We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Vila Gale Tavira

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vila Gale Tavira
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Tavira
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Vila Galé in Tavira before on a bed and breakfast basis. The room was perfect, and the breakfast amazing. The staff were very professional and friendly. It is in the ideal location for both sides of town. The only gripes I have is that WiFi other than in the foyer is not free and I had to pay €17.20 for a key for the room safe. Surely these should be waved.

Having said this I would have no qualms in returning there.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnmhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this review, 11 December 2014
Dear Guest
It was with great satisfaction that we read your review , and find that you have enjoyed your holiday at the Vila Gale Tavira Hotel.
Thank you for your wonerdful comments and these will be passed on to our staff as it is very motivating for them.
Looking forward to welcome you soon

Kind regards
Elia Figueiredo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    476
    214
    49
    16
See reviews for
225
481
42
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We booked a standard room for a week and were apprehensive about it having read other reviews that recommended a pool view. It overlooked a relatively quiet street and was perfect for us. I wouldn't recommend paying a supplement. We were worried initially as it was opposite the lift - room 3004, but it wasn't at all noisy as the lift was quiet and the hall is very wide. The hotel was absolutely spotless and room towels were changed every day. We stayed on a B&B basis and the breakfast was good, however if you like your fries; the 'sausages' were mini frankfurters as seems to be the case in other hotels in the area, the mushrooms were from a tin I suspect. The 'rashers' were really not rashers/bacon as such but a kind of fried ham. However, there was a nice selection of fresh fruit, yoghurts, cheeses and breads. Cereals weren't great either but they fried eggs to order and made fresh crepes also. 'Orange juice' was very sweet squash. The main reasons I did not give a higher rating is that it cost €2.50 (non-refundable) for the safe in the room and another €2.50 per day for wifi in the room which constantly logged you out. The public wifi did the same. I think a charge for the safe is greedy. There was a €20 per towel (for the pool) refundable deposit if you returned the towel tokens at the end of the holiday. The location of the hotel is excellent. Around the corner is the ferry to Ilha Tavira (1.90 return per adult) and all restaurants are just a few minutes walk. There is a mini supermarket 2 minutes walk away and the mini-bar in the room has space for a few pieces of fruit/bottles of water. Tavira is a lovely, sleepy old town with many options for eating out at night. It was a mainly adult location - the pool was coldish so it wasn't used much! The indoor pool is nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janoka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VilaGaleHoteis, Gerente at Vila Gale Tavira, responded to this review, 11 December 2014
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you your review, which deserved our best attention, and we are very glad that you enjoyed your accomodation and the hotel location.
Hoping that we can welcome you again at Vila Galé TAvira.

Kind regards
Elia Figueiredo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Third time we have stayed here in two years so there's a good recommendation for a start!

Tavira is, for the moment, relatively unspoilt yet this is a very modern hotel-almost an oasis in an otherwise rustic resort,

The pool is very pleasant, if a little cool and no problems with sun beds.

Breakfasts are superb, including full English and 2 coffee machines.

Staff are very helpful and recommended a car hire facility in the local travel agents even though the web sites said that car hire in Travira was virtually impossible.

There will be a fourth visit next year!

Room Tip: Choose. Room facing the pool due to some road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birchington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Hotel was overall very good . a few niggles smoking very annoying on next door and balcony underneath, had to keep balcony door closed to stop smell should be banned . Also smoking should be banned around pool area . Buffet breakfast quite good but why cannot we have real sausages instead of horrible mini frankfurters . scramble egg tasted very sweet . also Wi-Fi should be free in rooms its 2014 now !!!!

Room Tip: Choose a top floor room facing pool its much quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirchingtonRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

we have been using vila gale off and on for the last 7 or 8 years and always look forward to the ambience and convenience to Tavira town centre - on this visit we found the hotel a little tired looking and the welcome not as friendly as what we had always previously experienced - breakfast room was always very busy but the staff here always attentive to any need -pool area as clean as ever but loungers and parasols are past their sell by date -towels available at pool area not best quality

Room Tip: when booking request room overloking pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perfect2603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

First time in Portugal, Tevira is lovely. Hotel is centrally located, within walking distance of town centre, 3 mins walk to ferry for the beach. Hotel bright & airy, lovely pool with lots of seating-we had no problems there. Bar /snack service poor, much better to adjourn to little cafe bar on corner across the road - hotel bar is heartless, we used it once. Breakfast can be very busy but great selection and lots of it.
Reception is efficient, rooms spacious & clean - we had upper floor looking over filling station and on to salt plains, but no problem with noise. We sat out on balcony at night & enjoyed watching the world go by. Ferry to beach €2 per person - beautiful beach, vast and you can walk for miles. Waves can be bit rough but plenty of lifeguards. Lots of bars & restaurants, toilets - note, buy an umbrella and mats/chairs in Tavira to bring with you, save a fortune by not renting at
beach. Lot of mosquitos at beach, be prepared. Loads of restaurants in Tavira - Aquasol was our favourite, but many others up the back streets. Restaurants at old market area are over priced & touristy - better to cross the roman bridge & explore the back streets. Beautiful restaurant beside castle, Tavira a Vie I think it is called - worth it as a treat, nice fresh juice stall outside if you there during the day. Local bars are very good in general - Irish bar across the river is good for catching the matches & has tasty food also. Big shopping centre 1/2 hour walk on other side of river not worth it in the heat, we were wrecked! Took day trip to Seville-nice day out but a bit rushed, would need a full day at least to see some of the sights there. We would gladly go back, no complaints - Tavira is a lovely quiet town, great for relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel with a nice pool area but not up to scratch considering what you pay...the room was tired and a lot of the areas need a bit of attention. The break fast feels a bit unfriendly but good choice. Nice indoor spa room. We found it noisy there with cleaners making a lot of noise first thing in the morning....great location though with ease access to Tavira which is a fantastic place with great restaurants, cares and a lovely buzz.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous_31NJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavira hotels
1.0 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#2 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#3 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#4 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maria Nova Lounge Hotel
Maria Nova Lounge Hotel
#5 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#11 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Tavira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Tavira

Property: Vila Gale Tavira
Address: Rua 4 de Outubro, Tavira 8800-362, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tavira
#3 Spa Hotel in Tavira
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Tavira 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historical city of Tavira between this picturesque old town and Ria Fromosa. Here, guests will discover a good selection of shopping and entertainment venues. The fine sandy of the dune island, Ilha de Tavira, is easily reached by ferry and the hotel bus travels to the airport several times a day. The large, excellent golf courses of Quinta da Ria and Quinta da Cima are only 11 km away. Public transport departs from stops located directly in front of the hotel; Faro airport is approximately 30 km away. Built in 2002, this popular hotel offers a total of 268 rooms spread over 3 floors, of which 22 connecting rooms and 6 junior suites suitable for families. Amongst the facilities you will find a stylish reception area with 24-hour service and lifts, free Wi-Fi Internet connection in public areas, a currency exchange desk, a game room and a Kids Club. The hotel is equipped with wheelchair access ways and an air-conditioning. You may take advantage of a restaurant with non-smoking areas and highchairs for infants, two hotel bars, a gaming room, a garden and outdoor areas such as the playground for kids. For and additional cost you may use the hotel safe, the laundry service or the garage. All the rooms have been tastefully furnished and offer air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection and safe (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. There is an outdoor swimming pool with sun loungers and parasols all around and a garden area. The hotel is equipped with a Health Club which is composed with indoor heated pool, a Jacuzzi, a steam room and a gym. There is also the possibility for our guests to have massages and beauty treatments. Guests may select their breakfast, lunch and dinner from a wide buffet. Lunch and dinner may be chosen a la carte. Special dietary requirements, as well as individual-specific menus, may be catered to and it is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Vila Gale Tavira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Tavira Hotel Tavira
Vila Gale Hotel Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing