We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location, friendly staff, basic room and breakfast included.”
Review of Residencial Mares

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residencial Mares
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Tavira
NZ
Level Contributor
59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice location, friendly staff, basic room and breakfast included.”
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Residencial Mares was a nice little place. The reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful and asking us if there was anything we needed help with. The hotel was located in a central part of Tavira, close to the shops and to the bus station. The room itself was quite basic and no real luxuries, the television was quite small. No internet provided in the accommodation. There was a place to do laundry just down the road so that was good. Breakfast was included in the price, so that was appreciated. Good value for money as it was reasonably cheap to stay there. Overall, if you are on a budget and looking for a cheap, basic place to stay in Portugal, then I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 29AJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    83
    43
    15
    4
See reviews for
30
111
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

I thought it was okay, but my family was skeved out. Terrace was great though. Town is overrated by travel guides. The seafood and rice at the hotel -different than paella - was terrific.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wargreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tavira hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Although staff were very friendly, they did not seem to have much knowledge about local information that related to anything outside the immediate zone of their hotel. We received a lot of 'I'm not sure where that is' and 'maybe, I woudn't know' type responses. Considering Tavira is a small town, we were surprised at the lack of knowledge. Also, the breakfast buffet was very poor quality. We did not bother going back for our second morning but went to a local cafe that was far superior. The bread and eggs were of low quality, the coffee lukewarm, very little fruit selection, the cold cuts and cheeses were clearly cheap and out of supermarket packets with no flavour. This was a shame because it seems so easy in a place like Tavira to do breakfast cheap and well.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ethansparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham NH
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

They must have given us the best rooms in the building, overlooking the river (whence we watched the fireworks from the June festival). Staff were always helpful. Location is excellent: across the street from the ferry to the beach island, five minutes from the main square and castle, and minutes from great restaurants.

Room Tip: definitely make reservations early!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidByKayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTHAMPTON
Level Contributor
151 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

The Residencial Mares has close proximity to the ferry landing from where you catch the hourly ferry for the 15minute trip down river to the beaches of the IslaTavira, which no visitor to Tavira should miss.The hotel faces the river, so you will either have a river view or a view of the lane behind the hotel,the latter being the noisier side, as these rooms are built over a restaurant kitchen, and there can be street noise and loud crash-bang kitchen noises at least til midnight!The roof terrace has sunbeds, sunshades and chairs, plus good views of the town, and of course the river traffic, and can be a quiet spot for enjoying the sun without leaving the hotel. The staff, especially Susanna, who speaks good English, are welcoming and will greet you each morning at breakfast, which is is basic but can be as filling as you choose to make it. The coffee is good, as is the seeded bread! My room was clean and simply furnished,and on the first floor there is a little lounge area with a few books and left-over magazines. Do not feel obliged to eat at the Mares restaurant, run by a different management, as Tavira has a wide choice of cafes and restaurants. The walk down to the hotel from ther train station takes 15-20 minutes, and there is a car park between the hotel and the river. There is no hotel bar, but there is a sauna. Altogether a pleasant, simple place, just right for a mix of gentle sightseeing and days on the beach.

Room Tip: Choose one on the second floor facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank obsSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We had a really nice stay here. £300 for a week and we had a room with a balcony right overlooking the river. The staff were very friendly and helpful and extended our stay for us (which might not be so easy in high season). Simple rooms, funky bathroom, small ish but adequate room and the air con worked well which meant we could keep under the covers. There were a lot of mossies in Tavira because of the recent rain. We had lovely sunny weather, so we were lucky.
I would reccomend the hotel as good value and down to earth and in an excellant place on the river.
The next door restaurant is not run by them and is not good value or that good. However, our breakfasts provided from there featured delicious croissants which we loved. Orange juice not very good.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickNackSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2010

This is a traditional Portuguese hotel, situated right in the heart of the town next to the river. Free WiFi, but don't look for any chain hotel frills. The restaurant on the ground floor is apparently separately managed - we didn't eat there as they don't display their prices without being asked for a menu.

The hotel room was small, air conditioned and adequate - we weren't there to spend much time in the room anyway!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavira hotels
0.4 mi away
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#6 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#2 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#3 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#11 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
5.9 mi away
Herdade da Corte
Herdade da Corte
#5 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Mares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Mares

Property: Residencial Mares
Address: Rua Jose Pires Padinha 134-140, Tavira 8800-354, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Beach Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tavira
#5 Spa Hotel in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Residencial Mares 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Residencial Mares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Mares Tavira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing