We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pousada Convento Tavira
Nearby Hotels
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residencial Lagoas(Tavira)(Great Value!)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$157
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (648)
Filter reviews
648 results
Traveller rating
369
194
57
20
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
369
194
57
20
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsformer conventhistoric buildingbeautiful hotelsuperior roomsteeped in historypestana groupprivate car parkinner courtyardcharming townbreakfast was excellentpool areabath showerhotel restaurantreception deskcentre of townthe riverwithin easy walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
339 - 344 of 648 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Having breakfast in the early morning sunshine or dinner under the stars in the cloisters of this former convent was cool! The rooms were classy with dark oak floorboards and were quiet and comfortable. The quadrangle surrouded by the cloisters created a wonderful airyness to the place and the pool and gardens were very peaceful. The staff were very friendly, helpful and all spoke good English. Tavira is a pleasant little town but will not sustain a long visit unless you wished to access the various National Parks for the bird-watching and nature.

Room Tip: All rooms seem fine.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

What a beautiful place, converted convent, cloisters, courtyard and peace and quiet. Lovely pool with areas to sit and read, attentive staff. Breakfast was great served inside, the plaza by the church is one of my favourite places just to sit under the trees and sip a cold beer before wandering down into town for lunch just wonderful.

Room Tip: I would imagine all rooms of a similar high standard
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

5 days of a well deserved holliday...
Peace and quietness, everybody was nice and never pushy...
The meals at the restaurant were very good...
The few time spent by the pool was very agreable
No problems at all and no complains (the kids said the wi-fi was erratic at best but I never tried or cared: I was supposed to rest not read e-mail or surf)!!!

Room Tip: we stayed at the suites...so I can't offer advice on the other rooms
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jose g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I must admit, having read the last two reviews I can't believe I was staying in the same hotel as they were. Yes, we were there on the night of the wedding, and the hotel staff went to great lengths to ensure their guests were not incommoded at all. We ate in the dining room that evening, albeit not until 8.00 p.m., the service was great, there was no waiting at all.

All in all we found the staff to be fantastic, and when asked to nominate a 'staff member of the month' were hard pressed to single any one person out as they had all been great, from reception to chamber maids and everyone in between. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

The breakfasts were typical of any large European hotel serving cooked food, cold meats and cheeses, fruit, cereals, etc. It was all self-service, apart from hot drinks which were brought to you if you wished or again you could help yourself. The restaurant meals were good and a variety to suit most tastes, although there are also some great restaurants down in the town itself to try.

We had a standard room in the new wing and found it perfectly adequate, a good bathroom, comfortable beds, and sufficient storage. In fact no complaints at all.

Would we go again? Maybe not, but only because it is at the top of the hill, up a cobbled street and I have walking difficulties, so we used to walk down and either get a taxi back up or the tourist train which stopped at the castle.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dandjNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Stayed for 4 nights as part of a wedding party - already planning to return with my partner and then on a "girlie" weekend.
The building is stunning - a mediaeval convent so comes complete with cloisters and baroque staircase. There is even an archeological site accessible from the bar. Outdoor pool is set against a backdrop of part of the ruins. Stayed in room 31 which is at back of property looking out at church of S.Maria (N.B. bells ring every hour.)
Breakfast, which is buffet-style, can be eaten under cloisters or inside. On offer is a full range of food from continental cheese/meats to hot full(ish) English. Special mention of Susana who was smiling at breakfast and still smiling 12 hours later.
Location of the Pousada could not be better - two steps from the castle ruins, church of S.Maria and the old water tower which is now a camera oscura where you can view the town in a 15 minute presentation.
The overall feeling of this hotel is one of absolute tranquility.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank lusmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews