We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cabanas Resort Park
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Tavira
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet”
Reviewed 1 October 2007

If you want peace and quiet, this is ideal. Cabanas has a few good fish restaurants, so if you want a full night life, this is not the place to go. However, if you prefer a relaxing time this is ideal. There is a bit of walking to do, i.e. walk to boat to (fairly empty, long sandy) beach 5-10 mins, walk into Cabanas 10-15mins, walk to supermarket 10-15 mins. It is also a fair distance to Tavira, but this is well worth a visit. A taxi into Tavira costs approx. 7 euros, but you can get the train (train station about 20 min walk) for 1 euro. It's worth visiting the water tower in Tavira. The train takes you along the Algarve coast and a trip to Villa Real de Santo Antonio with a ferry trip to Spain takes about half a day.
The apartments are very comfortable with good cooking facilities and a good shower. We had a stunning view of the Ria Formosa marshes. There is a large pool, which was always peaceful during our stay and a jacuzzi, steam room and small gym.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Tentpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    289
    95
    19
    5
See reviews for
178
359
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2007

We spent a week at the Cabanas Park Resort in June 2007. The hotel is very clean, the apartments are a good size and all have air conditioning. The swimming pool is lovely and big - around 25m long and it never had many people in it when we were there, so unlike in some hotels, you could swim in it properly. The only downside to the pool is that if you go out of season it is likely to be a little too cold. When we first arrived it was windy and the pool is quite exposed, so it was a bit chilly when we got out, but by the time we left the weather was very hot. When we were cold after a swim the indoor jacuzzi and steam room soon warmed us up, but you might have to wait to get in them in high season. The beach was a little bit further away than we had been led to believe. It's a 5 minute walk to the boat, followed by a 90 second crossing by boat (across a river where there will surely be a bridge before too long), followed by another 5 minute walk. As others have said, the beach is lovely, but don't expect much in the way of watersports. The sea in June is still pretty nippy so we didn't swim there for long.
The staff - apart from one unfriendly waiter in the restaurant, who, when my girlfriend ordered a glass of red wine, brought out a whole bottle of particularly nasty red wine without even letting us see the wine list - were excellent. Unlike other contributors we loved the firm beds, and slept like logs on them.
The hotel really is excellent for families with young children - lots of games and activities to keep the children busy, while the parents can lounge by the pool. We were a bit disappointed with the activities for adults - the bikes to rent from the hotel were all too small for anyone over about 5'10".
The only other disappointment for us about the hotel was the lack of atmosphere and people at the bar / restaurant at night. Cabanas is a very quiet little resort with only a few bars and restaurants to keep you busy in the evening. Tavira - which is a 10 minute drive away, and is a really attractive little town, unspoilt by overdevelopment - has more to offer, but if it's clubs and casinos you're after (we weren't), you'd be better off going to one of the bigger resorts. As others have said, you really do need a car, but if you have one it's a great base to visit western Spain (Seville is about 2hrs away), as well as most of the Algarve. All in all we had a great holiday.

  • Liked — Great pool, jacuzzi and steam room, most of the staff were great.
  • Disliked — One bad waiter, atmosphere in bar / restaurant, other guests could have been friendlier
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wondersexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2007

Cabanas is paradise if you love empty beautiful beaches and you are perfectly OK with the authentic experience of being in a place where mass-tourism has not landed yet. Thanks to buidling codes and the fact that this is a nature reserve, this area has virtually not changed in the last 15 years. Cabanas Resort Park is a new structure, but it blends into the environment because it has only three floors. I had an apt on the west side of the building which has unobstructed views over the wetlands. This is more an apt-complex than a hotel, The apts are nice, clean, modern and comfortable, with a large terrace.

The huge pool was empty. On the roof is a nice gym facility and the building has a car-park in the basement.

As others mentioned, this place is too far away from the restaurants to just walk, you defenitely need a car.

The real attraction is the beach. This is the most beautiful beach in the world. Never have I seen such an overwhelming piece of nature. I just love it here. The fact that you can only reach the beach by taking the courtesy boat-shuttle makes that this place is even more deserted than when it would be possible to reach it by car or without having to take the boat.

Go here and you'll have the most relaxed stay in your life!

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank ny501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2007

We enjoyed our break at the Cabanas Park, although the hard beds took a bit of getting used to. You have to walk through what is at present a building site to get to Cabanas (about 15 minute walk) and to the beach boat (about 10 minutes). When you get to the other side it is another 5 minute walk to get to the beach. We don't like driving but if we stayed here again we would hire a car. You can't get a taxi back to the hotel from Cabanas because the taxis are all based in Tavira and won't come out for a short run, unless they have another job in Cabanas! The hotel pool was lovely and the apartment was clean and well equiped, although I have never stayed in a four star where the towels are only changed three times a week and the beds once a week. I am sure if you asked they would change them more often though. This is a nice hotel if you don't mind walking and I think once the building work has finished it will be quite a pleasant walk through new apartments.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank breenalison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisboa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2007

Nice place to expend a few days with tha family, very clean and new. Very good swiming-pools and restaurant.

The room is full-equiped.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LisboaSofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2007

We're a family with one young child, aged 21 months. This hotel was ideal for us because it had good facilities (we went half board but still had a full kitchen with fridge and microwave) and each room was more like a small apartment so we could put Ben to sleep in the bedroom and relax in the lounge. The rooms were cleaned regularly and are still in a good condition as the hotel is relatively new. The kitchens were fully equipped and had plenty of utensils/crockery.

The staff were very friendly and loved to make a fuss of Ben. In particular in the restaurant they were always helpful and made sure he had everything he needed.

The food itself was of a good standard and, whilst the selection was not the widest, it was fresh and the menu changed every evening. However, if you don't like fish you will find your choices limited! The wine list was good too, carrying a great selection of Portuguese whites and reds.

The other facilities in the hotel were good, although the pools are unheated and so were too cold to use at this early stage of the year. There were other good facilities for kids though, like a bouncy castle and sports equipment, none of which were charged for.

I would recommend you hire a car if you're staying here, just because it'll allow you to explore further - the area local to the hotel is probably not enough to keep you entertained for more than a few days. There are a couple of supermarkets in Cabanas (about 15 minutes walk along the road to the hotel and then up towards the main road from Faro) which will have everything you need if you're self catering.

Must recommend the beach by Faro airport - clean and pretty, and not too close to be bothered by the planes but still allows the kids a great view of take-offs.

All in all a good hotel and one I would recommend for those seeking quieter family accomodation.

  • Liked — Accomodation itself - roomy, clean, well-appointed, friendly.
  • Disliked — Cold pools!
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 June 2006

Stayed at this hotel for two weeks in the beginning of june. It's a new, fresh and modern apartment hotel. The hotelstaff is okay but should work on their charms... One big thing that really sucks is the location of the hotel. You get the feeling that it's pretty close to the city of Tavira, but it's not. It's 8km away.

The apartment was nice, except for the very, very hard beds. Count on two-three days of pain in the back before your body adjusts to the new madrasses. Nice balcony, good kitchen and tv. The cleaning staff usually come and visit around noon but often they didnt show up until 5pm which is rather late I think.

Bathing at Cabanas Park Resort is great. Love the pool and the jacuzzi, aswell as the beautiful beaches. To get there you go by boat, it takes maybe 2 minutes from one side to the other. Then you have to walk for about 5 min to get to the beach. There's also a turkish bath (steam sauna) which is pretty good. The gym sucked though... too small and too few options to get a good workout.

There's free Wi-Fi at the bottom level of the building, and if you don't have your own computer there's a computer by the reception which cost about 4 euro/hour to use.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavira hotels
2.0 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#7 of 15 in Tavira
1,058 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#3 of 15 in Tavira
361 reviews
1.3 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#4 of 15 in Tavira
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Maria Nova Lounge Hotel
1.6 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#11 of 15 in Tavira
113 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pousada Convento Tavira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas Resort Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Resort Park

Property: Cabanas Resort Park
Address: Cabanas de Tavira, Tavira 08800, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tavira
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabanas Resort Park 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cabanas Resort Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas Resort Park Hotel Tavira
Cabanas Hotel Park
Cabanas Hotel Tavira
Cabanas Park Resort
Cabanas Resort Park Tavira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing