We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vila Gale Tavira
Nearby Hotels
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$230
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,171)
Filter reviews
1,171 results
Traveller rating
299
549
247
57
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
299
549
247
57
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool viewthe riverroman bridgebuffet breakfastbar pricesreception stafftown centrebed and breakfast basisa bit tiredgolf tripplenty of varietygreat positionthe hotel is cleansalt pansthird floordecent sizeevening entertainment
Filter
Updating list...
356 - 361 of 1,171 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2013

A conveniently located hotel, short distance from the town centre with flat walking.
Spacious accommodation but did find the beds rather hard and didn't like having 2 singles pushed together to make a double.
Nice pool area and had no problem in finding sunbeds whatever the time of day.
Found eating out for evening meals a good deal cheaper than in the hotel.

Room Tip: Balcony on rooms in the front get a good deal of sun in the afternoon.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank JohnFJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Mrs Rusty and Mr. John,

We are glad for the pleasure time you had with us.
We wait for you on next trip to Algarve.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We spent a week here in mid september. It was our first visit and we thoroughly enjoyed it.
Plus points:-
1. Big airy spacious lobby/reception, nicely decorated in moorish style, with lots of settees etc. Comfortable rooms and beds (albeit singles, pushed together)
2.Good location, a nice 5 mins stroll to the ferry to Tavira Island, and a few minutes more to the heart of the town, all the restaurants etc.Not at all noisy at night in any of the rooms.
3. Good sized pool, lots of sunbeds.
4. Nice friendly helpful staff in restaurant . Rooms well cleaned each day.
5. Generally a very good breakfast, Plenty of nice fresh fruit etc. Fresh pancakes and fried eggs cooked to order, nice coffee, good bread & cakes, soya milk if you have a diet problem.

Minus points:-
1. The one evening meal we tried (buffet Euros22) was only ok, although to be fair that may have been us choosing badly..)
2. The bedroom walls aren't great if you get noisy neighbours, which we had but fortunately only for 2 nights.
3. Cooked breakfast ingredients ok but little variation. Some potatoes, fresh mushrooms (not tinned), would have been nice.

Overall a good hotel, and we hope to go back. Tavira is lovely, especially if you need a nice chilled out week. Also the restaurants on the island are great value, lovely fresh fish etc., and Joao Belhi restaurant along the waterfront is particularly good, low key, understated but great value, lovely fish.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the town have the most interesting views.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EssexPeterb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you you’re comments.
Our commitment is improving day by day.

We wait for you on next trip to Algave.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Our 2nd visit this year. Again, it is a really nice hotel situated in the heart of pretty Tavira, close to everything. Only a 5 minute walk from the ferry to Ihle Tavira beautiful beach and only €1.90 return. However, as I think I said in my previous review, the hotel's decor is looking really tired and the rooms are becoming quite shabby, especially the bathrooms. Although "cleaned"everyday day, we had footprints in the bathroom all week which were never removed the beds are still very hard.. The breakfast is still really good, cannot be faulted. The poolside was quite busy 1st week (9/9/13) but quieter after the Spanish and Portuguese children went back to school on 17th. Glad we took a city view this time, as the view is really lovely and the traffic noise dies down after 7pm. Would still recommend Vila Gale but would like to see some improvement in the decor.

Room Tip: Choose city view 3rd floor. Best time to visit if you like it a little quieter, May, or from mid September
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacquiWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Guest
We appreciate you’re review.
We will analyse you’re suggestions.

Kind regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is the first time we stayed at this hotel. We were delighted as we arrived as the outside of the hotel was in excellent condition, nice gardens etc, and the Reception area was first class. However on closer inspection the furniture throughout the hotel is dated and well worn and could be doing with being replaced. The rooms were comfortable and kept clean by the maid. We were on the third floor with an excellent view over the town. Directly below was a petrol station but apart from the occasional car-wash there was no problem with noise.

We stayed Bed & Breakfast and were happy enough with the food at breakfast, although the cooked food did not vary throughout the week, but plenty of choice from the buffet. We stayed in one night to sample the evening buffet, mistake, the food that was on offer was not very appetising. Certainly not worth the 22 euros/head + 3euros for a bottle of water, compare to what is available in the town.

Wi-Fi was free in the Reception area but if you wanted it in the room you had to pay!!!
There was a safe in the room but if you wanted a lock you had to pay!!!
Complimentary, as we thought, bottles of water in the fridge until we checked out!!!
Small things, I agree, but all together very annoying, for a so-called 4* hotel this sort of thing should be complimentary.

The pool area was very pleasant but I think this was because we avoided school holidays and so the hotel was quiet. If the hotel was busy I doubt if we would have been able to get a sunbed when we wanted one, normally mid afternoon.

Room Tip: The room (No 3011) we had overlooking the town had an excellent view and was reasonably quiet, but we only had the sun in the morning.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Guest
We thank you for you’re visit to our hotel.
We believe that you’re appreciation is important to us.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Stayed here for the third time and everything as expected. Some signs that the outside had been jollied up a little and at some point would be good if the rooms received the same treatment but clean and comfortable. Buffet breakfast predictable and okay with lots of choice from continental to 'full English' and lots of fruit. Very convenient location for the town and trip to the beach via the ferry or free mini bus to the sister hotel and then via their private boat to the same beach. The bar area is dull however although there is an excellent bar on the corner just across the road from the hotel where a generous G&T can be ordered.
Nice pool. Very popular with Saga travellers and Portuguese and Spanish tourists.

Room Tip: Rooms in the area of 2050-2046 have the sun later in the afternoon on their balconies.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you you’re comments.
Our commitment is improving day by day.

We wait for you on next trip to Algave.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews