We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reassuringly; excellent”
Review of Vila Gale Tavira

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vila Gale Tavira
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Tavira
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Reassuringly; excellent”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

So we had arrived (5-night stay) unusually for us, after booking only hours before departure.

The preferred option of rooms (pool view with balcony) was not, unsurprisingly available as the hotel was absolutely full ++++. Clearly checking in is not officially possible until 2 pm although we fulfilled the paperwork on our arrival at 11.30 am with luggage store and towels (to use around/in the large centrally positioned pool) being freely offered with seating outside the outdoor bar by the pool.

We asked about a change of room to our preferred option and were easily accommodated the following day with even an option to choose from several different specific rooms. We noted that the balconies were of differing proportions and opted for one of the larger ones, as we like to sit out pre-dinner time and absorb the sun and views. Although there are very many (if not all) balcony rooms available only a tiny percentage were being used to enjoy the pool view that time of day (about 3 rooms in total).

All rooms were very similar layout (we viewed three, whether pool view or otherwise and were all most acceptable with a/c and the usual facilities (with the exception of tea/coffee making) although room service brought these elements (24 hour) - if you wish to wait 25 mins? Note that only one side of the hotel balconies is situated in the sun late afternoon/evening although (ask at reception for details) our 2nd room was 3049 and excellent for our purposes.

All reception and service staff personnel were attentive and friendly despite the size of the hotel and the obvious high season and we felt quite at home. Breakfast (the first morning) was fairly hectic and we queued for about 5 minutes to then be guided to our table. Although the place was heaving with guests, all options of food were available and continued to be so throughout - until the ‘closing time’ (10.30) and still late guests were accommodated and dishes were continuing to be refreshed even at that late time; impressive! All other mornings there was no such mayhem and the experience was un-rushed and first class. The (same) restaurant (in the evening) was used by us several times and the buffet (22 euros) was excellent with choices, quality and amounts extensive. Even a free bottle of (delicious) wine was included as a ‘tempter’ for the first visit.

The very old (Roman) town of Tavira was a delight with plenty of choice re eating establishments with prices, as anticipated lesser than the hotel (but not excessively) and a chance to purchase drinks at a substantially reduced price. High season and much to see with local produce / food / craft and there was varied (free) entertainment provided in the town square nightly.

I do suggest taking a 1.90 euro return ferry trip to the island (15 mins away and frequent departures/returns) if only to enjoy the trip rather that do as most seemed to do, and head for the camping site and beach (fairly long hot march). Varied meals and drinks are available on the island and add to the sense of being ‘elsewhere’.

Sauna & gym not engaged with (30 degrees). Mobility restricted guests should opt for room 1008 or close by (the nearest and first ground floor room off the large reception area) although there is a lift to each floor. There is a balcony to sit out with a view (of the gas station/new bridge) but it is quite acceptable and shaded from intense heat (+ a/c etc).

All in all an impressive and well run hotel but I did not see the Manager roaming around checking on guests and staff. Children were accommodated with their own ‘club’ activities, which seemed to run smoothly with satisfaction.

We normally choose a villa residence however this experience may make us think again and visit out of high season!?

Room Tip: see the full review
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank filemanLancasterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you your visit and preference.
The reviews are important for us, to maintain high quality and guest satisfaction.


Kind Regards

César Gaspar
(GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    476
    213
    49
    16
See reviews for
225
481
41
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Nice hotel in a great location. Probably the best hotel in Tavira. More a three star than a four star by UK & Ireland standards, but clean and with nice rooms. Location was great, just 5 mins from ferry to beach and with easy access to town, but quiet at night. Breakfast was crowded, but with a good choice of food to suit most tastes.
On the negative side, too many extra charges (parking, internet, lock for the room safe) and the bed could have been more comfortable.
Overall, a pleasant stay and I would certainly consider returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dahyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank your preference.
Your opinion is important for us.

Kind Regards

César Gaspar
(GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
319 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The hotel was very clean with excellent spa facilities such as indoor pool and Jacuzzi (free of charge at this point). Breakfast had a great deal of choice cereals, juices cooked, continental, fresh eggs and pancakes, differing breads and lots of fruit. Tavira is a great place unless you want benidormesque trad beer chips and discos which we do not :). It is quite charming with a nice central square, gardens and pretty bridges. Lots of winding streets over the bridges hide numerous little restaurants & cafes. Camera obscura, castle and churches a good to visit. A must is either local beach via ferry under 2 euros and less than 8 mins or water taxi to cabanas beach 30 each way for boat (holds 10).

Room Tip: Pool view not worth price ask for one facing sea/salt flats and watch the flamingoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you your visit and preference.
The reviews are important for us, to maintain high quality and guest satisfaction.

Kind Regards

César Gaspar
(GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This is a large, comfortable hotel situated a short distance by foot from Tavira town centre. The room was spacious, decorated to a very high standard and the staff were friendly, helpful and welcoming. Breakfast at this place was superb, there was a huge choice of food and the standards were very high indeed. You could have whatever type of holiday you choose here, using this hotel as a base. You can go to the beach (a short ferry ride away), relax by the pool, play golf (as we did) or just explore this beautiful small town with some superb restaurants, bars and cafe's. There is a very large food market just behind the hotel (pictured below) where the locals seem to buy their produce, and the small restaurants that surround the market are first class. In short, there is something in Tavira to appeal to everyone. The only thing I did not notice were night clubs, but then again, we did not go looking for them! There are some superb Golf courses in the area and the green fees were not extortionate as they sometimes are elsewhere in the Algarve.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms overlooking the pool area, unless noise (during the daytime at least) is not an issu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

just returned from a 4 days break from this hotel,before we went,i did look at the review,and look forward for our short break,when we got to the hotel,first impression from the desk was so bad ,no body from the hotel comes out to greet us or take our bags or any welcome ,i asked for a room with pool view and on hight floor, but got a room over looking the motorway and on the 2nd floor,so you have to keep the door shut and use the aircon to keep the room cool,when ask to change room and was told have to pay 25 euro per night extra , when got to the room,there are no tea and coffee and kettle,when ask they just say NO ,if we want a cup of tea ,we have to call for room service at 2.5 europer cup,i have been to a few hotels over the years,from 2* to 5*,and from UK,and a few other country,they always have tea and coffee in the room,the staff was so slow and unfriendly,i had better service from a 2* hotel in Turkey then this suppose to be a 4* hotel,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank number1son
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed here for 11 nights in July. It's a really good hotel in a great location. It's very close to the river and the ferry to the beaches. The breakfast buffet is excellent and plentiful and is served until 10.30. We had dinner in the hotel one evening and that was good too. The staff were all friendly and helpful. I couldn't really fault the hotel. We would definitely return.

Tavira is a great place for a holiday if you want to avoid a resort full of tattooed beer swilling Brits. It's mainly Spanish, Potuguese and English and you have to get a ferry to go to the beach (which probably keeps a lot of the brits away) €1.90 return for 11+. If you go over the river into the other part of town and wander down the side streets you can find some very good restaurants which are quite a bit cheaper than those on the side of the river by the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

From the moment my wife and I arrived at this Hotel we knew it would be a great holiday. The reception area was very open and beautifully set. The reception staff were also very welcoming, speaking excellent English. We had asked for a room at the top of the building which was the 3rd floor. The room was a spacious en-suite twin room (two singles together) with a balcony the view of which was to the front entrance of the Hotel and overlooked the town of Tavira (Great view). The room was spotlessly clean with a mini fridge which was open for use. I did have to pay 35 euros for the use of the safe in the room which is normal on holiday. The room was cleaned everyday to an meticulous standard. The breakfast buffet was excellent and well presented every morning with the staff always eager to help and respond to needs. Lots of healthy eats however I did indulge the crepes every morning with poached eggs. Cannot comment on the dinner menu as we did not partake. Lunch menu was good. Very large swimming pool available - enclosed by the Hotel building. Cleaned everyday and tested frequently for quality. Thankfully no music blaring at the pool which seems to be normal at many Hotels now. Sun beds good quality and always available. Towels supplied. Indoor pool and fitness area looks great (not used). Free wifi for the reception area however some signal in my room. There can be a bit of noise when people are leaving during the night ie doors closing baggage trolley noise.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor are less noisy it seems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavira hotels
1.0 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#2 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#3 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#4 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maria Nova Lounge Hotel
Maria Nova Lounge Hotel
#6 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#11 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Tavira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Tavira

Property: Vila Gale Tavira
Address: Rua 4 de Outubro, Tavira 8800-362, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tavira
#3 Spa Hotel in Tavira
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Tavira 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historical city of Tavira between this picturesque old town and Ria Fromosa. Here, guests will discover a good selection of shopping and entertainment venues. The fine sandy of the dune island, Ilha de Tavira, is easily reached by ferry and the hotel bus travels to the airport several times a day. The large, excellent golf courses of Quinta da Ria and Quinta da Cima are only 11 km away. Public transport departs from stops located directly in front of the hotel; Faro airport is approximately 30 km away. Built in 2002, this popular hotel offers a total of 268 rooms spread over 3 floors, of which 22 connecting rooms and 6 junior suites suitable for families. Amongst the facilities you will find a stylish reception area with 24-hour service and lifts, free Wi-Fi Internet connection in public areas, a currency exchange desk, a game room and a Kids Club. The hotel is equipped with wheelchair access ways and an air-conditioning. You may take advantage of a restaurant with non-smoking areas and highchairs for infants, two hotel bars, a gaming room, a garden and outdoor areas such as the playground for kids. For and additional cost you may use the hotel safe, the laundry service or the garage. All the rooms have been tastefully furnished and offer air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection and safe (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. There is an outdoor swimming pool with sun loungers and parasols all around and a garden area. The hotel is equipped with a Health Club which is composed with indoor heated pool, a Jacuzzi, a steam room and a gym. There is also the possibility for our guests to have massages and beauty treatments. Guests may select their breakfast, lunch and dinner from a wide buffet. Lunch and dinner may be chosen a la carte. Special dietary requirements, as well as individual-specific menus, may be catered to and it is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vila Gale Tavira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Tavira Hotel Tavira
Vila Gale Hotel Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing