We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vila Gale Tavira

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vila Gale Tavira
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Tavira
Certificate of Excellence
kerry
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

We stayed in this hotel for two nights during a holiday in Portugal. Our room was on the ground floor (facing the pool). The facilities of the hotel were only average. The restaurant choice was not great and there was not atmosphere in the hotel was poor. This hotel is okay to use if you are on route to Spain or only need to stay for one night. However, you would get better value by going over the border into Spain or travelling closer to the Algarve area. The hotel charges for underground car parking. Also there was a lot of building going on the opposite side of the hotel and I would not like to have a view of cranes, noise levels, etc. The hotel adverised that they have a inside pool (please note that there is an additional charge for this which I did not mind paying, however, I thought it was a bit much to charge for a baby the same price as an adult!). This hotel is suitable for golfers who will spend most of their time out of hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SkelligsKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    467
    205
    48
    16
See reviews for
215
472
39
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

we've seen this hotel many times on visits to Tavira beach but we've always stayed in locations further west- Faro, Albufeira, Loule, Lagos. However,we've just had a week at the Vila Gale, chose not to hire a car and have had the best holiday of all ten.
Ferry to the superb beach only 3 minutes walk away, loads of restaurants within 5 minutes walk, lovely atmosphere as it's mostly Portuguese families.
Hotel breakfast excellent range and quality sets you up for the day. A top Portuguese football team stayed there whilst we were there and they are known for having high expectations. Recommended with confidence. Back there next year.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

I stayed in this hotel for one night and found it quite ok. When we arrived, the service was close to perfect, but when we left the staff was different and so was the service quality. They seemed to have some problems with their credit card systems and tried to blame it on me (my credit card worked perfectly evereywhere else in Portugal and Spain). Another thing which I did not quite like in this hotel were BATS - and there were lots of them. And because of that, the poolside was quite creepy in the night time.

I actually found Tavira quite a charming village, although I would never ever want to spend my whole vacation there.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erikiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longford, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

Just came back from a week in the hotel Ville Gale,Trivira.Everything you read in the other review's is right,Icannot say one bad word about the hotel.It is a very good 4 star hotel.What I would like to tell you about is the rest of the holiday.My wife and I are a young 49 year olds,we did not know which Vila Gale Hotel we were going to until we got there as we booked it late, but when we got to the airport,us along with four other families were pulled to one side and I knew right away where we were going(over flow from the other hotel,s).Driving into the town you think O.M.G. where have they sent us?,a run down ghost town beside the river.Tavira is a small fishing village. When we sat down in the hotel nearly all of us said ,we are not staying here?We had no rep,and all the other holels wre full,so we had no choice. Anyway, went down town and I said to Caroline,where is everyone?it was unreal. If your looking for shops, forget it and even the very few that are there don,t seem to open in the evening.When we went out that evening for our meal there was not one single place with any sort of music playing, not a note did we hear. There are no bars,except one Irish bar,( i kid you not ,that,s it.)where you will find the Irish and U.K. holiday maker,s in the evening.I went for a drink after dinner in the square, there must have being two hundred people sitting down' I walked up and down and would you belive that i was the only one having a pint, could not belive it, had to laught.Tavira, i was later told is where the people of Portugal go for their holiday and this was their holiday time. They sat out every night eating ice cream and drinking coffee, thats all. "no beer" One of the hidden gem,s of Tavira is the beach(you have to get a ten minute boat trip out to) it is mile,s of white sand and blue sea, stunning to say the least,we went every day,loved it.Also i have to say that the restaurant,s over the river are top class,small and not expensive,don,t go late they fill up fast.To finnish off,we were not looking for a mad holiday,but i did not want to end up in the village of the dead, we are not ready for an old folks home just yet,but i think that,s what we got? Entertainment at night was zero,but some times there was local music playing in the square.One thing for sure,I eat more ice cream than drank beer on this holiday(i did not want to be the odd one out) Hope this honest account is of some help.P.S. don,t take anything out of the fridge in your room, the hotel will rob you. Bye

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rocky098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

we arrived at the hotel at 10.30pm to find no cheerful faces to great us.
check in was long and we were the only ones there.
we were a party of 6 but we were all split away from one another, some on 3rd floor and the rest on 2nd floor and they were teenagers.

my husband and i were in room 2015 i pulled back the curtains to find a well lit up petrol station, what a view NOT.
ROOMS were ok but could do with a lick of paint.
beds hard two singles pulled together.
walls very thin honestly you can hear everything next door.
Breakfast was ok nothing special.
found reseption staff very rude and do not have any time for you, i recomend you see the lads on reception as they were alot better.
drinks in hotel very expensive.
we went in to town and eat every night it was great, best meal was in the resturant patio.
beaches are really lovely, but did not enjoy the ferry over, but we got a water taxi great fun.
loved the town and the beaches, but sorry did not like the vile gale at all.
The sister hotel was much better and would recommend that one.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drinkwater-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

This was a good though not outstanding hotel. The staff were on the whole professional and friendly. The cleaning staff were excellent. Breakfasts were well stocked and had a very good variety at all times - nothing ran out however late you were. There is a well-stocked shop in the lobby and the pool area is very good. The rooms are a reasonable size though some of the furniture could do with being replaced, as it is looking tired.
No free internet access terminals - most holidaymakers do not bring their laptop; the bar is big but empty as prices are well above anywhere else in the town; it cost 2.50 euros a day for the safe - this should be free; poor reception on old TV in room (not flat screen!). The fitness centre was very expensive and like the bar underused. The restaurant had limited choice and was too expensive and mostly empty in the evening. No restaurant lunch available.
All in all reasonable value but with a little effort and slightly better and free facilities it could be very good.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Otuama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugal
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2010

Tavira, as many people stated here before, is a very nice town. Quite picturesque and with a touch of the "Old Portugal".
The hotel is very well located, only 3 minutes walk to the place where you catch the boat to go to Tavira island (1,90 euro return ticket). You can also catch the private hotel bus that takes you to Vila Gale Albacora and there, you can catch the boat to Praia da Terra Estreita (2,20 euro return ticket).
About the hotel: the rooms are good in size, although a bit dated, but well cleaned. The pool is very nice but a bit cold at this time of the year. The breakfast was quite varied and abundant, although around 9'oclock it was a bit chaotic. The only real negative point I have to mention is the rudeness of the receptionists at the hotel. Some didn't know how to give certain informations and others seemed too bothered to answer some questions.
But this didn't spoil our mini-holidays. We made the best of it and Tavira truly deserves all the attention from tourists!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shethinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavira hotels
1.1 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#2 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#4 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#3 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#11 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maria Nova Lounge Hotel
Maria Nova Lounge Hotel
#10 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Tavira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Tavira

Property: Vila Gale Tavira
Address: Rua 4 de Outubro, Tavira 8800-362, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tavira
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tavira
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Tavira 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historical city of Tavira between this picturesque old town and Ria Fromosa. Here, guests will discover a good selection of shopping and entertainment venues. The fine sandy of the dune island, Ilha de Tavira, is easily reached by ferry and the hotel bus travels to the airport several times a day. The large, excellent golf courses of Quinta da Ria and Quinta da Cima are only 11 km away. Public transport departs from stops located directly in front of the hotel; Faro airport is approximately 30 km away. Built in 2002, this popular hotel offers a total of 268 rooms spread over 3 floors, of which 22 connecting rooms and 6 junior suites suitable for families. Amongst the facilities you will find a stylish reception area with 24-hour service and lifts, free Wi-Fi Internet connection in public areas, a currency exchange desk, a game room and a Kids Club. The hotel is equipped with wheelchair access ways and an air-conditioning. You may take advantage of a restaurant with non-smoking areas and highchairs for infants, two hotel bars, a gaming room, a garden and outdoor areas such as the playground for kids. For and additional cost you may use the hotel safe, the laundry service or the garage. All the rooms have been tastefully furnished and offer air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection and safe (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. There is an outdoor swimming pool with sun loungers and parasols all around and a garden area. The hotel is equipped with a Health Club which is composed with indoor heated pool, a Jacuzzi, a steam room and a gym. There is also the possibility for our guests to have massages and beauty treatments. Guests may select their breakfast, lunch and dinner from a wide buffet. Lunch and dinner may be chosen a la carte. Special dietary requirements, as well as individual-specific menus, may be catered to and it is possible to book a half-board stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Vila Gale Tavira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Tavira Hotel Tavira
Vila Gale Hotel Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing