We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveller rating
146
44
11
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
44
11
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswild boar stewmonkfish riceheated swimming pooloff the beaten trackhidden awaywell worth the visitbreakfast and dinnerthis wonderful hotelrooms are cleanfruit treesstayed for nightsperfect stayhire carrelaxing breakfaro airportcountrysidequinta
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 209 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2017

A very quiet and peaceful hotel set in the hills above Tavira, on the Algarve. Overall, it was a pleasure to visit and we stayed for 4 nights. The location is quiet and was easy to find, even in the middle of the night. Staff all very eager to please and happy to assist whenever required. Our shower was not properly fixed to the wall on arrival but this was quickly sorted the next day when help was requested. Fridge in the room but empty and the water was not replenished. However, the food was excellent although slow to arrive - we had to wait about an hour each time. The swimming pool and gardens were impressive and well tended. Apparently the hotel will be undergoing refurbishment in the winter with the restaurant changing places with the reception/bar area. This will improve the overall ambience of the hotel as it seemed to lack a central core.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for three nights and can only praise the staff and owner for being able to maintain an authentic atmosphere while providing guests with modern and high level confort standards.
We were thrilled to participate to local traditions with Algarve farmers and to the lunch offered by the owner for this occasion.
Children also had a wonderful time between the orchard, the hens, the donkey and the swiming pool!
Dinners and breakfast were also amazing: I wish I had the recepies of the delicious fruits marmelade served every morning.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Flyer729917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

My husband and I were looking for a weeks break away somewhere a bit special without breaking the bank and wow did we find it! From the moment we arrived at the hotel nothing was too much trouble. Beautiful bedroom and bathroom with balcony overlooking amazing scenery.
Fabulous breakfasts - so fresh and a great choice of produce. You could help yourself. Great value pool bar with a very laid-back feel. We ate in the hotel 5 nights enjoying gorgeous Portuguese dishes of which there was plenty to choose from. Very high standard of main course with excellent wine list which offered a wide range of Portuguese wines from different regions which we found to be very affordable - sadly much more expensive to buy here back in U.K. The pool was immaculate as were the extensive grounds. Every member of staff was extremely friendly and professional - congratulations to the owners who have a winning formula.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlMal_43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

There are no words to express the emotions, the truly kindness, the sound of silence, the joy, the amazing views, the staff, the food. Everything here is made with truly love, with passion.

Words are never enough when it's time to go home and you feel at home.

Thank you all for this amazing experience.

I'll see you soon.

With a lot of love, from three.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank LeeM4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

This 4* hotel is set in the countryside just outside of Santa Catarina. If you want a relaxing environment this is certainly the place to stay and don't expect bars, restaurants etc on your doorstep.

The staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms (less than 30 of them) are spotlessly clean, light and spacious. Each room has a balcony, view of the pool and looks out for miles over countryside.

Breakfast is a healthy affair of locally produced cheeses, eggs, tomatoes, yoghurt, berries, nuts, fresh bread, jams etc. I would say this is sourced from the hotel grounds. The hotel has free roaming chickens (they have their own space within the grounds) a large veg patch, fruit trees and bushes and several goats (ie for the cheeses).

We ate dinner at the hotel each evening and the evening meal was equally good quality as were the bar prices. A full menu can be found on the hotel website, it's worth a look because the site provides a fair representation of what this hotel is like.

The landscaped gardens contain many different species of flowers, trees and bushes which are labelled, some of which are quite unusual. Around each corner there is something new to see ie hammock chairs set away in one part of the garden. The swimming pool is lovely and the sun loungers quite comfortable (more comfortable than most I've experienced anyway)! There is also an outdoor gym, hidden away from main view, but looking out over the hills.

Anyway, when you feel like a pace of life, Tavira, Fuseta, Olhao, Ria Formosa, Sao Bras etc - loads of lovely places can all easily be accessed by car.

To sum up, we both loved it at the Hotel Rural and will return. It was excellent value for money, very restful and there are more good things I could add, just ask if you would like more info.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank anji_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews