We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Tavira Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tavira Inn
Ranked #16 of 28 Tavira B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I think in terms of location it couldn't be better, and the B & B is a charming building with a good pool, but there is room for improvement; just small touches or modernisations that would make the stay more pleasant, eg, towels were old, shower curtain unable to open fully. But the main problem was the lack of regular cleaning of rooms (check the small print when booking - it does warn you they do not clean rooms duting stay!). When you first arrive the room is clean, but after 3/4 days it was very dusty and suffered with sore running eyes and noses, making it difficult to sleep, and we don't even suffer from allergies. So would recommend staying elsewhere as there are plenty of other value for money accommodation in Tavira that is cleaned on a daily basis, which I now realise is a must whilst trying to enjoy your holiday!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LillyCherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastia0Bast0s, Owner at Tavira Inn, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Guest

Although you were informed about our conditions you decided by booking my place. Questions of price ?

At my property i cannot find any reason for daily cleanings and towels replaced every day, as you do not do that at home. Like that you get 25% reduction on prices from my direct competitors.

But, in 3 or 4 days having your room so dusty ... what have you been doing ?
Next time "5 stars" hotels and you can be surprised !...

But here you get an amazing property, stylish decor... a quirky place as most of the guest comment.

They are happy and so am I.
Sorry about you.

Regards
Sebastiao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    80
    5
    7
    6
See reviews for
7
120
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Just spent a wonderful four days at the Tavira inn.
I really enjoyed this small hotel and it's very relaxed atmosphere.
It's a very central location (5 mins walk from centre)and my room was spotless and bed very comfortable.
Sebastiao was a great host who always has a great story and lots af local advice.
I'll be back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank colbert2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had read several good reviews of Tavira Inn before booking and it met all our expectations. Sebastiao is an entertaining, caring host and made us very welcome in an unobtrusive way. The Inn is situated in a quiet spot, just outside the main town, within easy reach of the centre and many eateries. This, together with the fridge supplied, made it easy to eat a variety of meals in excellent, varied locations. Travelling without a car, we were pleased to find the bus station fairly close. Local buses were found to be easy to use and reliable. A ferry takes you across to the amazing beaches; the trip is fun in itself, and a tourist train also wends its way around the town.
We booked an upper floor room with balcony and air-conditioning. This turned out to be spacious and very comfortable. The balcony had chairs, table and a good view of the river and the salt-water pool. We did not try this (it was April) but it looked inviting. And so to the railway bridge and the train, which have already been written about many times. The bridge is a marvelous construction, which frames the view of the river perfectly.The near pillar adds to the privacy of the Inn. The train, when you see it, is small,as noisy as you would expect, gone very fast(a few seconds) and is quite infrequent. It became a challenge to try and photograph it! It runs into the evening and from early morning, not overnight, and , in our view added to the ambience. In fact, nothing bothered us overnight, as the efficient glazing, location and small size of the Inn make it one of the quietest places we have stayed in.
Tavira , we found to be warm, welcoming and full of interest. (Like the Inn!) Cobbled streets, interesting architecture,features and very scenic. Probably not a teenage idea of paradise, but for those looking, like ourselves, for a relaxing, laid back holiday, with a true flavour of the Algarve, it may be hard to beat.

Room Tip: We saw other rooms, which seemed fine, but the balcony was well worth having.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 970Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I stayed here on my own in June 2013 for a week.

With regards to the accommodation, its is very comfortable with splashes of Sebastian's quirky personality about the house - the en-suite room has more than everything you want (Air con is extra but the way the rooms have been built there is a natural ventilation that it was not necessary) For one person my room was huge and for two people they are definitely spacious. Even despite the whole house being full you don't hear much noise from anyone else and you had your own privacy.

There are no TV's (who needs a TV on holiday?) but if you are desperate there is very good wifi throughout.

The Town Centre is a 5 minute walk, and 10 to where you get the ferry to the beach on the Ilha de Tavira - the pool was also a welcome addition on days where it was windy or when you were going to stay in town.

As many people have mentioned the host, Sebastian, really makes you feel at home - he is so knowledgeable on the area and knows everything to do, see and most importantly where to eat! if you are lucky he might take you for a spin on his Harley Davidson or have a tour of his art work and collectibles.

I would 100% go back and I have recommended to a number of friends and family - great if you want to get away for a week, not think about anything too much, and just settle into life in Tavira.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doornspijk, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I actually did not stay overnight in the Tavira Inn. I met Sebastiao on the street outside his bnb. We spent some great time together, I swam in the pool (which is very, very nice), I took a nice warm shower, I saw the bedrooms (which looked very, very comfortable). Everything looked very clean, it is only a few minutes walk from the center, and on a beautiful location. And on top of that, Sebastiao was the nicest, friendliest and most welcoming person. The way he invited me in was suprising and heartwarming. I am very happy to have met him and to have had the chance to see this lovely place. To lay outside in the sun, looking at the beautiful green landscape he created, after a great swim ... You can only imagine :) Lots of love, Henriët

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henriët R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The room was very comfortable, clean and spacious. It is a relaxing little inn that is about a 10 minute walk into the centre of town. Our room had a fridge so we could keep a few beverages and breakfast items on hand. The garden setting of the Inn is lovely, the pool area is nice for relaxing and the host Sebastio is eager to help. He suggested a dinner spot which exceeded our expectations. We enjoyed our stay here and would stay again if ever in Tavira.
This was not a negative for us but there is a commuter train that infrequently crosses above the inn. It takes no more than 10 seconds and it is gone. It does not run at night so it was no problem for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OHSee1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We went back again this year to Tavira Inn and found it to be really relaxing as usual.The Pool is very good; it is kept so clean and is always enticing. Also there seem to be no mosquitoes around at all, which is real bonus. Best of all though is the location: quiet yet so near to the centre of Tavira.
The host is always most welcoming. All in all this is the place to go if you want peace and quiet n lovely surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank visitor74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavira hotels
0.2 mi away
Maria Nova Lounge Hotel
0.6 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#7 of 15 in Tavira
1,066 reviews
1.6 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#3 of 15 in Tavira
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#11 of 15 in Tavira
114 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#4 of 15 in Tavira
363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pousada Convento Tavira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tavira Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavira Inn

Property: Tavira Inn
Address: Rua Antonio Afonso 39, Tavira 8800-251, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tavira Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delicious place to stay! - Basic needs, reduced in service and price. - 6 En-suit double rooms and a seawater swimming pool. Air conditioning is an option. - Well located by the railway bridge just 3 minutes distance walking to center town. - 5 Minutes distance walking to boat terminal that goes to the beach - Tavira island. Better than this is the guests comments ... 4.5 Points out of 5 along 10 years ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tavira Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tavira Hotel Tavira
Tavira Inn Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing