We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
157
46
12
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
46
12
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews monkfish rice wild boar stew heated swimming pool off the beaten track hidden away well worth the visit breakfast and dinner this wonderful hotel rooms are clean fruit trees stayed for nights hotel grounds perfect stay five nights hire car relaxing break faro airport
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 223 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2017

As I've said in another review it does not pay some times to revisit as you can be disappointed well this time its not true ,the staff are as good as the last time we came .the rooms are spotless, the grounds and pool both are kept up to a very high standard ,and a new drive way installed making it easier to get from the road to the hotel.
Having seen the last 2 writes up the people who wrote these were at a not at this hotel or on a different planet what they said is not true by my experience and would highly recommend this hotel for someone who want a very quite hotel set in a beautiful setting and great service and food .

Room Tip: I like top floor
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank peter a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

I was part of a party of 3 adult guests who booked and paid to stay in this hotel 2 weeks ago

All 3 members of the party are experienced travelers and very fair

If only the same could be said of this hotel and its managements attitude

We booked 2 rooms for 3 nights…paid for in advance and after looking at the review on Trip advisor

We contacted the hotel 3 weeks before our arrival to confirm one critical thing….do they have a rooms suitable for a disabled guest….Oh yes came the reply.

Well the definition of a suitable room for the guest and the hotels are very different

Access to the room as via an uneven gravel path…the door entry was next to impossible for a wheel chair and while there was a hand rail at the toilet the shower was simply a hose from the wall

Not what you expect after

1. Contacting the hotel
2. Travelling in a western EU country that requires certain standards

We went straight to the reception to raise the issue and where told that was the disabled room

We told them it was in no way suitable for our disabled guest and the girl on reception informed us she would refund the monies

So we checkout and took them at their word…mistake!

We got an email a few days later to say that they would not be refunding the monies and they would offer us a 1 night stay instead. Why we would accept this offer if

1. The hotel was not suitable in the first place
2. We had been promised a refund

We were told at heck in that the hotel was being used as a venue for a wine tasting and the restaurant would be closed for an evening…we could join the party but the cost was crazy

In general I concur with the previous report on the following issues

1. The hotel is remote and isolated
2. The view is not as advertised
3. The rooms did have a smell
4. The furniture was dated
5. The bath gowns well worn

And the response from the hotel management to another guest is questionable.

This hotel may suit some…but in no way is this 4 star property that is advertised…this is an average guest house with an outdoor pool and facilities that you have to give notice to use so they have time to heat the facilities.
This property will suit some…but if you fancy it…do as advised and book 1 night and then decided for your self

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DavidSMBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helder M, Diretor-Geral at Hotel Rural Quinta do Marco, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Once again, we will reply to this review and will do so as many times as needed.

Should have mentioned, right in the beginning of your review that this was a “Non-Refundable” rate, therefore, the cheapest there is and cannot be canceled. As indicated by its name.

Why is it, that your reviews always forget to mention this detail about your reservation?
You keep saying that the bedrooms did not have the conditions for people with reduced mobility. We inform you once more that our Hotel was inspected in 2016, by Turismo de Portugal and all licenses are in order, which means all requirements for this type of accommodation are fulfilled.

By the way, it’s worth mention that at the time, the client was not in a wheelchair.
It’s simply not true that someone would’ve told you that you could have your money back. What we told you, without any doubt, and emailed to you several other times, was that we would accept to give you a voucher, with the value of two nights, to be used in the future, because even though you didn’t stay, the bedrooms could not be occupied for that day – Therefore, the payment for the first night would not be returned. So, even against Booking’s policy, we accepted that the client could use the rest of the amount of his stay at another time.

When it comes to the Restaurant, the clients were informed that, during the first night, they would have a wine dinner, where, for 25€p.p. they would be able to enjoy a full course meal, while enjoying different types of wine throughout. Was the cost that expensive?

This was not mandatory, those who didn’t want to take part, could still eat á la carte in our restaurant.

Regarding your last comments:

The hotel’s localization is on every single platform we work with; therefore, we have never misled anyone about our location.

All other comments can be clarified by our other guest reviews, before, or after this one.
When it comes to your suggestion for our guests to stay only one night and then decide, that’s what most of them do and then…they stay!

To conclude, in our opinion this criticism has to do with the fact that the clients made a reservation choosing the “non-refundable” rate and then, after deciding to go to another place, tried to get their money back, which goes against the exact policy they choose to make the reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017

The hotel is very new. There are around 24 rooms and each room has a name of a plant. Our room (n. 19) was very nice, well furnished, wide and with a nice view.
There is a warm swimming pool and lots of nice green area where you can read and relax.
The staff is lovely, professional and the cleaning room service is impeccable.
We had dinner at the hotel our last night and everything was delicious. Don't forget to taste: cataplana and the apple pie.
Great breakfast: the jam, cheese and "pastel de nata" are really YUMMY!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Syl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

We stayed at Quinta da Marco recently for our wedding anniversary. The stay was superb. The rooms are lovely, comfortable and very quiet. Breakfast was superb. The gardens are beautiful with the added bonus of a heated swimming pool, spa and children's pool.
A big advantage was being able to take our little dog Ollie.
We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chriswoodsPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

We came for dinner, which turned out delicious with a regional special meal. Staff very kind and efficient.
We were surprised and delighted by the surroundings and the hotel facilities. Nice swimming pool, and nature all around.
Next time will book our stay here.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Brigitte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews