We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So pleased to choose Vila Gale Tavira for our winter holiday.”
Review of Vila Gale Tavira

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vila Gale Tavira
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Tavira
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So pleased to choose Vila Gale Tavira for our winter holiday.”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Had a marvellous two weeks in this hotel. Our beds in our sunny room were very comfortable and the food delicious. The staff were helpful and friendly. It was good location for walking and bird watching, also for exploring the historic town.

Room Tip: Loved our sunny room overlooking the salt pans. All the staff were incredibly kind and our lunch and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    476
    214
    49
    16
See reviews for
225
481
42
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This is an excellent hotel. The staff are very helpful and the range, quality of the buffet restaurant is excellent. The town is very small but interesting. Do visit the town's museum. The only criticism is the quality of the packed lunches. The sandwiches really need to be improved.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Malcolm W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This is a rather faded hotel which just about gives value for money. Reception staff rather surly but bar manager excellent. Hotel full of golfing blokes with shorts on and hairy white legs. Bedroom furniture a bit tatty.

Room Tip: In winter ask for a west facing room for sun all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mailboosters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guest
We thank you for you’re visit to our hotel.
We believe that you’re appreciation is important to us.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We had a week in Tavira and the weather was unseasonably wet which spoilt the whole week. The hotel was ok, clean and comfortable but a little noisy. Not on out "must go again" list. Our room overlooked the petrol station so not very scenic.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveH2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad for the pleasure time you had with us.
We wait for you on next trip to Algarve.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Four of us spent this Christmas at this Hotel. When we arrived there was a big illuminated Christmas tree in the foyer, but the staff were quite dowdy in their dark uniforms, although quite polite, and offered WiFi service immediately. However, no Christmas hats, not a piece of tinsel to be seen. I had hoped we might get some piped Christmas music - all the shops in the town were playing carols and songs, but not in this hotel. The room was clean, beds good and it had a small balcony. The bar advertised Christmas entertainment, but all we witnessed was one guy on Christmas day, belting out pop songs to his pre-recorded backing machine. It did not inspire anyone to dance, or indeed stay in the bar for any length of time. On the dining room tables, there was an attempt at a Christmas decoration, with a slot together 5" cardboard Christmas tree cut out. . The food was just awful - the evening Gala Meals on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day had no resemblance to any sort of seasonal food. There was some sort of wok with beef in a sauce bubbling away - labelled Beef Stroganoff, but no-one around to serve the queue that was waiting to be served. One of the offerings for Christmas Day was meatballs in tomato sauce and a lasagne that looked quite unappetizing. The cheese table attracted most people, anxious to eat something nourishing. The waiting staff were quite harassed and were slow in serving drinks, until motivated. On our last day, we decided we would walk into the town and get an evening meal - which was delicious and reinstated our love of Portuguese food. The underground garage charges €7 a day, but is not very secure, open to the outside pavement, and only barriers for security. Did we enjoy our Gala Christmas Break - definitely not this year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts, which are noisy when folks are arriving. Ask for a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank discovereurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We apologise for any incovenient.
We will do a new format and ambience to this day.

Kind Regards,

César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We had a lovely couple of nights all inclusive and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Although the decor was not modern it was well maintained and clean throughout.
I do agree with a previous reviewer that the lighting in corridors is insufficient.

Food was generally of a high standard, tasty and well cooked - my only complaint is that the vegetables were all overcooked.

Bar and restaurant staff were all friendly although reception were a little frosty.

My only criticism would be that there were no sugar free drinks other than Pepsi. Having said that, perhaps I should have advised them in advance that these would be needed.

Would happily stay there again and thought the fully inclusive option was good value.

Room Tip: We paid an upgrade for a pool view which meant there was no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steppitoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad for the pleasure time you had with us.
We wait for you on next trip to Algarve.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Was actually pleasantly surprised how happy we were with this hotel. It is aging a bit and prices reflect this - but they are really putting effort into getting important things right. Rooms are comfortable, roomy and clean. Breakfast is very good, with a good range. The pool is well kept, and there is a small indoor pool with steam room and jacuzzi, if the sun does not shine. And the staff are welcoming and helpful throughout the hotel - no wonder so many people return, we certainly will. The hotel is really well located too, a quick stroll to the riverside and town, and on a lower, more level part of Tavira than some. Minor dislikes were the teensy size of the balcony for our room (not all are like that) and I personally would not enjoy spending much time around the pool as the sunbeds are squeezed in, and there is not a lot of room. But Tavira has wonderful beaches so this is not a problem if you are beachbaby. Expect lots of groups by the way, in October a mix of golfers and Saga enjoying a fabulous sunny week in the Algarve.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mzurisal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad for the pleasure time you had with us.
We wait for you on next trip to Algarve.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavira hotels
1.0 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#2 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#3 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#4 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maria Nova Lounge Hotel
Maria Nova Lounge Hotel
#5 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#11 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Tavira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Tavira

Property: Vila Gale Tavira
Address: Rua 4 de Outubro, Tavira 8800-362, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tavira
#3 Spa Hotel in Tavira
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Tavira 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historical city of Tavira between this picturesque old town and Ria Fromosa. Here, guests will discover a good selection of shopping and entertainment venues. The fine sandy of the dune island, Ilha de Tavira, is easily reached by ferry and the hotel bus travels to the airport several times a day. The large, excellent golf courses of Quinta da Ria and Quinta da Cima are only 11 km away. Public transport departs from stops located directly in front of the hotel; Faro airport is approximately 30 km away. Built in 2002, this popular hotel offers a total of 268 rooms spread over 3 floors, of which 22 connecting rooms and 6 junior suites suitable for families. Amongst the facilities you will find a stylish reception area with 24-hour service and lifts, free Wi-Fi Internet connection in public areas, a currency exchange desk, a game room and a Kids Club. The hotel is equipped with wheelchair access ways and an air-conditioning. You may take advantage of a restaurant with non-smoking areas and highchairs for infants, two hotel bars, a gaming room, a garden and outdoor areas such as the playground for kids. For and additional cost you may use the hotel safe, the laundry service or the garage. All the rooms have been tastefully furnished and offer air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection and safe (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. There is an outdoor swimming pool with sun loungers and parasols all around and a garden area. The hotel is equipped with a Health Club which is composed with indoor heated pool, a Jacuzzi, a steam room and a gym. There is also the possibility for our guests to have massages and beauty treatments. Guests may select their breakfast, lunch and dinner from a wide buffet. Lunch and dinner may be chosen a la carte. Special dietary requirements, as well as individual-specific menus, may be catered to and it is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vila Gale Tavira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Tavira Hotel Tavira
Vila Gale Hotel Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing