We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - some problems”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cabanas Resort Park
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Tavira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Visited Cabanas at the end of September as an Easyjet holiday. Quiet peaceful location - excellent for bird-watching as the property is next to a salt marsh reserve. The beach is a short boat ride and longish walk away. We stayed as a couple in a four person apartment on a half board basis. Unfortunately we had the worst room on the property, 125. This is on the ground floor with the roadway to the underground garage going underneath and the balcony overlooking the car park and smoking employees. The air con from the restaurant is also very noisy. After 3 days we managed to pursuade the management to move us. The beds are extremely hard and the pillows stuffed not so liberally with man made fibre.
On a positive note, the pool is excellent, no problem getting a sunbed , and the staff are very pleasant. The breakfast was lacking fruit variety but the evening meal was excellent - choice of 2 dishes and excellent fish. The drinks are relatively inexpensive. We also enjoyed an evening of Fado music.

Room Tip: Avoid room 125
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuperhooperReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

278 - 284 of 664 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

As a couple in our early 60s Cabanas Park hotel was all it promised and more. The one bedroom apartment was excellent with the sort of services needed for self catering holiday although we booked 9 nights half board. The meals were not "egon ronay" but the value was first class every evening there was always something that tickled the fancy.
I would recommend a car unless your vacation was just to totally relax.
Staff were particularly nice especially the waiters and waitresses in the dinning room who were innocently enchanting. Martin & Anne N.Irl.

Room Tip: Go for a one bedroom apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The aparthotel room was amazing - fully equipped and very clean. The room/apartment was cleaned everyday apart from saturdays and tuesdays (which we were informed of when we checked-in) and the towels were changed when requested.
We were half-board and found the food very enjoyable - we were prepared to go out for some evenings meals but didn't in the end as the food was so good. The evening meals had both a meat and fish option and all the fish was fantastic! I was happy that local dishes were served - no point going to Portugal and not trying some Portuguese food! Also, with it being a buffet set-up you can try a bit of everything. I imagine the food would not be great for vegetarians but if you are happy to eat meat and/or fish then its perfect. The breakfast was a standard continental breakfast - sweet things, toast, cereals, yoghurts, cooked breakfast or hams/cheeses and did nicely :) Cabanas itself is a 10min walk from the hotel and is a nice little place with plenty of bars and a good sized supermarket. For lunchtime we bought sandwich things from the supermarket and made them in the apartment.
The location is good - the nature reserve is very peaceful and great to tour by kayak (can be hired from the reception). It is easy to cycle (also hire from the hotel), walk or get the bus to Tavira (a must visit if you go here). There is also a free boat taxi to the beach - the beach is beautiful, clean and big so never feels overcrowded. We also got the train to the Vila Real at the Spanish border. Both the bus driver and train conductor spoke English although we did attempt to ask for tickets in Portuguese.
We found all the staff very helpful and friendly. There was also free wifi in the hotel, which we were not expecting, and the pool, gym and spa were well-maintained. We greatly enjoyed the holiday and would not think twice about going here again

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bethany F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This is a very clean hotel and in a beautiful part of the Algarve. Not as dramatic as the Western side but as a bird watcher it's heaven. The Ria Formosa is wonderful to explore and you will enjoy the free boat trip over to the islands. You will get your feet wet especially when it's high tide. Great fun!
Cabanas is a nice small town with beachfront cafes and a quaint boardwalk. However,you might tire of trawling down it night after night. Tavira offers more and leads me onto transport.
Firstly you will need a car to fully appreciate the area. I know busses and trains run here but the car offers much more flexibility.
The rooms are comfortable and large, offering good value and even though we were half board we had full kitchen facilities and a fridge! Bonus! The food is more than adequate but can be limiting to some in choice.
The pool is excellent, clean and huge and set in gardens that are well tended.
So is it a paradise? Any faults lurking? As far as the property is concerned I would say no but......
The only down side? Arrogant and I mean extremely arrogant and discourteous Maitre De's. The actual staff are very polite, hard working and attentive but ask the head waiters a question and you'll be brushed aside with an arrogant retort. Unfortunately it's a story we unheard frequently. A great shame as they are in service and should be helpful.
Isn't that part of their job?
Would we return? Yes but personally the dramatic coastline of the Central and Western Algarve is more appealing for us.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mgillies1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We love cabanas and cannot wait to return again and again. Cabanas park is a nice hotel to stay in always clean and most of the staff are excellent. The food is not very good and limited especially if you are vegetarian. The pool is lovely and the wildlife amazing. What the hotel is missing is a little shop for water etc. we hired bikes and found it an easy and enjoyable way of getting around. If you just want to chill this is the place to be x cannot wait to return next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mhancock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I visited Cabanas for the first time with my fiance and wasn't disappointed.
Everywhere was kept clean, I always saw lots of maids and groundskeepers milling around
throughout the day. We were particulary happy with the fact that there was always spare sunbeds so the usual scramble for a good spot was avoided, thankfully.

The food wasn't the best I've had - one night I had turkey with blood in the middle. Not great at all. The rest of the food was fairly average. The soup was very very good, it tasted homemade and was actually the nicest part of the meal! However, I wouldn't let this put you off - it wouldn't discourage me from going back as there was plenty of choice in the evenings and always something different every night.

The reception were extremely helpful, very polite and willing to do everything for you. We got a taxi to the town and the shopping centre a couple of times and reception staff were always happy to call them for us. The taxis a great by the way, and good prices.

On the 4th night we very unfortunately found our room infested with ants. They were all over the floors and quite alot on our bed. It was just before midnight and although the staff didn't come and investigate, they did give us ant killer (which wasn't ideal as we had to sleep with all the balcony doors open to prevent us being gassed!) but the problem was dealt with the next day by room service.

It is about a 15 minute walk into the Cabanas village and is worth the walk. There are plenty of restaurants, cafes, bars and shops (most of which are fairly touristy). The walk through the village is very nice and we found cocktails and drinks in general to be very cheap!

Overall, we enjoyed our stay! I would advise you're prepared for the fact that it isn't all that exciting either in the hotel or in the village but if you're after a relaxing and quiet stay, this is the place for you! A beautiful part of Portugal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lorna f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

3 weeks without a cloud in the sky. Very relaxed place to go. Can't wait until next year. Great value for money

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavira hotels
2.0 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#7 of 15 in Tavira
1,117 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#5 of 15 in Tavira
399 reviews
1.3 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#3 of 15 in Tavira
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Maria Nova Lounge Hotel
1.6 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#12 of 15 in Tavira
121 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pousada Convento Tavira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas Resort Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Resort Park

Address: Cabanas de Tavira, Tavira 08800, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tavira
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tavira
Price Range: £151 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabanas Resort Park 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cabanas Resort Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas Resort Park Hotel Tavira
Cabanas Hotel Park
Cabanas Hotel Tavira
Cabanas Park Resort
Cabanas Resort Park Tavira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing