We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Tavira
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed here for a week in October, its really lovely, quiet but very close to town and all the restaurants. We had a standard room but it was still very large. Its a lovely old building but feels modern inside. Breakfast was excellent and ran until 11am which is so rare these days! Even when we arrived late on they refilled anything we asked for and there was a huge selection. Plenty of loungers by the pool and helpful staff - we got a great deal & hopefully we will be able to go back!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are bigger - we asked to upgrade to a suite but they were full so they gave us a corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    165
    47
    18
    5
See reviews for
81
363
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

we found this to be a delightful hotel with real character. All of the staff were very professional, friendly and very helpful. I would certainly stay here again if in this region, and look forward to seeing some other hotels in the Pousada group. Tavira has a lot to recommend it (clean, pretty, nice bars and restaurants) but I think 3 or 4 days here is probably enough

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jannie7r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Have just returned from a weeks stay at this wonderful hotel. The service was fantastic, nothing was too much trouble. Great selection for breakfast which you could enjoy in the tranquil setting of the courtyard. The position of this hotel is perfect for exploring Tavira. Lots of great restaurants within walking distance, although you do have to enjoy fish ! which is as fresh as you'll get.
We're already planning a return visit

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew652380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

It's an impressive place but then the hype dies down. It feels a bit over priced and the staff is a bit too trained you feel. Probably the nicest place in tavira still... A bit old crowd, probably perfect if you are over 50...

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fadihon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portstewart
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Without doubt the best hotel in Tavira and one of the best on the Algarve. My wife and I stayed for 5 nights on a golfing holiday in early September and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves in this beautiful hotel right in the centre of town. Everything is first class - from arrival to departure - we were treated as special guests by all the staff, nothing was too much trouble and the service was always with a big smile!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peeler-dealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to know how much you have enjoyed your stay in Tavira.
Thank you very much for recognizing the value of this Pousada, situated in the centre of the town.
The staff would also like to thank you for the appreciation on their performance.
We are glad you have wonderful memories of your stay and we hope to welcome you again in a future opportunity,
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro de Alcantara, Spain
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

in close walking distance to the local town. Although lacking a little in soul, the Pousada has large, clean rooms offering all facilities including a private parking area in the gated garden and a good pool to laze around and relax.
Tavira is a charming if rather overlooked coastal town with plenty of winding cobbled streets to explore, churches galore and ruined castle walls. Set on the inlet of an estuary it is a photographer's/bird watchers paradise. Good golf courses in the area. The restaurant serves a good choice of food with delectable pastries and cheeses.

Room Tip: Rooms were large and modern with good views and impeccably clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scorpioLZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Pousada de Tavira.
Thank you also for your nice remarks on the location, on the rooms, on the common areas and on the restaurant performance.
We believe the Pousada restoration has kept the historical atmosphere of the Convent but we truly thank for your opinion.
We are glad you have enjoyed Tavira and the members of Tripadvisor will certainly value your useful comments on this town.
We hope to welcome you again in Pousadas de Portugal,
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Overall a beautiful place incredibly situated on the edge of lovely Tavira just a short, attractive walk from the town centre. Staff are warm, friendly and helpful if the slightest bit aloof -- e.g. the bar was never crowded (which was nice) so it was a bit difficult to get service in there and they forgot to provide the bottle of wine that was meant to be in our room upon arrival (but gave it to me upon request as a going away present). The place is really beautiful and you really get a sense of its history. The pool area is lovely, though those without children will likely not appreciate how close the kiddie pool is to the regular one or the playground literally next to it, but that said the pool (in fact the hotel in general, including the restaurant) was never very crowded while we were there and when there were kids around they were relatively well-behaved. The bed was not quite as comfortable as most five-star hotels (nor the towels quite as thick) but overall our room was spacious with a very nice bathroom. Breakfast wasn't spectacular, but certainly more than adequate and we had two other meals in the restaurant which we enjoyed very much. Overall, Tavira is a gem of a location and I would happily stay at this pousada again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaCruz, E-commerce Management at Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Dear Guest,
We are glad you have enjoyed Tavira and your stay at the Pousada.
Thank you for your nice comments on the staff performance, the ambiance, the swimming pool area, the room and on the meals served.
Pousada de Tavira is set in the Convent of the Cloistered Augustinian Nuns, founded by King D. Sebastião around 1569.
Thank you also for your constructive criticism on the breakfast, the bed and the towels.
The staff always tries to provide an unforgettable stay to all guests and that includes serving customers as fast they can, even if occasionally there is some difficulties. We apologize for not having the bottle of wine available upon arrival and we will make sure it won’t happen again in the future. We appreciate your feedback so we can improve and also we will pay close attention to the occurrence of any disturbances by the swimming pool area.
We would be happy to welcome you again in your next visit to Tavira,
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavira
1.9 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#3 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#2 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#7 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#4 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maria Nova Lounge Hotel
Maria Nova Lounge Hotel
#6 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
13.5 mi away
Pousada Palacio de Estoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel

Property: Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
Address: Rua Dom Paio Peres Correia, Tavira 8800-407, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tavira
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada de Tavira is set in the 16th-century St. Augustine’s Convent and is just a few minutes walk from the Roman Bridge over Gilao River. All of the rooms in this central Tavira hotel overlook the courtyard or the hotel’s pool garden, while some have balcony. Each has a private en-suite bathroom with tub and hairdryer. Guests can relax under shady umbrellas on the poolside sun loungers. A daily breakfast buffet is offered in the dining room or in the courtyard outdoors. The restaurant serves delectable local and international cuisine for lunch and dinner. Ilha de Tavira’s white beaches are situated just 15 minutes’ drive from the Pousada. Excellent golf opportunity is offered by Benamor Golfe Course, 7 km away. Plenty of restaurants are found near to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Convento Da Graca Tavira
Pousada De Tavira Historic Hotel Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing