterranean TAPAS, Fresh fish and Grill.

On behalf of Vila Galé Albacora team, we will continue to work and try exceed your expectations and hope that we will be able to welcome you back again.

Kind regards

Bruno Martins
General Manager
Vila Galé Albacora
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavira hotels
1.0 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#8 of 15 in Tavira
1,034 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#3 of 15 in Tavira
349 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pousada Convento Tavira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Maria Nova Lounge Hotel
1.3 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#6 of 15 in Tavira
633 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#11 of 15 in Tavira
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Vila Gale Albacora

Property: Vila Gale Albacora
Address: Estrada 4 Aguas | Vale do Olival, Tavira 8800-602, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tavira
#3 Spa Hotel in Tavira
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tavira
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Albacora 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Natural Park of Ria Formosa and approximately 4 km from the centre of Tavira and 3 km away from various restaurants, bars, nightclubs, shops and the public transport network. The nearest beach is just outside the hotel and just 400 m away you will find yourself in one of the best sandy beaches in the Algarve. The hotel was rebuilt in 2000 from an old tuna fish camp and has a total of 162 rooms of which 43 rooms with river view and 5 junior suites suitable for families. The hotel has a 24-hour reception, lovely lobby area, a currency exchange desk, a luggage room, a chapel, a museum and a game room. Among the common areas guests may enjoy the air-conditioned TV room, bar and restaurant where free Wi-Fi internet connection. Children are very welcome to this hotel being that they have their own Club full of activities and entertainment. Guests may park their cars in the parking lot and for an additional costs may use the laundry services and hotel safe. The pleasant rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection and safe (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel Spa, Satsanga, is composed with a gym, an indoor heated pool, Jacuzzi, steam room/Turkish bath, Vichy shower massages and beauty treatments. The seasonal entertainment programme ensures that there is never a dull moment at the hotel. The hotel restaurant has a wide buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner. There is an a la carte menu offered at lunch and a set menu available at dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vila Gale Albacora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Albacora Tavira, Portugal - Algarve
Vila Gale Albacora Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing