We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vila Gale Albacora

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Vila Gale Albacora
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Tavira
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

It is a very nice hotel well located in the Formosa Natural Park. It is great if you're looking to spend a few days in a quiet and peaceful environment. The SPA is excellent and the staff is all very friendly.

You should keep in mind that the beach is accessible by boat which the hotel provides (as scheduled).

I certainly recommend this hotel If you're looking to relax in a place away from the city centre.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bruno R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    348
    98
    29
    7
See reviews for
299
297
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

we spent two midweek nights in March so it was slightly off season and the room we had facing the Rio de Formosa was spacious and had every comfort. There were very few people staying and the staff were very helpful and breakfast was excellent with lots of choice. The evening meal was also very good and well presented with a complimentary bottle of wine which was much appreciated. The pool looked very clean and well tended but it was a bit too chilly for us to try it out. We returned to the hotel the following Sunday and due to a cycle race the hotel was absolutely packed and we had to wait until people checked out until we could get a room. The room we were given was not facing the sea as our previous room had been and it was smaller and a bit claustrophobic although clean and functional. The meal in the evening was not as good as our previous meal maybe due to the high volume of people that had been in the hotel over the weekend. All in all we did enjoy our stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the Rio de Formosa were of higher quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tweetiepie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Booked this hotel the week before travelling in Septemeber. Rooms are basic but functional for purpose.

Beautiful hotel grounds constantly well maintained and tidy in all areas. Pool setting also very nice with good pool bar, reasonably priced for those not staying on all inclusive.

By far the best part the small ferry taking you down to the beach - beach is spectacular - quite and large you can really disappear from everything here.

Food - breakfast - exceptional choice from cooked, to fresh fruit and breads absolutely no complaints. Similar amount of choice on evening buffet - this is great if you cannot be bothered to travel to Tavira, although possibly slightly expensive.

Would recommend the 8 euro taxi to Tavira, many lovely local back street restaurants and fabulous atmosphere with some live music.

Did very little research and yet a fantastic place to stay. Spa is also worth a go if the weather if not so good - didn't realise the spa was there until got there so an added bonus.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tice12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Albacora, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad for the pleasure time you had with us.
We wait for you on next trip to Algarve.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Entering through a vast lobby, the welcome at reception was warm and friendly. Rooms were a good size and clean, though the bath towels were rather thin and threadbare - perhaps a reflection that our visit was at the end of the season in November. The hotel was packed with golfing tours - which we only really appreciated at breakfast time, when the restaurant was very busy - & breakfast was actually pretty good. The evening buffet was however, poor - at a set price of €25 including wine and beer perhaps we should have known better - the golfing tourists evidently had prior knowledge - the restaurant was pretty empty in the evening.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Albacora, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest
We appreciate you’re review.
We will analyse you’re suggestions.

Kind regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Spent 10 days here in Sept and its a nice quiet hotel:
Good points:
Loads of sunbeds whenever you want to get to the pool.
Staff all helpful
Nice location
Very quiet - fair way out of Tavira and Tavira very quiet anyway
Interesting hotel as parts of the old fishing village still exist
spa was nice and treatments seemed reasonably priced - although the charge to use was excessive and I've never been in a spa where there were no complimentary soft drinks and teas

Bad Points
Food was usual AI fare - and not really anywhere to go out ot get away from it unless you had transport
Cleaning was a bit hit and miss - we would see the cleaners coming down the corridor first thing in the morning, and go out so they could clean, they invariably missed us and came back at 5pm when we were trying to rest
Off putting that there were AI and non AI guests and it was never very clear what was included in AI and what wasn't - especially at the pool cafe
The evenings were starting to get a bit cool and there was not enough bar seating for guests
Entertainment was usual AI stuff - guy and a keyboard

Room Tip: We were right by the restaurant (as my partner has mobility issues at the moment). Quite noisy durin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WarringtonSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Albacora, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest
We thank you for you’re visit to our hotel.
We believe that you’re appreciation is important to us.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galicia, Spain
Level Contributor
110 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 days at this hotel and generally enjoyed our stay. The architecture is beautiful, it's like being in a village with church and school. It was good having a school cos the kid could play inside with all the toys, though there was nobody there to take care of it. Breakfast was ok, English one with eggs, baked beans, mushrooms, tomato and bacon and continental with many different types of bread and cakes. Oddly enough, there was no marmalade or jam, but I bought myself a jar at the nearby Continente in the mall. The bedroom was smallish, bathroom fine but they have a cleaning issue. If you walk barefoot, you'll soon get your feet dirty with dust and grit. They should improve cleaning. Another (worse) flaw is the awful stench that fills the hotel grounds at night, coming from the water treatment plant. One night it was so terrible that it filtered through the closed windows and I had to cover my head with the duvet so as to sleep. In the morning, the stink was gone. I suppose they can't do anything about it. The swimming pool is good, there were not many people so plenty of sunloungers and very quiet and relaxing atmosphere for reading, etc. The best part of our stay was the morning boat trip to the paradisiac island of Terra Estreita. It was lovely and Captain Armando is extremely nice. He would let our 3 year old steer the boat all the way to the mooring point! Everybody on the boat had a good laugh (and we arrived to port safe and sound).

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank kayapetai2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Albacora, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest
We thank you for you’re visit to our hotel.
We believe that you’re appreciation is important to us.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Just come back from a one week stay and thought I would pass on my thoughts. Firstly I have to say all the staff are very friendly and go the extra mile.Due to noisy neighbours the hotel quickly moved us to a quieter room. We booked though Jet2 holidays and booked a standard room - but on arrival we paid around £90 to upgrade to a river view room - which is well worth it. But I suspect the standard rooms may be quieter. Travelling at the end of the season the hotel was quite empty - so no queues. This may be a negative point if you were a single traveller. There is a free bus for times a day to their sister hotel in the centre of Tavira, although for walkers you can get into Tavira in around 45 mins.The bus only runs Wed - Sunday. A taxi will cost around 7 euros. We often walked in and then caught the bus back. The food was a bit of a disappointment - 22 euros got you the buffet - but was often a bit cool - may not be a problem in season. The Al a carte option was similar in price and was hot. There was no entertainment apart from a keyboard player on the Saturday evening. One thing lacking was an on site shop - which meant the trip into town became a necessity. Would recommend the boat trip to the sand banks which have restaurants and lovely beaches - more convenient from this hotel than the hotel in the town. Apparently the hotel in town was generally fully booked in winter. They charge 2 euros a night for the key to the room safe and the water in the fridge also comes at a cost. Wifi is free in the reception and bar but is 5 euros a day in the room.

Room Tip: River view south facing have a better view - standard rooms may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derbymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Albacora, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad for the pleasure time you had with us.
We wait for you on next trip to Algarve.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavira hotels
1.1 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#5 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#4 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#3 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#11 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
7.0 mi away
Herdade da Corte
Herdade da Corte
#6 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Albacora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Albacora

Property: Vila Gale Albacora
Address: Estrada 4 Aguas | Vale do Olival, Tavira 8800-602, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Tavira
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tavira
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tavira
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Albacora 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Natural Park of Ria Formosa and approximately 4 km from the centre of Tavira and 3 km away from various restaurants, bars, nightclubs, shops and the public transport network. The nearest beach is just outside the hotel and just 400 m away you will find yourself in one of the best sandy beaches in the Algarve. The hotel was rebuilt in 2000 from an old tuna fish camp and has a total of 162 rooms of which 43 rooms with river view and 5 junior suites suitable for families. The hotel has a 24-hour reception, lovely lobby area, a currency exchange desk, a luggage room, a chapel, a museum and a game room. Among the common areas guests may enjoy the air-conditioned TV room, bar and restaurant where free Wi-Fi internet connection. Children are very welcome to this hotel being that they have their own Club full of activities and entertainment. Guests may park their cars in the parking lot and for an additional costs may use the laundry services and hotel safe. The pleasant rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection and safe (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel Spa, Satsanga, is composed with a gym, an indoor heated pool, Jacuzzi, steam room/Turkish bath, Vichy shower massages and beauty treatments. The seasonal entertainment programme ensures that there is never a dull moment at the hotel. The hotel restaurant has a wide buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner. There is an a la carte menu offered at lunch and a set menu available at dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Vila Gale Albacora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Albacora Tavira, Portugal - Algarve
Vila Gale Albacora Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing