We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but not if you don't like walking or driving”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cabanas Resort Park
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Tavira
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but not if you don't like walking or driving”
Reviewed 22 June 2007

We enjoyed our break at the Cabanas Park, although the hard beds took a bit of getting used to. You have to walk through what is at present a building site to get to Cabanas (about 15 minute walk) and to the beach boat (about 10 minutes). When you get to the other side it is another 5 minute walk to get to the beach. We don't like driving but if we stayed here again we would hire a car. You can't get a taxi back to the hotel from Cabanas because the taxis are all based in Tavira and won't come out for a short run, unless they have another job in Cabanas! The hotel pool was lovely and the apartment was clean and well equiped, although I have never stayed in a four star where the towels are only changed three times a week and the beds once a week. I am sure if you asked they would change them more often though. This is a nice hotel if you don't mind walking and I think once the building work has finished it will be quite a pleasant walk through new apartments.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank breenalison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    281
    89
    17
    5
See reviews for
168
350
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lisboa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2007

Nice place to expend a few days with tha family, very clean and new. Very good swiming-pools and restaurant.

The room is full-equiped.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LisboaSofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2007

We're a family with one young child, aged 21 months. This hotel was ideal for us because it had good facilities (we went half board but still had a full kitchen with fridge and microwave) and each room was more like a small apartment so we could put Ben to sleep in the bedroom and relax in the lounge. The rooms were cleaned regularly and are still in a good condition as the hotel is relatively new. The kitchens were fully equipped and had plenty of utensils/crockery.

The staff were very friendly and loved to make a fuss of Ben. In particular in the restaurant they were always helpful and made sure he had everything he needed.

The food itself was of a good standard and, whilst the selection was not the widest, it was fresh and the menu changed every evening. However, if you don't like fish you will find your choices limited! The wine list was good too, carrying a great selection of Portuguese whites and reds.

The other facilities in the hotel were good, although the pools are unheated and so were too cold to use at this early stage of the year. There were other good facilities for kids though, like a bouncy castle and sports equipment, none of which were charged for.

I would recommend you hire a car if you're staying here, just because it'll allow you to explore further - the area local to the hotel is probably not enough to keep you entertained for more than a few days. There are a couple of supermarkets in Cabanas (about 15 minutes walk along the road to the hotel and then up towards the main road from Faro) which will have everything you need if you're self catering.

Must recommend the beach by Faro airport - clean and pretty, and not too close to be bothered by the planes but still allows the kids a great view of take-offs.

All in all a good hotel and one I would recommend for those seeking quieter family accomodation.

  • Liked — Accomodation itself - roomy, clean, well-appointed, friendly.
  • Disliked — Cold pools!
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 June 2006

Stayed at this hotel for two weeks in the beginning of june. It's a new, fresh and modern apartment hotel. The hotelstaff is okay but should work on their charms... One big thing that really sucks is the location of the hotel. You get the feeling that it's pretty close to the city of Tavira, but it's not. It's 8km away.

The apartment was nice, except for the very, very hard beds. Count on two-three days of pain in the back before your body adjusts to the new madrasses. Nice balcony, good kitchen and tv. The cleaning staff usually come and visit around noon but often they didnt show up until 5pm which is rather late I think.

Bathing at Cabanas Park Resort is great. Love the pool and the jacuzzi, aswell as the beautiful beaches. To get there you go by boat, it takes maybe 2 minutes from one side to the other. Then you have to walk for about 5 min to get to the beach. There's also a turkish bath (steam sauna) which is pretty good. The gym sucked though... too small and too few options to get a good workout.

There's free Wi-Fi at the bottom level of the building, and if you don't have your own computer there's a computer by the reception which cost about 4 euro/hour to use.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2006

We're a portuguese couple with a 3 years child that stayed in Cabanas Park last week. It's a very nice Hotel with a spectacular pool in a foot shape ( large pool with 5 extra litle round pools representing the "fingers" ). If you're going to rest or with small children it's perfect and the views from "Ria Formosa" ( natural reserve ) are just great The room was nice and clean - Hotel opened in 2004 - although the cleaning service was usually done late afternoon. One advice, don't book it with meals included, not even breakfast that is very poor. You can shop locally and eat much better in your room and specially at night go for the nice fish restaurants in the village. There's also a great Pizza Restaurant that we recommend and that's very easy to find on the main street. Regarding the Hotel Restaurant we were totally unsatisfied with the very unpleasent service - rude people the least one can say - and also with the fact that if you have booked it you can only choose between one fish and one meat dish from the daily menu. Dessert there's no choice!!??
To get to the Hotel take highway A22 - "Via do Infante" direction Faro/Spain and leave direction Tavira. Go straight on the first roundabout and turn left on the second one direction Vila Real Sto. António. After 6/7 kms - there's a roundabout with a Golf player statue - turn right to Cabanas and go straight untill the River/Sea. Then turn right again and go straight to the Hotel for very nice Holidays!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank PedroGuerreiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavira hotels
1.0 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#2 of 15 in Tavira
333 reviews
1.3 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#3 of 15 in Tavira
812 reviews
2.0 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#8 of 15 in Tavira
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#11 of 15 in Tavira
111 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
2.2 mi away
Maria Nova Lounge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas Resort Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Resort Park

Property: Cabanas Resort Park
Address: Cabanas de Tavira, Tavira 08800, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tavira
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabanas Resort Park 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Priceline, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cabanas Resort Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas Resort Park Hotel Tavira
Cabanas Hotel Park
Cabanas Hotel Tavira
Cabanas Park Resort
Cabanas Resort Park Tavira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing