We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff and great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residencial Mares

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residencial Mares
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Tavira
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our holiday in Portugal. We were very happy with the service we received and the area that the hotel was in, being close enough to the town centre but just outside so to escape the hustle and bustle. The rooms are fairly basic but had wifi and air conditioning (both admittedly not great) at no extra cost. Breakfast was adequate but at a reasonable price. There is a decent selection of restaurants in the town, just a 2 minute walk away. The staff were also very helpful when organising airport transfer to Faro. A great location and highly recommended for a short break.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    78
    43
    15
    4
See reviews for
29
108
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We were pleased with our recent five night stay at the Residencial Mares. Clean and comfortable room and a great location.The breakfast buffet is varied and plentiful and you can enjoy it outside at a shaded table. This hotel is walking distance from the rail station and steps away from the beach ferry. Tavira is a charming town and we were really happy with our visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CTtravelersCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foster City, California
Level Contributor
269 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We enjoyed the river view from our terrace. The hotel itself is somewhat charming. Breakfast was good and eating outdoors or in with a river view is nice. Rooms were dated and a bit shabby, though, and could have used a freshening up. Restaurant was reasonably good. Staff were helpful and friendly and spoke English. Not a far walk from the bus station, if you're taking public transit. Very close to the water taxi that takes you to the beaches. Restaurants all around you of varying quality. A good base for walking around this small city.

Room Tip: There is no lift and lots of steep stairs. Be aware of this if you travel with heavy bags!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

We booked this hotel for our first 2 nights in the Algarve. Parking the car in front of the hotel will cost you €4,- per day(free parking 350 meters away but we liked the idea that we could keep a look out for it). Friendly reception. great shower, ok beds, reasonably clean. small fridge in the room, very handy to keep your beers cold for your visit to the beach. the boat to the beach island departs right in front of the hotel, in 15 minutes your there. if you like a little more peace, walk a little further down the beach and you've got all the space you need. :-)
The restaurant downstairs (same name as the hotel...) is a classic tourist trap, with super annoying "sales-men" walking the streets trying to lure you in. heavily over priced, crap service, less than average food. there is a gem of a restaurant on the other side of the river... see my review.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 210, a few rooms on the second floor have a balcony overlooking the harbor. quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BasRuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

A well located traditional guest house, on the river side in this lovely Algarve town. Quite a charming building (although the charm extends to a lack of a lift/elevator!), with communal spaces inside and up on the rooftop - we had a balcony too. The location is great, with a lot of parking over the road. The restaurant underneath appeared a tourist trap, although they provided hotel's the inclusive breakfast in the morning. I don't think I'd choose it in the evening unless desperate however!

The lady on the front desk was very helpful and friendly, and was happy to knock a small amount off her room rate with a bit of polite bargaining.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TK1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed here one night as part of a cycling trip through the Algarve. Arrived in Tavira exhausted from a long day and were welcomed by desk manager. She had limited English, but was helpful with stowing our bikes, and providing water ( at a charge). The hotel has NO elevator; normally this would not be an issue, but we had lots of gear and bags and had ridden 50 miles that day! Our rooms were on the third floor reached by a winding staircase. Two sturdy men nearly collapsed after that climb...so be forewarned oh ye of the heavy suitcase! There is no in-room WiFi, although we were told there was. We had to use the WiFi next door in the super friendly sports bar...slightly inconvenient since we needed WiFi for trip related items as well as business. The signal was there, but very weak and intermittent.
The room was fine with a nice balcony overlooking the river. Locally made tiles were used on the floor and in the bathroom-- nice touch. Clean and comfortable, but our air conditioning did not seem to work. Breakfast was adequate with cold ham and cheeses and breads, hard-boiled eggs and some fruit. We did not eat in the restaurant for dinner. ( It was strangely empty and we wondered why: possibly because the prices were quite high by comparison with other local eateries). We did not have cars, so cannot address parking, but we arrived over the main bridge by bike and rode right up to the hotel, so I think access by car must be easy. Overall, a positive experience, but not in any way luxurious. There is a roof top terrace for sunning. Good value for price.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sallyforth60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Stayed here 2 nights early May. Tavira is nice town. Some great little restaurants and interesting houses and sights. This hotel exceeded our expectations. Good price. Very nice room with ensuite bathroom. Beautiful tilework throughout hotel. Nice roof top patio. I didn't work at going to the beach--got my Portuguese suntan up there. Excellent breakfast. Romantic hotel and town.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColumbusTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavira hotels
0.4 mi away
Pousada de Tavira Historic Hotel
0.1 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#6 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#11 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#3 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#2 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#4 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Mares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Mares

Property: Residencial Mares
Address: Rua Jose Pires Padinha 134-140, Tavira 8800-354, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira
Amenities:
Beach Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tavira
#4 Spa Hotel in Tavira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Residencial Mares 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Residencial Mares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Mares Tavira, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing