We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf Trip”
Review of Vila Gale Tavira

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Vila Gale Tavira
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Tavira
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Good hotel, very clean and well located near the centre of the town. Rooms over the atrium reception can be noisy (unless you plan to be the last ones to bed). We asked to move and this was accommodated without any fuss. Only ate in the restaurant once, fairly typical buffet but there are plenty of places to eat within walking distance. Good location for a number of golf courses, but you would need a car or transfers arranged to get to them. Would use it again for a similar holiday. Large bar with Sky Sports etc.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelS1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

301 - 307 of 1,103 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

More than most! In the winter you need to be overlooking the pool on the inside of the hotel but on the side nearest the river. That will give you sun all day which is vital in the winter. Avoid rooms facing outside of the hotel unless you like looking at roads and petrol stations. I reviewed this hotel 2 years ago. It is showing it's age now - some of the floor tiles are starting to rock. The new mattresses are very hard. Obviously it's location and it's 3 story height are it's strengths but it's principal weakness and it's a very big one (apart from having to put the password in for the wi fi, already mentioned by many) is the paper thin walls. You can hear everything...and I mean everything. I had to move;it was like someone snoring and talking in their sleep in the next bed! Staff are good. Breakfast ok.
Spa was very good for a massage - gym was very basic and poorly equipped to be honest.

Room Tip: see above...get on the inside wing on the wing which overlooks the petrol station nearest the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank john t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Had a marvellous two weeks in this hotel. Our beds in our sunny room were very comfortable and the food delicious. The staff were helpful and friendly. It was good location for walking and bird watching, also for exploring the historic town.

Room Tip: Loved our sunny room overlooking the salt pans. All the staff were incredibly kind and our lunch and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This is an excellent hotel. The staff are very helpful and the range, quality of the buffet restaurant is excellent. The town is very small but interesting. Do visit the town's museum. The only criticism is the quality of the packed lunches. The sandwiches really need to be improved.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Malcolm W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This is a rather faded hotel which just about gives value for money. Reception staff rather surly but bar manager excellent. Hotel full of golfing blokes with shorts on and hairy white legs. Bedroom furniture a bit tatty.

Room Tip: In winter ask for a west facing room for sun all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mailboosters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Guest
We thank you for you’re visit to our hotel.
We believe that you’re appreciation is important to us.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We had a week in Tavira and the weather was unseasonably wet which spoilt the whole week. The hotel was ok, clean and comfortable but a little noisy. Not on out "must go again" list. Our room overlooked the petrol station so not very scenic.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveH2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Guest,

We are glad for the pleasure time you had with us.
We wait for you on next trip to Algarve.

Kind Regards
César Gaspar
(General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Four of us spent this Christmas at this Hotel. When we arrived there was a big illuminated Christmas tree in the foyer, but the staff were quite dowdy in their dark uniforms, although quite polite, and offered WiFi service immediately. However, no Christmas hats, not a piece of tinsel to be seen. I had hoped we might get some piped Christmas music - all the shops in the town were playing carols and songs, but not in this hotel. The room was clean, beds good and it had a small balcony. The bar advertised Christmas entertainment, but all we witnessed was one guy on Christmas day, belting out pop songs to his pre-recorded backing machine. It did not inspire anyone to dance, or indeed stay in the bar for any length of time. On the dining room tables, there was an attempt at a Christmas decoration, with a slot together 5" cardboard Christmas tree cut out. . The food was just awful - the evening Gala Meals on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day had no resemblance to any sort of seasonal food. There was some sort of wok with beef in a sauce bubbling away - labelled Beef Stroganoff, but no-one around to serve the queue that was waiting to be served. One of the offerings for Christmas Day was meatballs in tomato sauce and a lasagne that looked quite unappetizing. The cheese table attracted most people, anxious to eat something nourishing. The waiting staff were quite harassed and were slow in serving drinks, until motivated. On our last day, we decided we would walk into the town and get an evening meal - which was delicious and reinstated our love of Portuguese food. The underground garage charges €7 a day, but is not very secure, open to the outside pavement, and only barriers for security. Did we enjoy our Gala Christmas Break - definitely not this year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lifts, which are noisy when folks are arriving. Ask for a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank discovereurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Guest,

We apologise for any incovenient.
We will do a new format and ambience to this day.

Kind Regards,

César Gaspar
(General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavira hotels
1.0 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#4 of 15 in Tavira
898 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maria Nova Lounge Hotel
1.7 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#3 of 15 in Tavira
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pousada Convento Tavira
0.6 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#11 of 15 in Tavira
120 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#7 of 15 in Tavira
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Tavira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Tavira

Address: Rua 4 de Outubro, Tavira 8800-362, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tavira
#5 Spa Hotel in Tavira
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tavira
Price Range: £56 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Tavira 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historical city of Tavira between this picturesque old town and Ria Fromosa. Here, guests will discover a good selection of shopping and entertainment venues. The fine sandy of the dune island, Ilha de Tavira, is easily reached by ferry and the hotel bus travels to the airport several times a day. The large, excellent golf courses of Quinta da Ria and Quinta da Cima are only 11 km away. Public transport departs from stops located directly in front of the hotel; Faro airport is approximately 30 km away. Built in 2002, this popular hotel offers a total of 268 rooms spread over 3 floors, of which 22 connecting rooms and 6 junior suites suitable for families. Amongst the facilities you will find a stylish reception area with 24-hour service and lifts, free Wi-Fi Internet connection in public areas, a currency exchange desk, a game room and a Kids Club. The hotel is equipped with wheelchair access ways and an air-conditioning. You may take advantage of a restaurant with non-smoking areas and highchairs for infants, two hotel bars, a gaming room, a garden and outdoor areas such as the playground for kids. For and additional cost you may use the hotel safe, the laundry service or the garage. All the rooms have been tastefully furnished and offer air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection and safe (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. There is an outdoor swimming pool with sun loungers and parasols all around and a garden area. The hotel is equipped with a Health Club which is composed with indoor heated pool, a Jacuzzi, a steam room and a gym. There is also the possibility for our guests to have massages and beauty treatments. Guests may select their breakfast, lunch and dinner from a wide buffet. Lunch and dinner may be chosen a la carte. Special dietary requirements, as well as individual-specific menus, may be catered to and it is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Vila Gale Tavira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Tavira Hotel Tavira
Vila Gale Hotel Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing