We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling at home from the first till the last minute”
Review of Tavira Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tavira Inn
Ranked #16 of 28 Tavira B&B and Inns
Abbekerk, the Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Feeling at home from the first till the last minute”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

At a 7 minute walking distance from de centre of Tavira we found, with some help of local people, Sebastiao's place. We immidiately liked the atmosphere of the place. Sebastiao explained how it works at the 'Tavira Inn' and gave us some house rules ("don't put glasses or bottles on stony parts in the room, you'll hear it all over the place").
The room itself is OK and the bed is excellent; we slept at least 9 hours every night !
You can hear the neighbours when they use the shower and by daytime sometimes the train when it passes the bridge (10 seconds) but who cares.
The terrace, the swimming pool and the trees/plants are wonderful. We enjoyed having breakfast there and taking a swim now and then.
We had a few drinks at Sebastiao's new challence: the "Outside inn" restaurant, which was not open yet. It looks very "gezellig" (= nice&cosy). Sebastiao: thanks for a wonderful nice stay at your place

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerrit1657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    79
    5
    7
    6
See reviews for
7
119
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Spot on for the unique atmosphere and ambience; a mixture of an artist creating a living space and a cozy inn. Sebastio uses his career in hotel management and his artistic flair to create a one of a kind experience at a price that will surprise. Making the acquaintance of the proprietor is worth more than the price of the room. He has many surprises in store so we highly recommend this original for your itinerary! We will go back for certain!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

We booked the standard room for few nights. the guest house is at 10min walking distance from train station. We got a long flight to Portugal and was hoping to get a nap in the afternoon to recover . But the noise of the train passing by on top of the inn ( afternoon) was too much. We also bothered by the noises of the guests in both of the other rooms whenever they took shower.we complaint about this but we found the owner has no interest to hear it. At night it seems more quiet, but there was mosquito and moths (like bugs) flying in the bathrooms causing us stress and restless living there. We had to close the windows all the time even nice weather outside.At night when we entered the room after a long day out we found that there was bad smell like dead rats were inside the room , we found out the smell was coming from the hole at the shower place where the water was flowing out.

Room is basic, bathroom looks dirty on the wall and old. The note on the bedroom door has emphasized how good the bed is- sorry because what matters to us is not just the bed quality, also the atmosphere whether its relax or not . Wifi signal were weak in our room we lose the signal most of time. There is no facility to make tea or coffee. When we asked for the possibility, the answer was whatever available was written on facility page on booking side. We were hoping that they is a common place to get some hot water at least but the answer is no. To chill out, you just need to go to the beach but not stay at this house.

I feel that the owner seems to be overly proud with all the good reviews and has absolute no interest to hear any negative comment even we put it nicely as we really tried to relax there but we felt unhappy there. we were out the entire day only go back for sleep. Of course on guest book we saw only positive comments but when we chat with the couples stay next to our rooms , they were also unhappy but due to non cancellation policy they sticked to it(they booked there for more than a week)
If you don't mind all the above, it's a place where you can stay to visit any place close by on foot. Tavira is lovely.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank suaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastia0Bast0s, Owner at Tavira Inn, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Yes it is true, i am very happy with most of the reviews i get here.

Concerning your stay I have to tell you that if you sleep with windows open and lights on during the night at the bath room you will get bugs.
Noisy ? you were informed that the place is by the railway bridge ! but even so, most of my guests found the place very quite.

But ms. Usuki maybe in your country things are diferente ... here if your choice was a room without balcony for a certain price you cannot expect to get an upgrade room with balcony without paying the right price, as you asked.

If you book and paid for 4 night, you cannot blame on me if you decide to go to Spain... as you did.

and by the way... your room was really bad when you left.

Anyway it is not possible to please everybody.

Regards
Sebastiao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, England
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We were looking for somewhere out of the ordinary, with a friendly, welcoming feel. We certainly came up trumps with the Tavira Inn. Sabastiao was the most welcoming host we can recall, the Tavira Inn was charming, interesting and very comfortable. The pool looked really inviting, but in mid April was still too cold to swim in, so we cooled our legs and then relaxed on the loungers to read our books. What a great location, only a few minutes from the Bus terminus, we used the buses to explore the region. A truly memorable holiday, thanks Sabastiao

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard_RDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

So glad I chose the Tavira Inn for my short stay in Portugal last week. Beautiful and interesting decor and lansdscaping, both inside and out, one of the most comfortable mattresses I've ever slept on, and an excellent host in Sebastiao and all at a very economical price - what more could I have wanted?

The Inn is conveniently situated just 5 or so minutes stroll from the centre of Tavira. There is no breakfast provided but this uited me fine as one of my pet hates is feeling I have to get up by a certain time for a breakfast as I've paid for. Instead here I could just stroll under the bridge to the local cafe in less than a minute as and when I felt like it.

Sebastiao is an excellent host, justifiably proud of his beautiful inn, very helpful and the two restaurant recommendations he gave me were spot on. I certainly hope to return and would not hesitate to recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LornaWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

This is an interesting, comfortable and very economical small inn that sits almost under a high railway bridge, and just across the road from the river that runs through Tavira. You can't hear the trains from inside because of the extra thick glass used for the windows. There is an arty, tastefully eccentric ambience to this hideaway; original art hangs everywhere, well-chosen and placed antique furnishings decorate the halls and landings, and our room had a nice balcony facing the ivy-covered hillside at the rear. The inn itself is lush with ivy and other plants. Our bed was extremely comfortable, with a memory foam mattress. The bathroom was a nice size, with shower. There are no services, e.g., towel replacement, bed-making, cleaning, except every 4 days (we stayed 3). However, the owner is a very welcoming and helpful person, with lots of advice about what to see and where to eat in Tavira. The inn has a beautiful pool and pool deck, and would be ideal in warmer weather than when we were there. We arrived in Tavira by bus, and the inn was just a short walk from the main bus station. It is also a short walk from the centre of town - a lovely town!
At the end of our stay, the owner insisted on driving us to the train station. We like him and his inn, and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael-Rosella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunbar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Great week at Sebastiano's Taviria Inn and he provided guidance on restaurants and places to visit locally The small Inn is within easy walking of the centre of charming Taveria and we also had a great visit to Seville using local buses

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies are best
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavira hotels
0.2 mi away
Maria Nova Lounge Hotel
0.6 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#7 of 15 in Tavira
1,055 reviews
1.6 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#4 of 15 in Tavira
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#3 of 15 in Tavira
360 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#11 of 15 in Tavira
113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pousada Convento Tavira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tavira Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavira Inn

Property: Tavira Inn
Address: Rua Antonio Afonso 39, Tavira 8800-251, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tavira Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delicious place to stay! - Basic needs, reduced in service and price. - 6 En-suit double rooms and a seawater swimming pool. Air conditioning is an option. - Well located by the railway bridge just 3 minutes distance walking to center town. - 5 Minutes distance walking to boat terminal that goes to the beach - Tavira island. Better than this is the guests comments ... 4.5 Points out of 5 along 10 years ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Tavira Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tavira Hotel Tavira
Tavira Inn Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing