We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to escape to enjoy R & R”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pousada Convento Tavira
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Tavira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2014

As we were in much need of some serious r&r, our dear friends recommended we visit The Pousada in Tavira. And how glad are we that we did just that. From arrival to departure, our two night stay could not have been better. Excellent service from all the staff, so helpful & friendly. Lovely light, comfy room over looking the gardens, very tranquil. And the 5* breakfast gave us fuel for the whole day! very scrummy. We shall definitely return, in warm weather so we can use the lovely looking pool.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (579)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

288 - 294 of 579 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

On a world championship trip with my son and friends we stayed in this beautiful hotel. Very nice with very attentive staff and good food. The building is historic and very nice renovated. We did enjoy a lot with all family and sailors!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VentiMutati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed in Suite 9 for 2 nights, late January. Most enjoyable. Staff very attentive and whilst there were few other guests we enjoyed good food in the restaurant in the evenings (good choice - a la carte as well as good value fixed price 3 course menu at Euro 15.) Breakfast also good with hot menu cooked as requested.
Suite clean, warm and roomy. Air Con/heating very efficient. Comfortable bed and good bathroom/separate shower. Large balcony. Few UK programmes on the TV. Kettle and just 4 tea bags! (no coffee) !
Good private parking and good position with just a couple of minutes walk to the centre of Tavira.
Would certainly return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROKNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed here low season. Wonderful historic building must be lovely to have breakfast in cloisters in season. Reception staff charming and helpful on arrival. Disappointed in room dark but some of this maybe due to poor light in low season and lack of working light bulbs not what one would expect in such surrounding Also disappointed that there were no tea and coffee making facilities in room unusual now a days !
. Ordered bar snack in bar not good put us all off eating evening meal in dining room both nights,better places to eat in town. Breakfast was fine. Staff a bit low on ground probably due to season but the staff that were there were very good. Worth staying a night due to lovely buildings and setting in historic centre of town.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

It is worth battling through the centralised booking service to get to this hotel. Better still, bypass it and book with the hotel direct. After completing the online booking procedure, I clicked to confirm but was told to phone Reservations instead and had to go through it all again.

I subsequently emailed to request a non-smoking room and received confirmation that a smoking room had been reserved! In fact, all rooms are non-smoking.

When Jet2.com cancelled my flights, I had to re-book for the following day with EasyJet. I emailed to amend the hotel reservation and received confirmation of cancellation instead! I wonder how much of this is due to language difficulties, unlike at the Hotel and Tavira generally where English is widely spoken.

The hotel offers a different experience from the typical modern purpose built hotel and is very atmospheric being a former convent. Having only about 30 rooms in a large building around a central courtyard, it always feels spacious and uncrowded and the service very personal. Having said that, it was low season when we went for the first week in December and both the hotel and the town were quiet.

The staff were pleasant, friendly, helpful and professional and the atmosphere was relaxed and informal. The restaurant was good and breakfast was cooked to order which I much prefer to the usual lukewarm buffet.

We had room 11 which is a superior room on the first floor overlooking the pool and well worth paying extra for as it had a large private balcony, part paved and part grassed, and was a sun trap in the late afternoon and sheltered from the cool breeze when the temperature was dropping. The room itself was spacious and comfortable with a high ceiling and furnished and fitted to a good standard.

I cannot fault the hotel other than to comment that the wi-if was patchy and often unavailable in the room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Having breakfast in the early morning sunshine or dinner under the stars in the cloisters of this former convent was cool! The rooms were classy with dark oak floorboards and were quiet and comfortable. The quadrangle surrouded by the cloisters created a wonderful airyness to the place and the pool and gardens were very peaceful. The staff were very friendly, helpful and all spoke good English. Tavira is a pleasant little town but will not sustain a long visit unless you wished to access the various National Parks for the bird-watching and nature.

Room Tip: All rooms seem fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

What a beautiful place, converted convent, cloisters, courtyard and peace and quiet. Lovely pool with areas to sit and read, attentive staff. Breakfast was great served inside, the plaza by the church is one of my favourite places just to sit under the trees and sip a cold beer before wandering down into town for lunch just wonderful.

Room Tip: I would imagine all rooms of a similar high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavira hotels
0.3 mi away
Maria Nova Lounge Hotel
1.9 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#4 of 15 in Tavira
393 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#8 of 15 in Tavira
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#3 of 15 in Tavira
899 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#7 of 15 in Tavira
661 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Rural Quinta do Marco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Convento Tavira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Convento Tavira

Address: Rua D. Paio Peres Correia, Tavira 8800-407, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tavira
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tavira
#2 Spa Hotel in Tavira
Price Range: £85 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pousada Convento Tavira 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada Convento de Tavira is located in the historic centre of Tavira. The Convento de Nossa Senhora da Graça da Ordem de Santo Agostinho from the 16th century was reconstructed, allowing the Pousada to be created. This hotel in Tavira is surrounded by a courtyard and sits just minutes on foot from the Roma Bridge over the Gilão River and only 15 minutes from the Ilha de Tavira beach. During your stay, you can visit the garden, dine at the Mouraria restaurant, take a dip in the outdoor swimming pool and relax in the lounge chairs. The Pousada's cloisters are perfect for relaxing or reading a book if you wish. All rooms have views of the terraces or the garden and pool and have Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Expedia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pousada Convento Tavira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Convento Da Graca Tavira
Pousada Convento Tavira Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing