We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pousada Convento Tavira
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Tavira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

What a stunning place this is-very quiet with lovely rooms and staff.Not a place you would bring children to between 7-18 as there is nothing for them to do-very much an adults hotel.The food is excellent and not silly prices. Only down side the minibar is very overpriced and they phone you everyday to see if you want to book a table for dinner-got very annoying.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank annpat65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

270 - 276 of 593 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had a very pleasant stay last week in Pousada de Tavira. This is an old monastery beautifully renovated to be an hotel with all the modern comforts.
Check-in - The staff is extremely helpful and goes the extra mile to help you. The welcome drink is very good every day..
Wi-fi - open and free everywhere within the property, including at the garden, swimming pool and rooms
Parking - there is a very convenient free parking available in the property
Location - very central, so you can leave the car and walk everywhere in Tavira. It is a 15 min walk to the pier where you take to boat to "Ilha de Tavira" beach
Swimming pool area - very nice with plenty of chairs and suntops. The hotel provides for the towels
Breakfast - is generous and varied, including different types of bread, cakes, cereals, fresh sliced fruit and drinks.
Room - with plenty of space with very comfortable beds and good size bathrooms
I would recommend my friends to stay there. An early and long stay reservation could save some money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank MilaPrimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely for a break, but not too long. Very, very quiet. Excellent service and full of character as a hotel and in beautiful and historic surroundings.

Attentive staff and a nice stay.


Could just do with a little more atmosphere as the courtyard and bar of an evening were far too quiet to be healthy.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Alf D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Fabulous location. Stunning building. Wonderful food. The perfect getaway... At least it was for us.

Being honest, there are flaws though to highlight them seems overly picky but let's get them out of the way:
- the parasols need replacing soon and another 2/3 extra parasols wouldn't go amiss
- the poolside bar should be manned all the time rather than have guests hang around to make an order for a drink

That said, the staff are very friendly. The location is fabulous. The pool was terrific. The food was great. And our room was to notch - we went for the superior room for a family and it was a great size if a little lacking in power sockets (though it is a historic building so I accepted this easily).

Would I go back? Absolutely. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and am already trying to sorry a return visit. For the money, it's very hard to beat.

(Bar staff were very friendly - good luck to them all)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Pousada is a wonderful hotel, but also a historic monument! You feel the hundreds of years of history and beauty, but you are also pampered in wonderful modern comfort.

Besides the hotel, the town is a charming place, not touched yet by the concrete monsters defacing the beauty of the Algarve.

Altogether a wonderful experience. The only observation we could make is that the service is somewhat spartan, not totally in tune with the ambiance of the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the new area, overlooking the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank maiestate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This was our first visit to the Tavira Pousada, it more than lived up to my expectations in terms of the service,the building and the food. The atmosphere was relaxing SOS much we plan to return before flying back to the UK.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Sandy01Harrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Lovely restored convent in the heart of wonderful Tavira yet very peaceful and quiet. Can't say our room was the biggest one we've stayed in plus the lighting and shelving for clothing was inadequate.Beds were comfortable though and sheets and towels changed every day.Balcony was minimal for a hotel of this calibre.Pool area is lovely though and the towels provided were a nice touch. Breakfast was a bit like the curates egg with excellent bread,pastries,cheese,juice etc but had to tell them on two separate mornings to make sure the hot food was served hot and not luke warm.This is a potential health hazard.Staff extremely helpful and willing to please.Try the Magic Wellness for a great stress relieving back/neck massage by Sandra.Didn't use the restaurant with so many excellent choices available in Tavira.With a bit of sharper management could be better.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank terrier57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavira
0.3 mi away
Maria Nova Lounge Hotel
1.9 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#5 of 15 in Tavira
400 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#3 of 15 in Tavira
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#7 of 15 in Tavira
1,120 reviews
13.5 mi away
Pousada Palacio Estoi
5.6 mi away
Herdade da Corte
Herdade da Corte
#8 of 15 in Tavira
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Convento Tavira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Convento Tavira

Address: Rua Dom Paio Peres Correia, Tavira 8800-407, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tavira
#2 Spa Hotel in Tavira
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tavira
Price Range: £81 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pousada Convento Tavira 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada Convento de Tavira is located in the historic centre of Tavira. The Convento de Nossa Senhora da Graça da Ordem de Santo Agostinho from the 16th century was reconstructed, allowing the Pousada to be created. This hotel in Tavira is surrounded by a courtyard and sits just minutes on foot from the Roma Bridge over the Gilão River and only 15 minutes from the Ilha de Tavira beach. During your stay, you can visit the garden, dine at the Mouraria restaurant, take a dip in the outdoor swimming pool and relax in the lounge chairs. The Pousada's cloisters are perfect for relaxing or reading a book if you wish. All rooms have views of the terraces or the garden and pool and have Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, TravelUp, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pousada Convento Tavira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Convento Da Graca Tavira
Pousada Convento Tavira Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing