We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Merely adequate.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tavira
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Quinta Fonte do Bispo
Ranked #26 of 30 Tavira B&B and Inns
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Merely adequate.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed for two nights. The rooms are large but dated. It was nice they had a mini fridge and seating area in the room. The bathroom felt dingy, and we had to ask for clean towels on day two. The air conditioner in our room was very noisy and, seriously, spit out ice cubes, so we turned it off. They had very few guests when we were there, the on-site bistro was closed and the breakfasts lacked care. This may be a case of "you get what you pay for" but I believe for the price, there is better accommodation to be had, closer to the lovely town of Tavira. This place was merely adequate, though the staff was cordial. It's about a 10 min commute into the town itself. Must have a car.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    10
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
14
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

We had a wonderful time staying at Quinta Fonte do Bispo. My children loved the pool, trampoline, tennis courts, and toys that were around. It was a great atmosphere and very relaxing. We ate dinner there each night and the food and wine was always very good. The grounds were beautiful and the rooms were very spacious with 2 separate rooms which makes it easy for families to stay together. The only problem that we had were the mosquitoes. There was no AC and opening the windows meant that the mosquitoes were all around. That was the only issue we had. The rest of the stay was wonderful. Thanks for hosting us.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mel1081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoorn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

Very nice spot to stay. We just had a couple of times food. All THE time it was wunderful. We enjoyed THE food and swimming. THE staff is very nice.
Nice athmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eugene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

After searching for an affordable place close to Tavira for a short stay that was child friendly, Quinta Fonte do Bispo certainly met these requirements. It's a charming 'tourismo rural' that has 6 'cottage rooms' that perfectly cater for a family of 4 and also provides services to the surrounding community (mainly the ex-pats). The day we arrived there was an Arts & Craft fair in the gardens. Our 2 boys (age 4 and 6) were in heaven with the range of facilities including a really good sized swimming pool, tyre swings, table tennis, table football, a pool table and trampoline in the gardens.
Breakfast was continental style - cereals, bread, jams, fresh fruit, ham & cheese.
My only disappointment was the bistro, which their website advertises is open every day including dinner, but both evenings of our stay we had to drive into Tavira for a meal when we would have preferred to have stayed on site. I don't know if this was because we were the only residents that weekend (although they do get business from non residents) - it all seemed a bit hit and miss with what was available. We also couldn't get hot water the 2nd day but I'm sure if we had of flagged this up it would have been sorted.
I would however stay here again - I know the boys would love to return !

Room Tip: All 6 rooms are the same size, location etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCMH33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estoi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

We were at Quinta Fonte Bispo for a conference.
What a great owners very helpful and friendly.
The surroundings are beautiful and very peaceful and the accommodation is perfect.
We will definitely go more often.
And the bad reviews, they are absolutely unfounded, considering our experience!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkEstoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2009

Both the owners and their charming staff were extremely friendly and helpful in every way during our stay. We had a very comfortable suite consisting of three bedrooms and a shared bathroom - perfect for a family with older kids. The Quinta is in peaceful country a short way from Tavira and from the hills behind the coast, and an easy drive from the Spanish border. Tavira is an unusually charming and unspoilt Algarve coastal town which we were very glad to get to know. Some of our group were vegetarians, and we were really grateful for the good vegetarian food provided at the Quinta. The pool - never crowded and in a very pleasant garden setting - was the biggest attraction for the kids, but they really loved the very friendly resident dogs as well. Our only disappointment was a trip to visit the portuguese water dogs in a beautiful coastal nature reserve,only to find that it shut. In short, we all had a very happy time at the Quinta.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank issylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2009

Although I did not stay onsite I found a great refuge at Quinta. The owners were especially friendly and the meal service was great. The grounds are lovely and special attention paid to keeping the areas clean and comfortable. I would highly recommend this place if you are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nearashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavira hotels
0.9 mi away
Herdade da Corte
Herdade da Corte
#6 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rural Quinta do Marco
5.0 mi away
Quinta do Caracol
Quinta do Caracol
#6 of 30 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Calcada Guesthouse
Calcada Guesthouse
#2 of 30 in Tavira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa Verdazul
Casa Verdazul
#28 of 30 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bed en Breakfast Cas al Cubo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Fonte do Bispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Fonte do Bispo

Property: Quinta Fonte do Bispo
Address: EN 270, CXP 797A | Fonte do Bispo, Tavira 8800-161, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta Fonte Bispo, a family run guest house set in the beautiful countryside but only 15mins from the centre of Tavira and the beach. We are also within easy reach of over 20 golf courses. With 5 hectares of gardens to enjoy, you will find a huge diversity of native trees, shrubs and flowers. Free use of our pool, mini gym, sauna, games room and tennis court. Our restaurant serves lunches and dinners upon request. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Quinta Fonte Do Bispo Hotel Tavira
Quinta Fonte Do Bispo Tavira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing