We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely apartment”
other travellers have booked this property
View from rooftop terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from rooftop terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
4 reviews
View from rooftop terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Tavira, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Maura B
1 review
“Lovely apartment”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in June 2017

It was a lovely apartment in a brilliant complex. This was our second year going to Costa Cabanas and we love it there. Maria and the staff in the pool bar are great. The apartment is in the perfect location. However I do have to say after meeting other holiday makers that the price for this apartment was very high. It was 3 times the price of the rooftop apartment we stayed in accross the road last year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed 27 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this last minute and got separate flights etc. We had apartment 52 which is a penthouse apartment which backs onto views of the pool.

The couple who manage the various let apartments and run the bar are an absolute delight - Maria and Armando. Nothing is too much trouble. The bar and pool is open until 1930hrs (7:30pm) and serves bar snacks (and ice cream for the kids) and cold drinks including bottled and draught Super Bock lager. Lovely. There's also free (high speed) wifi which I am using as I type this review.

The pool is clean and well maintained and even in peak season it's not too busy. No need to worry about a stampede for sun beds in the mornings. There's plenty of comfortable shaded seating around the bar and decent music playing at a non intrusive volume.

There's a lovely mix of cultures in the accommodation. French, Portugese, Irish and British whilst we were here. Classy and nothing crass. People are friendly and the kids got on very well.

The apartments are literally 300 yards from the sea front. They're very clean and have ample room for a family of 4 or 5... There's enough room to comfortably sleep 6 with the 2nd bedroom of Apt 52 having bunks and a single bed and the lounge having a sofa also suitable as a bed. Two bathrooms, one en suite take the pressure off shower time in the mornings and evenings. There are two balconies with seating (front and back) and a roof terrace. Air conditioning and a TV an DVD player... We brought a selection of DVDs which were great when the kids just wanted to chill out or if we wanted to watch some comedy before bed. There's no wifi in the apartment but we got by. It would be handy, though.

There's a BBQ on the front balcony and this was perfect. There are a number of good quality butchers close by as well as the fish and fruit market. We had balcony BBQs and played cards and board games whilst enjoying sea bass, ribs, chicken kebabs etc. We left the fuel we had remaining as the previous inhabitants had done for us. Great stuff.

Eating out was easy and restaurants are numerous and good value. With meals and drinks and desserts for the kids we rarely spent over 50 Euros... So fill your boots!

There's a great medieval festival nearby in Castro Marim (30 Euros by taxi each way) in late August...

Tavira is 10 minutes West by taxi and is a very nice place to visit with interesting little shops in lanes and alleys and restaurants aplenty.

The best taxi company to use by far is Pedros Taxis. Always on time. Recommended by Maria and very reliable. We suggest booking in advance to pick you up from the airport. A taxi from the cab rank ripped us off when we arrived. He would not negotiate a fixed price to Cabanas, his meter increased with a bingo bell and after a challenge he stopped the meter at €70! I gave him €80 and he short changed me €5...! The price through Pedros should not be more than €50...

In relation to the beach, it us necessary to get a water taxi the very short distance from the quay to the sandbar island... just €0.75 each way for adults... Kids are free. There can be queues in the mornings but nothing unmanageable. The cafe/bars on the island are obviously expensive and in August it's between €15 and €20 for two sun beds and an umbrella on the beach depending on location... Costly! A lot of people take their own sun parasols and cool bags. It's a lovely clean beach with professional, diligent and friendly life guards and the usual range of water sports activities. There were no vicious Atlantic rollers smashing in whilst we were there... The sand bar island seems to remove the worst of it.

If you want 'Linekers Bar' and all day English Beeakfasts, this place isn't for you. They can be found, but enjoy the friendly local stuff! Plenty of friendly Irish folk around! We'd certainly come back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2014
We're so happy you enjoyed your stay and thank you so much for your lovely comments! We'd be happy to welcome you back at any time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pavilion5...
1 review
“Lovely holiday apartment”
Reviewed 20 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Great accommodation, family friendly complex and beautiful beach - couldn't ask for more. Resort holiday makers were mainly Portuguese, however, most menus where also in English . We also visited the local town, Tavira.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2014
Thank you so much for those lovely comments. We'd be happy to see you return at any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLORENTIN...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2017
Merci beaucoup!

It was a pleasure to host you and your family and I will make sure to extend your thanks to Maria.

Hazel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing