We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place to chill out”
Review of Tavira Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tavira Inn
Ranked #17 of 28 Tavira B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Arriving from the hectic north of Europe, it took me 24 hours to chill out and relax to the southern beat; the Tavira Inn is just the place to do so and Tavira's a great town to relax in. Our room was tasteful and comfortable, not opulent but relaxing. If you want coffee makers, face cream and shower caps, a trouser press and your bin emptying daily for you, you've come to the wrong place. If you want to escape all that, you'll be happy.

Host Sebastiao is charming, helpful and fluent in English; I would certainly recommend following his advice on places to eat - we did and therefore found a couple of excellent places that we would almost certainly have missed. There are plenty of nice places to eat in Tavira and the town centre is very picturesque, not overrun with package tourists or lager louts.

Practicalities:
(1) free off-road car parking is available next to the entrance;
(2) there's a small fridge in your room where juice, yoghurts, beers etc can be kept cool;
(3) air con is available for a supplement but we found that we didn't need it in early September as the powerful fan was sufficient to keep us cool;
(4) by local standards there are strangely few mosquitos around the Tavira Inn, which is great, but you'd be foolish to sleep with the windows open. We had no problem - though I did get some mozzie/midge bites on the beach and whilst out in the evenings;
(5) the trains are infrequent and go past so quickly that the noise is not a problem;
(6) The free wifi worked well in our room
(7) there's a cafe next door which opens at 9am on 6 days a week, but we walked to the central square every day (7 minutes) for coffee and excellent cakes in the pastellaria.

Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Downhill-Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
There are newer reviews for Tavira Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

We had a great stay at Tavira Inn! The hotel is 5 mins away from the lovely town center and it has all the commodities one might need with a really nice swimming pool. The owner Sebastao is incredibly friendly and makes all the guests feel very welcome. It is a place with a history, and a very "homey" feeling. I would definitely go back to there, and spend a little more than 4 days...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ehx66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I were looking for a quiet place to spend some time in the Algarve. Seems like we hit the spot on the first try. Sebastiao, Tavira Inn's owner, not only is a very fun man, speaking a fluent english (which is not so common in Tavira), but is also a real artist, as you can see by his canvases and artworks around the rooms. He was really kind, suggesting us where to have some real restaurant treats outside the tourist traps. We had interesting conversations in front of a glass of wonderful portuguese white wine he offered us, and also enjoyed the small but cozy salt water swimming pool. The place is not far from downtown if you don't mind a three-minute walk. To be perfect, it should also have breakfast included. It is a matter of time though, since Sebastiao has just finished furnishing his brand new "Outside In" restaurant, which will also be the breakfast spot. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 187823Gabriele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

At a 7 minute walking distance from de centre of Tavira we found, with some help of local people, Sebastiao's place. We immidiately liked the atmosphere of the place. Sebastiao explained how it works at the 'Tavira Inn' and gave us some house rules ("don't put glasses or bottles on stony parts in the room, you'll hear it all over the place").
The room itself is OK and the bed is excellent; we slept at least 9 hours every night !
You can hear the neighbours when they use the shower and by daytime sometimes the train when it passes the bridge (10 seconds) but who cares.
The terrace, the swimming pool and the trees/plants are wonderful. We enjoyed having breakfast there and taking a swim now and then.
We had a few drinks at Sebastiao's new challence: the "Outside inn" restaurant, which was not open yet. It looks very "gezellig" (= nice&cosy). Sebastiao: thanks for a wonderful nice stay at your place

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerrit1657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Spot on for the unique atmosphere and ambience; a mixture of an artist creating a living space and a cozy inn. Sebastio uses his career in hotel management and his artistic flair to create a one of a kind experience at a price that will surprise. Making the acquaintance of the proprietor is worth more than the price of the room. He has many surprises in store so we highly recommend this original for your itinerary! We will go back for certain!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We booked the standard room for few nights. the guest house is at 10min walking distance from train station. We got a long flight to Portugal and was hoping to get a nap in the afternoon to recover . But the noise of the train passing by on top of the inn ( afternoon) was too much. We also bothered by the noises of the guests in both of the other rooms whenever they took shower.we complaint about this but we found the owner has no interest to hear it. At night it seems more quiet, but there was mosquito and moths (like bugs) flying in the bathrooms causing us stress and restless living there. We had to close the windows all the time even nice weather outside.At night when we entered the room after a long day out we found that there was bad smell like dead rats were inside the room , we found out the smell was coming from the hole at the shower place where the water was flowing out.

Room is basic, bathroom looks dirty on the wall and old. The note on the bedroom door has emphasized how good the bed is- sorry because what matters to us is not just the bed quality, also the atmosphere whether its relax or not . Wifi signal were weak in our room we lose the signal most of time. There is no facility to make tea or coffee. When we asked for the possibility, the answer was whatever available was written on facility page on booking side. We were hoping that they is a common place to get some hot water at least but the answer is no. To chill out, you just need to go to the beach but not stay at this house.

I feel that the owner seems to be overly proud with all the good reviews and has absolute no interest to hear any negative comment even we put it nicely as we really tried to relax there but we felt unhappy there. we were out the entire day only go back for sleep. Of course on guest book we saw only positive comments but when we chat with the couples stay next to our rooms , they were also unhappy but due to non cancellation policy they sticked to it(they booked there for more than a week)
If you don't mind all the above, it's a place where you can stay to visit any place close by on foot. Tavira is lovely.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank suaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastia0Bast0s, Owner at Tavira Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2013

Yes it is true, i am very happy with most of the reviews i get here.

Concerning your stay I have to tell you that if you sleep with windows open and lights on during the night at the bath room you will get bugs.
Noisy ? you were informed that the place is by the railway bridge ! but even so, most of my guests found the place very quite.

But ms. Usuki maybe in your country things are diferente ... here if your choice was a room without balcony for a certain price you cannot expect to get an upgrade room with balcony without paying the right price, as you asked.

If you book and paid for 4 night, you cannot blame on me if you decide to go to Spain... as you did.

and by the way... your room was really bad when you left.

Anyway it is not possible to please everybody.

Regards
Sebastiao

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We were looking for somewhere out of the ordinary, with a friendly, welcoming feel. We certainly came up trumps with the Tavira Inn. Sabastiao was the most welcoming host we can recall, the Tavira Inn was charming, interesting and very comfortable. The pool looked really inviting, but in mid April was still too cold to swim in, so we cooled our legs and then relaxed on the loungers to read our books. What a great location, only a few minutes from the Bus terminus, we used the buses to explore the region. A truly memorable holiday, thanks Sabastiao

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard_RDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavira hotels
0.2 mi away
Maria Nova Lounge Hotel
0.6 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#8 of 15 in Tavira
1,095 reviews
1.6 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#3 of 15 in Tavira
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pousada Convento Tavira
0.9 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#11 of 15 in Tavira
117 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#4 of 15 in Tavira
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tavira Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavira Inn

Address: Rua Antonio Afonso 39, Tavira 8800-251, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Tavira
Price Range: £43 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tavira Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delicious place to stay! - Basic needs, reduced in service and price. - 6 En-suit double rooms and a seawater swimming pool. Air conditioning is an option. - Well located by the railway bridge just 3 minutes distance walking to center town. - 5 Minutes distance walking to boat terminal that goes to the beach - Tavira island. Better than this is the guests comments ... 4.5 Points out of 5 along 10 years ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tavira Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tavira Hotel Tavira
Tavira Inn Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing