We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but far far away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cabanas Resort Park
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Tavira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2007

Listen, we booked this Hotel last minute via the Easyjet website so it was all rather rushed. After reading the Easyjet review and other reviews on the Trip Advisor site we thought it was going to be a pretty safe bet - however, it was AWFUL.
Ok, maybe a bit harsh but here is the reality.......... the hotel is rated 4*, well this is absolutely not true, it is a 3* star at best. It was clean and tidy but that is as good as it gets. The staff were all quite rude, the Gym was a complete joke with NONE of the equipment in sound working order (the spa and steam room were good however), the food was blooming awful (having said that I wouldn't say Portugal as a whole is great on the old food thing really). Views were ok, although it was of marsh land and building work. With all of this in mind I would still say that the worst part of the Hotel is definately the location, it is in a DEAD resort in the middle of nowhere, you absolutely 100% have to have a car to get out and about. Oh yeah, and the beach.......well we never found one!!!!! We were so ready to come home after the third day when we decided to have a day out in Vilamoura - thank god we did - this was like a breath of fresh air. We actually left the Cabanas Park Resort four days early and paid extra to stay at the Olympus 4* hotel at Vilamoura Marina. It was the best thing we did.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank leighlucie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

450 - 456 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2007

Nice quiet aparthotel, £27 per night
set out on its own, beside half built apartments, the noise doesnt affect,
nice grounds, nice cold pool, very poor gym, jaccuzzi ok, steam room ok, rooms pleasant,
i had one overlooking the marsh, which could be a bit smelly, but i found it no problem and nice and peacefull
at first i found it to cut off even though i had a car, but as my 6 days went on the more i liked it,
no soundproofing in hotel which appears normal, but rooms 115,215,315 because of hotel shape have bedrooms which are not next to another room, i was in 315,
kitchenette basic, no freezer compartment in fridge
sky news, and eurosport only english t.v.
beds hard, but did get used to them
in room safe for rental,
cleaned most days,
good balcony to chill out watching the sunset,
noticed in some websites they were offering apartments including parking, but extra cost for underground parking not needed,
but in the peak times, easter then summer hols might be tight parking,
cabanas,
had sky bar, which was handy for rugby semi final
very laid back little resort,
about 8 restaurants couple of snack bars,
a paper shop, small supermarket,
enough for a week, it was quite quaint
the beach us very good , but by free boat,
as the last one is 5, in october, which was to early in my opinion,
you can go to similar beach just past tavira, which has a pontoon bridge then mini train (1 euro) or 15 minute walk, to another huge beach
so big if you wish to walk naked for a few miles no problem as most were doing this.
tavira i felt was average,
monte gordo was better just by choice of food shops etc,
but not like other busy british type resorts, albuefeira, oura etc,
also visited,
isla canella in spain and , oura, lagos, albuefeira, portimau, sagres, villamoura, vale de lobo, and a couple of others
I liked either the furthest west with the stunning cliffs and beaches or the east of faro, as it seemed more of a laid back algarve
summing up
only just a 4 star
nice place to take your kids, nice and safe,
but you need a car
you can get by without, as taxi and train are walkable
but to see places car needed

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank exglobalagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2007

If you want peace and quiet, this is ideal. Cabanas has a few good fish restaurants, so if you want a full night life, this is not the place to go. However, if you prefer a relaxing time this is ideal. There is a bit of walking to do, i.e. walk to boat to (fairly empty, long sandy) beach 5-10 mins, walk into Cabanas 10-15mins, walk to supermarket 10-15 mins. It is also a fair distance to Tavira, but this is well worth a visit. A taxi into Tavira costs approx. 7 euros, but you can get the train (train station about 20 min walk) for 1 euro. It's worth visiting the water tower in Tavira. The train takes you along the Algarve coast and a trip to Villa Real de Santo Antonio with a ferry trip to Spain takes about half a day.
The apartments are very comfortable with good cooking facilities and a good shower. We had a stunning view of the Ria Formosa marshes. There is a large pool, which was always peaceful during our stay and a jacuzzi, steam room and small gym.

Stayed: September 2007
2  Thank Tentpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2007

We spent a week at the Cabanas Park Resort in June 2007. The hotel is very clean, the apartments are a good size and all have air conditioning. The swimming pool is lovely and big - around 25m long and it never had many people in it when we were there, so unlike in some hotels, you could swim in it properly. The only downside to the pool is that if you go out of season it is likely to be a little too cold. When we first arrived it was windy and the pool is quite exposed, so it was a bit chilly when we got out, but by the time we left the weather was very hot. When we were cold after a swim the indoor jacuzzi and steam room soon warmed us up, but you might have to wait to get in them in high season. The beach was a little bit further away than we had been led to believe. It's a 5 minute walk to the boat, followed by a 90 second crossing by boat (across a river where there will surely be a bridge before too long), followed by another 5 minute walk. As others have said, the beach is lovely, but don't expect much in the way of watersports. The sea in June is still pretty nippy so we didn't swim there for long.
The staff - apart from one unfriendly waiter in the restaurant, who, when my girlfriend ordered a glass of red wine, brought out a whole bottle of particularly nasty red wine without even letting us see the wine list - were excellent. Unlike other contributors we loved the firm beds, and slept like logs on them.
The hotel really is excellent for families with young children - lots of games and activities to keep the children busy, while the parents can lounge by the pool. We were a bit disappointed with the activities for adults - the bikes to rent from the hotel were all too small for anyone over about 5'10".
The only other disappointment for us about the hotel was the lack of atmosphere and people at the bar / restaurant at night. Cabanas is a very quiet little resort with only a few bars and restaurants to keep you busy in the evening. Tavira - which is a 10 minute drive away, and is a really attractive little town, unspoilt by overdevelopment - has more to offer, but if it's clubs and casinos you're after (we weren't), you'd be better off going to one of the bigger resorts. As others have said, you really do need a car, but if you have one it's a great base to visit western Spain (Seville is about 2hrs away), as well as most of the Algarve. All in all we had a great holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wondersexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2007

Cabanas is paradise if you love empty beautiful beaches and you are perfectly OK with the authentic experience of being in a place where mass-tourism has not landed yet. Thanks to buidling codes and the fact that this is a nature reserve, this area has virtually not changed in the last 15 years. Cabanas Resort Park is a new structure, but it blends into the environment because it has only three floors. I had an apt on the west side of the building which has unobstructed views over the wetlands. This is more an apt-complex than a hotel, The apts are nice, clean, modern and comfortable, with a large terrace.

The huge pool was empty. On the roof is a nice gym facility and the building has a car-park in the basement.

As others mentioned, this place is too far away from the restaurants to just walk, you defenitely need a car.

The real attraction is the beach. This is the most beautiful beach in the world. Never have I seen such an overwhelming piece of nature. I just love it here. The fact that you can only reach the beach by taking the courtesy boat-shuttle makes that this place is even more deserted than when it would be possible to reach it by car or without having to take the boat.

Go here and you'll have the most relaxed stay in your life!

Stayed: June 2007
3  Thank ny501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2007

We enjoyed our break at the Cabanas Park, although the hard beds took a bit of getting used to. You have to walk through what is at present a building site to get to Cabanas (about 15 minute walk) and to the beach boat (about 10 minutes). When you get to the other side it is another 5 minute walk to get to the beach. We don't like driving but if we stayed here again we would hire a car. You can't get a taxi back to the hotel from Cabanas because the taxis are all based in Tavira and won't come out for a short run, unless they have another job in Cabanas! The hotel pool was lovely and the apartment was clean and well equiped, although I have never stayed in a four star where the towels are only changed three times a week and the beds once a week. I am sure if you asked they would change them more often though. This is a nice hotel if you don't mind walking and I think once the building work has finished it will be quite a pleasant walk through new apartments.

Stayed: June 2007
2  Thank breenalison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2007

Nice place to expend a few days with tha family, very clean and new. Very good swiming-pools and restaurant.

The room is full-equiped.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LisboaSofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavira hotels
1.6 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#12 of 15 in Tavira
121 reviews
2.2 mi away
Maria Nova Lounge Hotel
2.4 mi away
Pousada Convento Tavira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#6 of 15 in Tavira
1,143 reviews
1 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#5 of 15 in Tavira
401 reviews
1.3 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#3 of 15 in Tavira
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas Resort Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Resort Park

Address: Cabanas de Tavira, Tavira 08800, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tavira
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tavira
Price Range: £31 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabanas Resort Park 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cabanas Resort Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas Resort Park Hotel Tavira
Cabanas Hotel Park
Cabanas Hotel Tavira
Cabanas Park Resort
Cabanas Resort Park Tavira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing