We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location and Value”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Vila Gale Tavira

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vila Gale Tavira
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Tavira
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Location and Value”
Reviewed 14 April 2010

The Location and low price (if you get it) are the only things above average in this hotel.
Rooms have a good view and keep cool with the Hot Nights in Tavira, but not very comfortable.
Breakfast, Bathrooms, Swimming Pool all seemed quite average.
The hotel lobby is spacious but the theme might look a little dated.
We did had to wait a little too much for the room to become available at the check-in.

Choose this hotel for the best location in Tavira and low price.
I wont come back probably...

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErtaiPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    475
    212
    48
    16
See reviews for
223
477
41
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
County Antrim
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

This was our second visit. Went for one week B&B. Breakfast could not be faulted. Plenty of choice. Ate out most nights. Never more than 30 euros! Very quiet in Tavira. Weather very warm. Lunchtime beer and people watching. Local bars vary. Two large draught beers 4 euros, two bottles 3 euros. Hotel bar expensive - nearly double the price but that comes with the territory.

Mostly Saga visitors/golf and bowls. As before, the beds are very hard but the rooms are clean and spacious. Staff helpful and courteous. We were above the bar and it can be a bit noisy if there is entertainment. Nice quiet time. Love Tavira. Dont use the minibar. Small water 2.50 euros - small water in the local supermarket 9 cents! That's where we shopped. This is a very convenient location and you can walk everywhere. Tavira still feels like a traditional town and we both love it. Use the local bus service to visit Faro it is cheaper than a tour. Don't go on the little tourist train in Faro, awful. The one in Tavira is fine though but remember there are cobbles and it can be a bumpy ride.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2010

In Tavira in January and stayed here for 2 nights. Large hotel. Efficient and seemed well organsed. V. good hotel breakfast - esp. fruit, toast and fruit juice. Large bar area - not what I'd call stylish, but functional. Pool table had a lean. Entertainment in the evening, including free wine tasting one evening. Hotel seemed popular wth older guests and golfers (poss. cos it was Portugal in late Jan)

Not a wow hotel, but super good value for money, really convenient location, near to boat for beach. All in all - very happy we stayed there. No complaints.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Member1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddington scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2009

Great location, good rooms , great breakfasts BUT the worst reception staff we have ever come across.

Arrived in the rain and struggled to get our luggage up the stairs into the reception, watched by two receptionists..
Left my wife standing while I went to park the car. She was still standing when I got back. No offer of help and no welcoming words on checking in . Throughout our 4 day stay the atmosphere at reception was always unhelpful, always unwelcoming.

Difficult to believe that ANY hotel could be so unwelcoming

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pamalberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2009

We have stayed there several times,it's a' very good hotel exellent breakfast, but the best is the location.You have the local town outside the door.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IcemanDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2009

We — myself, my wife and out seven-year-old daughter — had a lovely week's holiday here. We had been to Tavira for day trips previously and had always said we would go back to stay. This hotel, booked on a super deal through Expedia, was ideal as it is just five minutes' walk from the centre of town, where the bus and rail stations are easily reached. Our river-view room was fine — spacious enough, well-equipped and clean, with fresh towels supplied every day. Breakfast was great, with plenty of choice and excellent service – but that was all the food and drink we had there. I have to disagree with the previous reviewer that all-inclusive is 'the ideal thing to do', as in doing so you are missing out on so much, in terms of quality restaurants and local atmosphere in what is a gorgeous town offering a taste of the real Portugal. Despite fears about how the Euro is faring against the pound, Portugal is still far cheaper than countries such as Italy, France and Spain. There is a great choice of restaurants locally and, including wine and water, we rarely spent more than 35 Euros a night for three of us. Lunch for three with soft drinks was between 10 and 15 Euros and small beers were one Euro each! A great value stay for which the Vila Gale made a great base.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tonybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2009

My wife and I spent two weeks in October in this hotel and we had a great time. The weather was perfect, ranging from low to high 20s with sunshine every day but one, when we had rain. We were on a Saga holiday which was all-inclusive which if you,re in a country which has the euro as its currency is the ideal thing to do. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were all good, plenty of selection, at lunch and dinner, water and wine on the table. The well stocked bar served a large selection of drinks, beers, wines and spirits. The pool is excellent, clean and well maintained, when you first go in it's cold but after a minute or two, great. The rooms are not luxurious, but perfectly adequate, spacious, with a nice balcony. Our room, 3039, looking down over the pool got the sun all day. The TV had a few english speaking channels, mainly news channels. The hotel was very well run and the staff very efficient. My only problem was trying not to eat and drink too much. Tavira is a charming town, as yet unspoiled by tourism, we hope it stays that way. We had a great holiday and we would recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HughSkipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavira hotels
1.0 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#3 of 15 in Tavira
768 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#2 of 15 in Tavira
314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#4 of 15 in Tavira
599 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maria Nova Lounge Hotel
Maria Nova Lounge Hotel
#8 of 15 in Tavira
34 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#11 of 15 in Tavira
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Tavira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Tavira

Property: Vila Gale Tavira
Address: Rua 4 de Outubro, Tavira 8800-362, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tavira
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tavira
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Tavira 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historical city of Tavira between this picturesque old town and Ria Fromosa. Here, guests will discover a good selection of shopping and entertainment venues. The fine sandy of the dune island, Ilha de Tavira, is easily reached by ferry and the hotel bus travels to the airport several times a day. The large, excellent golf courses of Quinta da Ria and Quinta da Cima are only 11 km away. Public transport departs from stops located directly in front of the hotel; Faro airport is approximately 30 km away. Built in 2002, this popular hotel offers a total of 268 rooms spread over 3 floors, of which 22 connecting rooms and 6 junior suites suitable for families. Amongst the facilities you will find a stylish reception area with 24-hour service and lifts, free Wi-Fi Internet connection in public areas, a currency exchange desk, a game room and a Kids Club. The hotel is equipped with wheelchair access ways and an air-conditioning. You may take advantage of a restaurant with non-smoking areas and highchairs for infants, two hotel bars, a gaming room, a garden and outdoor areas such as the playground for kids. For and additional cost you may use the hotel safe, the laundry service or the garage. All the rooms have been tastefully furnished and offer air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection and safe (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. There is an outdoor swimming pool with sun loungers and parasols all around and a garden area. The hotel is equipped with a Health Club which is composed with indoor heated pool, a Jacuzzi, a steam room and a gym. There is also the possibility for our guests to have massages and beauty treatments. Guests may select their breakfast, lunch and dinner from a wide buffet. Lunch and dinner may be chosen a la carte. Special dietary requirements, as well as individual-specific menus, may be catered to and it is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vila Gale Tavira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Tavira Hotel Tavira
Vila Gale Hotel Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing